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Public Safety - Handgun Permits - Repeal of Finding Requirements 
 

 

This bill repeals one current law finding that must be made by the Secretary of State 

Police for the issuance of a State handgun permit, i.e., that the applicant has a good and 

substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun, such as a finding that the permit 

is necessary as a reasonable precaution against apprehended danger.   

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund revenues increase by $95,600 in FY 2012 and general fund 

expenditures increase by $359,300.  Future years reflect annualization, inflation, renewal 

automobile purchases, and the licensure issuance and renewal cycle.   

  
(in dollars) FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 

GF Revenue $95,600 $127,500 $191,300 $212,500 $212,500 

GF Expenditure $359,300 $315,500 $330,000 $450,600 $361,300 

Net Effect ($263,700) ($188,000) ($138,800) ($238,100) ($148,800)   
Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 

  

Local Effect:  None.   

 

Small Business Effect:  Meaningful.  It is assumed that the bill would lead to increased 

handgun sales in the State. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  To be issued a permit to carry a handgun by the Secretary of State Police, 

an applicant:  (1) must be 18 or older; (2) must not have been convicted of a felony or 

misdemeanor for which a sentence of imprisonment for more than one year has been 

imposed or, if convicted, must have been pardoned or been granted relief under federal 

law; (3) if the person is younger than 30, must not have been committed to a facility for 
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juveniles for longer than one year or adjudicated delinquent for a crime of violence, a 

felony, or misdemeanor that carries a statutory penalty of more than two years; (4) must 

not have been convicted of a controlled dangerous substance violation and must not 

presently be an addict, a habitual user of a controlled dangerous substance, or an 

alcoholic; (5) must not exhibit a propensity for violence or instability which may 

reasonably render possession of a handgun a danger to the applicant or another; and 

(6) must have a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun.  

“Good and substantial reason” includes a finding that the permit is necessary as a 

reasonable precaution against apprehended danger. 

 

A handgun permit application costs $75; two years after the initial permit, a $50 renewal 

fee is due and every three years thereafter.  In addition, the applicant must pay for 

fingerprint-based federal and State criminal history background checks, at a cost of 

$42 for the initial application (plus $10 for the fingerprint cards) and $24 for renewals 

(covering a federal recheck only).   

 

Background:  There are about 14,000 active handgun permits in Maryland.  The 

Maryland State Police (MSP) denied 162 applications in fiscal 2010 on the basis of a 

finding that the person did not have a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or 

transport a handgun.  Maryland’s Criminal Justice Information System Central 

Repository must collect the fee from the applicant, or other payer, and reimburse the 

Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) through that agency’s monthly billing. 

 

In fiscal 2010, MSP received about 1,715 initial applications and 1,977 renewal 

applications per year.  Renewal applications from retired law enforcement personnel are 

included in those totals.  It currently takes an average of 30 to 45 days to receive the 

results of a national criminal history records check from the FBI.  

 

State Revenues:  Legislative Services assumes that this bill will double initial 

applications annually.  Accordingly, assuming an increase of about 1,700 permit 

applications per year beginning in fiscal 2012, general fund revenues attributable to MSP 

for handgun permits will increase by $95,625 in fiscal 2012, accounting for the bill’s 

October 1, 2011 effective date (1,275 permits).  In fiscal 2013, the increase will be 

$127,500 due to annualization.  In fiscal 2014, the additional revenue will be 

$191,250, reflecting 1,700 initial applications and 1,275 renewal applications.  After 

fiscal 2014, the additional annual permit application revenue (including renewals) will be 

$212,500.   

 

It is noted that, for several years, the State Police have estimated that the bill would 

increase applications by 10,000 in year one, by 6,600 in year two, by 3,300 in year three, 

and level out at 1,650 annually thereafter.  However, these assumptions continue to be 

inconsistent with the information and estimate provided in prior sessions.  MSP has not 
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provided a credible explanation for the inconsistency and Legislative Services advises 

that, since 2008, MSP has overestimated the potential increase in applications resulting 

from the bill.  

 

State Expenditures:  General fund expenditures may increase by an estimated $359,300 

in fiscal 2012, which accounts for the bill’s October 1, 2011 effective date.  This estimate 

reflects the cost to hire two full-time troopers and one administrative officer/investigator 

to process and issue the additional handgun permit applications, review and issue renewal 

permits, and prepare information relating to hearings.  It includes salaries, fringe benefits, 

one-time start-up costs, and ongoing operating expenses. 

 

Salaries and Fringe Benefits $210,555 

Motor Vehicle Purchases 99,244 

ID Printer 27,422 

Other Operating Expenses    22,128 

Total FY 2012 State Police Expenditures $359,349 

 

Future year expenditures reflect full salaries with 4.4% annual increases and 3% 

employee turnover; (2) 1% annual increases in ongoing operating expenses; and 

(3) automobile replacement costs in fiscal 2015. 

 

Although MSP believes that the bill will necessitate the hiring of three additional 

troopers, one corporal/supervisor, four civilian background investigators, and two civilian 

administrative aides (at a total cost, including equipment, of about $1.0 million in 

fiscal 2012), Legislative Services advises that a nearly 600% increase in initial 

applications resulting from the bill is highly unlikely.  All other requirements for handgun 

permits must still be met.  Even assuming the MSP estimate of 10,000 new initial 

applications in year one, MSP’s estimate of precipitous declines in applications thereafter 

(including an assumption of falling demand for renewal permits in succeeding years – 

due to the wearing off of the “novelty”) suggests a lack of continuing need for that level 

of additional personnel.   

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  HB 683 of 2010 received a hearing in the House Judiciary 

Committee, but no further action was taken. 

 

Cross File:  None. 
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Information Source(s):  Department of State Police, Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:   First Reader - March 6, 2011 

mc/hlb    

 

Analysis by:  Guy G. Cherry  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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