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Baltimore City - Wine Consumption - Restaurants and Class C License Facilities

This bill allows an individual in a restaurant in Baltimore City with a Class B alcoholic
beverages license or in a club with a Class C alcoholic beverages license to consume
wine not purchased from or provided by the restaurant or facility if the wine is consumed
with a meal and the individual receives the approval of the license holder. The license
holder is allowed to charge a fee for the privilege up to $25, on which a sales tax must be
imposed. The individual must dispose of or remove any wine that remains after finishing
the meal. Any unconsumed wine may be removed from the premises by the individual if
the bottle is corked or capped. The removed bottle is an “open container” for purposes of
violations of open container provisions of the Criminal Law Article.

The bill takes effect July 1, 2011.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Minimal. The bill does not materially affect State tax revenues relating to
the sale of alcoholic beverages.

Local Effect: The Baltimore City Board of License Commissioners can handle
enforcement activities with existing budgeted resources. Revenues are not affected.

Small Business Effect: Potential meaningful.



Analysis

Current Law: Generally, with limited exceptions, it is unlawful to consume alcoholic
beverages that were not purchased from the license holder on that licensee’s premises.
Additionally, it is unlawful for a licensee to permit any person to do so.

A person may remove a partially consumed bottle of wine that the person purchased for
consumption with a meal from a licensed premises, provided that the licensee or its
employee inserts a cork in or places a cap on the bottle. A partially consumed bottle of
wine removed from the licensed premises is considered to be an open container for
purposes of a specified provision of law concerning possession of alcohol in a motor
vehicle.

Under the statewide “open container” prohibition, an occupant of a motor vehicle may
not possess an open container that contains any amount of an alcoholic beverage in a
passenger area of a motor vehicle on a highway. A driver of a motor vehicle may not be
subject to prosecution for a violation of this prohibition based solely on possession of an
open container that contains any amount of an alcoholic beverage by another occupant of
the motor vehicle. An occupant of a motor vehicle may not consume an alcoholic
beverage in a passenger area of a motor vehicle on a highway. A violation is not
considered a moving violation under the Transportation Article or a traffic violation for
the purposes of the Maryland Vehicle Law. A violation is a citable civil offense subject
to a maximum fine of $25, and a fee of $5 for court costs.

“Open container” means a bottle, can, or other receptacle: (1) that is open; (2) that has a
broken seal; or (3) from which the contents are partially removed.

Background: The practice commonly referred to as “corkage” allows customers to bring
their own bottles of wine to drink with a meal at a restaurant. Although local laws may
be more restrictive, a survey by Marylanders for Better Beer and Wine laws indicates
26 states and the District of Columbia allow individuals to bring and consume their own
wine at a restaurant with an alcoholic beverages license in at least some of their local
jurisdictions. Restaurants that allow corkage are typically allowed to charge a corkage
fee for each bottle a patron brings. The corkage fee covers service, the cost of glass
(breakage and/or cleaning) and the lost revenue from not selling the customer a bottle of
wine. Additionally, corkage allows the customer to bring a bottle of wine that may not be
available on the restaurant’s wine list. The District of Columbia privilege limits the
corkage fee at $25.

There were 16 Class B beer and wine licenses; 296 Class B beer, wine, and liquor

licenses, 21 Class C beer and wine licenses, and 67 Class C beer, wine, and liquor
licenses issued in Baltimore City for fiscal 2010.
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State Fiscal Effect: Generally, a bottle of wine purchased from a retail licensee is less
expensive than when purchased at a restaurant. As a result, general fund revenues from
the sales tax on alcoholic beverages may decrease slightly from individuals that purchase
wine at retail instead of restaurants. If restaurants choose to impose a corkage fee, the fee
Is subject to sales tax and is expected to at least partially offset any reduction in sales tax
from the sale of wine. Revenues from alcoholic beverages taxes are not affected, since
wine purchased from a licensee or brought into the premises by a patron is tax-paid.
Under the bill, State revenues are not expected to be materially affected.

The Comptroller will collect the sales and use tax on the corkage fee collected by each
restaurant. The bill’s administrative requirements for the Comptroller can be met with
existing budgeted resources.

Small Business Effect: Revenues from wine sales may decrease for some restaurants as
patrons take advantage of the opportunity to bring in wine not purchased at the restaurant
to consume with their meal; however, some establishments may experience increased
business if allowing corkage attracts new patrons. Revenues for restaurants may also
increase to the degree that the authorized fee is charged, though some establishments may
choose to charge less than the maximum $25 to encourage repeat business or in response
to corkage policies of competing restaurants.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: HB 114 (Delegate Tarrant, et al.) - Economic Matters.

Information Source(s):  Baltimore City, Comptroller’s Office, Department of
Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 25, 2011
ncs/hlb

Analysis by: Guy G. Cherry Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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