HOUSE BILL 635

L5

3lr0395

By: Montgomery County Delegation and Prince George's County Delegation Introduced and read first time: February 1, 2013 Assigned to: Environmental Matters

A BILL ENTITLED

1 AN ACT concerning

$\frac{2}{3}$	Maryland–Natio	onal Capital Park and Planning Commission – Restrictions on Commissioners from Montgomery County	
4		MC/PG 102–13	
5 6 7 8 9	FOR the purpose of repealing a requirement that not more than three members of the Maryland–National Capital Park and Planning Commission from Montgomery County be members of the same political party; and generally relating to restrictions on members of the Maryland–National Capital Park and Planning Commission from Montgomery County.		
$10\\11\\12\\13\\14$	BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments, Article – Land Use Section 15–102 Annotated Code of Maryland (2012 Volume)		
$15\\16$		1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF at the Laws of Maryland read as follows:	
17	7 Article – Land Use		
18	15–102.		
19	(a) (1)	The Commission consists of 10 members.	
20	(2)	Of the 10 members of the Commission:	
$\begin{array}{c} 21 \\ 22 \end{array}$	County; and	(i) five shall be residents and registered voters of Montgomery	

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW. [Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.



	2 HOUSE BILL 635
$\frac{1}{2}$	(ii) five shall be residents and registered voters of Prince George's County.
$\frac{3}{4}$	(3) (i) Subject to the approval of the County Executive, the County Council shall appoint each commissioner from Montgomery County.
$5 \\ 6$	(ii) Subject to the approval of the County Council, the County Executive shall appoint each commissioner from Prince George's County.
7 8	(b) Each commissioner shall be an individual of ability, experience, and integrity.
9 10 11	(c) (1) [Of the commissioners from each county, not] NOT more than three COMMISSIONERS FROM PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY shall be members of the same political party.
$\begin{array}{c} 12\\ 13 \end{array}$	(2) A commissioner may not be selected as representing or supporting any special interest.
14	(d) (1) The term of a commissioner is 4 years and begins on June 15.
$\begin{array}{c} 15\\ 16 \end{array}$	(2) The terms of commissioners are staggered as required by the terms provided for commissioners on October 1, 2012.
17 18	(3) At the end of a term, a commissioner continues to serve until a successor is appointed and qualifies.
$\begin{array}{c} 19\\ 20 \end{array}$	(4) A commissioner who is appointed after a term has begun serves only for the rest of the term and until a successor is appointed and qualifies.
21 22 23	(5) A commissioner who is appointed to fill a vacancy for an unexpired term shall be a member of the same political party as the commissioner who vacated the office.
$\begin{array}{c} 24 \\ 25 \end{array}$	(6) A commissioner appointed from Montgomery County may not be appointed for three consecutive full terms.
$\begin{array}{c} 26 \\ 27 \end{array}$	SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect October 1, 2013.