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Environmental Matters   

 

Motor Vehicle Administration - Vehicle Dealers 

 
 

   

This departmental bill requires a licensed vehicle dealer to pay an annual fee for each 

business location.  The bill also alters the definition of a vehicle “dealer” to make it 

consistent throughout the Maryland Vehicle Law and repeals a requirement that dealers 

apply for temporary registration plates in a minimum quantity of five plates at a time. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Transportation Trust Fund revenues may increase by about $16,100 in 

FY 2013, which accounts for the bill’s effective date, and by about $21,500 annually 

thereafter.  This estimate assumes that the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) charges 

each dealer an additional $500 biennial license fee for the 86 dealer locations not 

currently charged a fee and that the current dealer license renewal cycle is evenly 

distributed between FY 2013 and 2014.  Expenditures are not affected. 

  

Local Effect:  None. 

  

Small Business Effect:  The Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) has 

determined that this bill has minimal or no impact on small business (attached).  

Legislative Services generally agrees with this assessment, as discussed below. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law/Background:  A vehicle “dealer” has two different definitions in the 

Maryland Vehicle Law.  In Title 15, which relates to business licensing, a dealer is 
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defined to include a person who is in the business of buying, selling, or exchanging 

vehicles, including a person who during any 12-month period offers to sell three or more 

vehicles acquired for resale purposes.  However, the generally applicable Maryland 

Vehicle Law definition of “dealer” from Title 11 requires that a person sell a minimum of 

five vehicles during a 12-month period.  Chapter 448 of 2002 changed the Title 15 

definition of dealer to reduce the minimum number of vehicles that must be sold, but 

MVA advises that the failure to make a conforming change to the Title 11 definition was 

due to an oversight. 

 

Currently, each licensed dealer must pay an annual license fee to MVA but need not pay 

more than one annual fee, regardless of the number of business locations.  MVA advises 

that requiring only one annual fee, rather than one for each location, is unfair to smaller 

dealers.  Moreover, according to MVA, a 2007 third-party study of MVA operations 

revealed that the cost involved in issuing vehicle dealer licenses was significantly higher 

than the fee that MVA charged for the licenses.  Finally, MVA advises that most 

surrounding states charge annual fees based on the number of locations of each dealer.  

Currently, Delaware charges an annual fee of $75 plus $25 for additional locations; 

Pennsylvania charges an initial biennial license fee of $65 and a renewal fee of $175 for 

each location; and Virginia charges an annual license fee of $300 for each principal place 

of business. 

 

To obtain a temporary registration plate, statute requires a dealer to submit an 

application, fee, and a request for at least five temporary registration plates.  However, 

MVA advises that, pursuant to Chapter 21 of 2010, it has developed a temporary tag 

system that allows dealers to print temporary tags on demand, making the minimum 

request of five plates unnecessary and obsolete. 

 

Small Business Effect:  The small business impact statement submitted by MDOT 

indicates that the bill will have no impact on small business in Maryland.  However, the 

additional business license fee charged to dealers will have at least a minimal impact on 

small business vehicle dealers. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Maryland Department of Transportation, Department of 

Legislative Services 
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Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 12, 2012 

 ncs/ljm 

 

Analysis by:   Evan M. Isaacson  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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 ANALYSIS OF ECONOMIC IMPACT ON SMALL BUSINESSES 
 

TITLE OF BILL: Motor Vehicle Administration – Vehicle Dealers 

 

BILL NUMBER: HB 268 

 

PREPARED BY: Maryland Department of Transportation 

     

 

PART A.  ECONOMIC IMPACT RATING 

 

This agency estimates that the proposed bill: 
 

__X__ WILL HAVE MINIMAL OR NO ECONOMIC IMPACT ON MARYLAND SMALL 

BUSINESS 

 

OR 

 

        WILL HAVE MEANINGFUL ECONOMIC IMPACT ON MARYLAND SMALL 

BUSINESSES 

     

PART B.  ECONOMIC IMPACT ANALYSIS 

 

The proposed legislation will have no impact on small business in Maryland. 
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