Department of Legislative Services

Maryland General Assembly 2011 Session

FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE

House Bill 477 (Carroll County Delegation)

Environmental Matters Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs

Carroll County - Commissioners - Term Limits and Vacancies on the Board of County Commissioners

This bill establishes that the term of office for county commissioners in Carroll County is four years and that commissioners may not serve more than two consecutive terms. The bill also specifies that a person appointed to fill a vacancy must reside in that commissioner district and serve only the remainder of the term.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: None.

Local Effect: None. The bill will not materially alter Carroll County operations or

finances.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: The Carroll County Board of County Commissioners is comprised of five commissioners that are elected by commissioner district. Each county commissioner is entitled to an annual salary of \$45,000 and an allowance for expenses incurred in the performance of the duties of that office, as provided in the county budget.

To be eligible to serve as a county commissioner, an individual must be at least 21 years of age, a State resident, and have been a resident in Carroll County for at least one year preceding the date of the election.

The five commissioner districts consist of the following election districts and precincts as they existed on December 1, 2005:

- Commissioner District 1 Carroll County Election Districts 1, 2, 3, 6, and 10;
- Commissioner District 2 Carroll County Election Districts 4 and 8;
- Commissioner District 3 Carroll County Election District 7, Precincts 1 through 7, 9, and 10;
- Commissioner District 4 Carroll County Election District 7, Precinct 8, Carroll County Election Districts 9, 11, 12, and 13, and Carroll County Election District 14, Precincts 2 and 3; and
- Commissioner District 5 Carroll County Election District 5 and Carroll County Election District 14, Precinct 1.

Background: There are three forms of county government in Maryland: commission, charter home rule, and code home rule. **Exhibit 1** shows the form of government for each Maryland county and the year in which local home rule was granted.

Exhibit 1 Forms of County Governments in Maryland

Charter Home Rule		Code Home Rule		Commission
Anne Arundel	1964	Allegany	1974	Calvert
Baltimore	1956	Caroline	1984	Carroll
Dorchester	2002	Charles	2002	Cecil ¹
Harford	1972	Kent	1970	Frederick
Howard	1968	Queen Anne's	1990	Garrett
Montgomery	1948	Worcester	1976	St. Mary's
Prince George's	1970			Somerset
Talbot	1973			Washington
Wicomico	1964			_

¹Cecil County will become a charter home rule county on December 3, 2012.

Source: Department of Legislative Services

In all counties except Cecil County (since 2000), county commissioners are elected for four-year terms, coincident with the election of the Governor and members of the General Assembly. In Cecil County, the commissioners are elected to four-year terms; however, two commissioners are elected in presidential election years and three commissioners are elected in gubernatorial election years.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: None.

Cross File: While not identified as a cross file, SB 472 is identical.

Information Source(s): Carroll County, Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History: First Reader - February 18, 2011

ncs/hlb

Analysis by: Michael Sanelli Direct Inquiries to:

(410) 946-5510 (301) 970-5510