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FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE

House Bill 1208 (Delegate Wilson, et al.)
Appropriations Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs

Higher Education - Exemption from Tuition for Foster Care Recipients -
Eligibility Age

This bill expands eligibility for tuition and mandatory fee waivers for public institutions
of higher education in Maryland so that a foster care recipient must enroll at the
Institution before the recipient turns 25 years old, rather than 21, to receive a waiver.

The bill takes effect July 1, 2011.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Higher education tuition revenues at public four-year institutions of
higher education decrease by approximately $7,800 per full-time equivalent student
(FTES) qualifying for the tuition waiver beginning in FY 2012. Tuition revenues at
Baltimore City Community College (BCCC) decrease by approximately $3,000 per
FTES qualifying for the tuition waiver beginning in FY 2012.

Local Effect: Tuition revenues at community colleges decrease approximately
$3,500 per FTES qualifying for the tuition waiver beginning in FY 2012. Expenditures
are not affected.

Small Business Effect: None.

. _______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|]
Analysis

Current Law: Foster care recipients are eligible for a tuition and mandatory fee
exemption to attend a public institution of higher education in Maryland if they resided in



an out-of-home placement when they graduated from high school or successfully
completed a general equivalency development (GED) examination.

Foster care recipients adopted from an out-of-home placement after their thirteenth
birthday are also eligible for the exemption. Younger siblings are also eligible for the
exemption if the sibling is also adopted by the same family out of an out-of-home
placement. A foster care recipient must be enrolled as a candidate for an associate’s or
bachelor’s degree before reaching age 21 and must file annually for federal and State
financial aid by March 1. If a foster care recipient receives a scholarship or grant, the
recipient may not be required to pay the difference between the scholarship or grant and
tuition. The exemption continues until five years after initial enrollment or until the
recipient receives a bachelor’s degree.

Background: Chapter 506 of 2000 established the tuition waiver program for children in
foster care homes, and Chapter 644 of 2007 extended the program to foster care children
who were adopted from an out-of-home placement.

The Maryland Higher Education Commission (MHEC) reports that 81 foster care
children received tuition waivers in fiscal 2009 and 94 received tuition waivers in
fiscal 2010. The waivers reduced tuition revenues at community colleges and
public four-year institutions by approximately $271,000 in fiscal 2009 and $223,000 in
fiscal 2010.

State Revenues: Higher education tuition revenues decrease beginning in fiscal 2012
due to the expansion of the foster care tuition waiver program. The exact impact cannot
be reliably quantified because it is unknown how many additional former foster care
recipients will choose to use the waiver due to expanding the eligible age.

Using the proposed fall 2011 rates, the average annual tuition and fees for full-time
resident undergraduates at public four-year institutions for fiscal 2012 is $7,758. The
actual amount of the revenue decrease per FTES may be less depending on the number of
credits attempted per recipient and the distribution of institutions waiver recipients
choose to attend. MHEC reports 70 foster care recipients received a tuition waiver to
attend public four-year colleges in fiscal 2010 at an average cost of $2,746 per recipient
and a total cost of $192,250.

Tuition revenues also decrease at BCCC, the only State-operated community college, by

up to $3,030 per FTES receiving a waiver. These students received a waiver in
fiscal 2010 at an average cost of $1,352 per recipient.
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Future year revenue losses are dependent on the number of additional recipients who are
eligible for a waiver and choose to use it, the number of credits attempted per student,
and the distribution of institutions that waiver recipients choose to attend.

Local Revenues: Tuition revenues at locally operated community colleges decrease
beginning in fiscal 2012. The exact impact cannot be reliably quantified because it is
unknown how many additional former foster care recipients will choose to use the waiver
due to expanding the eligible age.

The average annual tuition and fees for full-time in-county students at the community
colleges for fiscal 2011 is $3,473. The actual amount of the revenue decrease per FTES
may be less depending on the number of credits attempted per student and the distribution
of institutions waiver recipients choose to attend. MHEC reports 22 foster care recipients
received a tuition waiver to attend community colleges in fiscal 2010 at an average cost
of $1,281 per recipient and a total cost of approximately $28,200.

Future year revenue losses are dependent on the number of additional recipients who are
eligible for a waiver and choose to use it, the number of credits attempted per student,
and the distribution of institutions that waiver recipients choose to attend.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Maryland Higher Education Commission, Department of
Human Resources, Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 14, 2011
ncs/rhh

Analysis by: Caroline L. Boice Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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