HB 298

Department of Legislative Services
Maryland General Assembly
2011 Session

FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE

House Bill 298 (Delegates Pena-Melnyk and Braveboy)
Economic Matters Finance

Labor and Employment - Wage Payment and Collection - Void Agreements

This bill amends the Maryland Wage Payment and Collection Law by specifying that an
agreement between an employer and an employee to work for a pay rate that is less than
the wage required by law is void and therefore nonbinding.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Fiscal Summary

State Effect: None. The bill clarifies current law.
Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: In the State’s Wage Payment and Collection Law, “wage” 1s defined to
mean all compensation that is due to an employee for employment. The definition
specifies that a wage includes overtime pay, bonuses, commissions, fringe benefits, or
any other remuneration promised for service.

The Wage Payment and Collection Law regulates the payment of wages by employers in
the State. The law requires employers to pay workers the wage promised; establish
regular paydays; pay wages when due; pay employees in a specified manner; pay
employees at least once every two weeks, with exceptions; furnish employees with a
statement of gross earnings; advise employees of their rate of pay and designated payday;
and pay employees all wages due on termination of employment.



It is well established that the Wage Payment and Collection Law “does not concern the
amount of wages payable but rather the duty to pay whatever wages are due on a regular
basis and to pay all that is due following termination of the employment.” (Friolo v.
Frankel, 373 Md. 501, 513 2003.)

The Maryland Wage and Hour Law is the State complement to the federal Fair Labor
Standards Act of 1938. Under the Maryland Wage and Hour Law, employers are
generally required to pay each employee at least $7.25 per hour (the current federal
minimum wage). Employers are required, with some exceptions, to pay an overtime
wage of at least 1.5 times the usual hourly wage.

The Wage and Hour Law includes a provision identical to the bill that voids a work
agreement for a wage less than what is required. Employers that pay or agree to pay an
employee less than the wage required by the Wage and Hour Law are guilty of a
misdemeanor and may be fined up to $1,000. In addition, an employee may bring an
action against an employer to recover the difference between the wage paid and the wage
required under law.

Unless otherwise specified, the definition of employer in the State’s Wage Payment and
Collection and Wage and Hour laws does not include units of government.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation; Department
of Legislative Services
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