HOUSE BILL 238

3lr1626 CF SB 226

By: Delegates Oaks, Anderson, Branch, Carter, Conaway, Glenn, Haynes, Mitchell, B. Robinson, Stukes, Tarrant, and F. Turner <u>and Tarrant</u>

Introduced and read first time: January 23, 2013 Assigned to: Appropriations

Committee Report: Favorable with amendments House action: Adopted Read second time: February 19, 2013

CHAPTER _____

1 AN ACT concerning

Morgan State University – Board of Regents – Length and Limitation of Terms <u>and Residency Requirement</u>

- FOR the purpose of altering the length of time of the term of office of a member of the
 Board of Regents of Morgan State University; setting a limit on the number of
 terms that a member certain members may serve; limiting the number of
 certain members who are not residents of Maryland; and generally relating to
 the terms and residency of members of the Board of Regents of Morgan State
- 9 University.
- 10 BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,
- 11 Article Education
- 12 Section 14–102
- 13 Annotated Code of Maryland
- 14 (2008 Replacement Volume and 2012 Supplement)

15 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF 16 MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

- 17 Article Education
- 18 14–102.
- 19 (a) The government of the University is vested in the Board of Regents.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.



F2

The Board of Regents consists of 15 members appointed by the Governor 1 (b) $\mathbf{2}$ with the advice and consent of the Senate. 3 One member of the Board of Regents shall be a student in good (c) (1)academic standing at the University who: 4 $\mathbf{5}$ (i) Is at least 18 years old; and 6 Has the qualifications required to be student body president. (ii) 7 (2)The student member serves for a term of 1 year and until a 8 successor is appointed and gualifies. The student may be a resident of a state other than Maryland, but 9 (3)the residency status of the student may not be considered in determining the number 10 11 of resident or nonresident regents as provided for in subsection (d)(2) of this section. 12(d) Except for the student member, each member serves for a (1)**(I)** 13term of [6] 5 years and until a successor is appointed and qualifies. The terms are staggered as required by the terms of the members serving on [July 1, 1978] 1415**DECEMBER 31, 2012**. 16 **A** EXCEPT AS PROVIDED IN SUBSUBPARAGRAPH 2 **(II)** 1. OF THIS SUBPARAGRAPH, A MEMBER MAY NOT SERVE MORE THAN TWO 17**CONSECUTIVE TERMS OF 5 YEARS.** 18 192. THIS SUBPARAGRAPH DOES NOT APPLY TO A 20MEMBER WHO IS AN ELECTED OFFICIAL. 21(2)Except for the student member, at least 8 members of the Board of 22Regents shall be residents of the State NO MORE THAN 4 MEMBERS OF THE BOARD 23OF REGENTS WHO ARE NOT ALUMNI OF MORGAN STATE UNIVERSITY MAY BE 24**RESIDENTS OF OTHER STATES.** 25A member appointed to fill a vacancy in an unexpired term serves (3)only for the remainder of that term and until a successor is appointed and gualifies. 2627(e) Each member of the Board of Regents: 28(1)Serves without compensation; and 29(2)Is entitled to reimbursement for expenses in accordance with the

HOUSE BILL 238

30 Standard State Travel Regulations.

 $\mathbf{2}$

HOUSE BILL 238

1 SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That, except for a member of 2 the Board of Regents of Morgan State University who is an elected official, a member 3 who was appointed to the Board of Regents on or before December 31, 2012, may not 4 serve, on completion of that term of office, more than one additional term of 5 years.

5 <u>SECTION 3. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED</u>, That the residency 6 requirement in § 14–102(d)(2) of the Education Article, as enacted by this Act, does not 7 apply to a member of the Board of Regents of Morgan State University who was 8 appointed on or before December 31, 2012.

9 SECTION 3. <u>4.</u> AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take 10 effect October 1, 2013.

Approved:

Governor.

Speaker of the House of Delegates.

President of the Senate.