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FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE

Senate Bill 1020 (Senator Manno)
Judicial Proceedings

Vehicle Laws - Death of VVehicle Owner - Certificate of Title Fee

This bill prohibits the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVVA) from charging a fee for the
issuance of a certificate of title for a vehicle that is being transferred after the death of the
prior owner. The prohibition only applies if the vehicle is being transferred to a member
of the immediate family of the deceased prior owner, to an heir who inherited the vehicle
in accordance with a will, or to an owner of the vehicle if the vehicle had previously been
jointly owned.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) revenues decrease significantly due to the
collection of fewer certificate of title fees. Expenditures are not affected as MVA can

likely handle the anticipated computer reprogramming work with existing budgeted
resources.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law/Background: The owner of a vehicle in Maryland must have a certificate
of title, unless the vehicle or owner is specifically exempt. The Budget Reconciliation

and Financing Act of 2011 (Chapter 397) increased the fee for issuance of a certificate of
title from $50 to $100.



The transfer of a title is exempt from the vehicle titling tax, but not the title fee, if it is
transferred to a spouse, son, daughter, grandchild, parent, sister, brother, grandparent,
father-in-law, mother-in-law, son-in-law, or daughter-in-law and no money or other
valuable consideration is involved in the transfer; also exempt from the vehicle titling tax
Is a transfer to a legal heir, legatee, or distributee. MVA regulations require a joint owner
applying for title by right of survivorship to provide MVA with a death certificate, a
completed application for certificate of title, and the title bearing the names of the
decedent and the applicant or applicants.

State Revenues: Legislative Services advises that a reliable estimate of the decrease in
TTF revenue under the bill cannot be made at this time due to limited information as to
the number of times a vehicle is transferred under the circumstances specified in the bill.
MVA advises that it does not currently track the number of times a vehicle is transferred
under each such circumstance; however, data provided from the Maryland Vital Statistics
Administration to MVA indicate that there are currently 6,231 vehicles titled with a
deceased co-owner. Although not all of these 6,231 vehicles will be retitled in
fiscal 2013, it is likely that a much larger number of vehicles will be transferred to an
immediate family member or inherited following the death of the prior owner in
fiscal 2013. Therefore, if the $100 title fee is not charged following the transfer or
retitling of each of these vehicles, the total annual TTF loss will be significant, and
potentially in excess of $1 million beginning in fiscal 2013.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Maryland Department of Transportation, Department of
Legislative Services
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