Department of Legislative Services

Maryland General Assembly 2012 Session

FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE Revised

Senate Bill 665 (Carroll County Senators) Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs

Ways and Means

Carroll County - Carroll Community College Board of Trustees - Membership

This bill alters the membership of the Board of Community College Trustees for Carroll County.

The bill takes effect June 1, 2012.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: None. The bill is directed at Carroll Community College.

Local Effect: Increasing the membership of the Board of Community College Trustees for Carroll County does not materially affect expenditures of Carroll Community College.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Bill Summary: The Board of Community College Trustees for Carroll County consists of nine members appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate. Each year, the members must elect a chair from among the members of the board.

The two additional members authorized under the bill must be appointed by the Governor, at large, for a term of office that begins on July 1, 2012.

Current Law: The Board of Community College Trustees for Carroll County consists of seven members appointed by the Governor, on recommendation of the Maryland

Higher Education Commission. Members of the board are appointed for six years, on a staggered basis and may be reappointed. A member appointed to fill a vacancy in an unexpired term serves only for the remainder of that term and until a successor is appointed and qualifies.

Background: Carroll Community College is located in Westminster, Maryland. The selection method and number of trustees for each of the 15 community colleges are shown in **Exhibit 1**. Unless otherwise specified, members are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: None.

Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Carroll County, Maryland Higher Education Commission, Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:	First Reader - February 28, 2012		
mm/rhh	Revised - Senate Third Reader - March 27, 2012		

Analysis by: Caroline L. Boice

Direct Inquiries to: (410) 946-5510 (301) 970-5510

<u>College</u>	Number of <u>Members</u>	Years in <u>Terms</u>	Number <u>of Terms</u>	Special Provision <u>Related to Selection¹</u>
Allegany	7	6	Unlimited	None
				Includes 1 student
Anne Arundel	8	6	Unlimited	(one-year term)
			No more	A majority must be from
			than 2	Baltimore City), includes
Baltimore City	9	6	consecutive	1 student (one-year term)
			No more	1 from county at large;
			than 2	14 from council districts
Baltimore County	15	5	consecutive	(2 from each of the districts)
Carroll	7	6	Unlimited	None
Cecil	7	6	Unlimited	None
			No more	2 each from Caroline,
			than 3 full	Dorchester, Kent, Queen
Chesapeake ²	10	5	terms	Anne's, and Talbot counties
College of Southern MD	9	5	No more than 2 consecutive	3 each from Calvert, Charles, and St. Mary's counties
Garrett	7	6	Unlimited	None
Hagerstown	7	6	Unlimited	Must be Washington County residents
			No more than 2	3 from county at large; 6 from council districts
Harford	9	5	consecutive	(1 from each of the 6 districts)
manora)	5	consecutive	At least 6 must be
Howard	7	6	Unlimited	Howard County residents
Howard	/	0	Ommitted	Includes 1 student
Montgomery ³	10	6	Unlimited	(one-year term)
			No more than 2	Must be Prince George's County residents, includes
Prince George's	8	5	consecutive	1 student (one-year term)
Wor-Wic	7	6	Unlimited	None

Exhibit 1 Community College Board of Trustees under Current Law

¹ Unless otherwise noted trustees are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate.
² Trustees of Chesapeake College are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the House of Delegates.
³ Trustees of Montgomery College must also be selected from a list submitted by a nominating committee.

Source: Annotated Code of Maryland, community college websites

SB 665/ Page 3