HOUSE BILL 1264

K4 3lr2813

HB 572/12 – APP

By: Delegates George, Afzali, Arora, Aumann, Barkley, Barnes, Barve, Bates, Beidle, Beitzel, Bohanan, Clagett, Donoghue, Eckardt, Elliott, Frank, Frush, Glenn, Haddaway-Riccio, Hogan, Hough, Ivey, Jacobs, Jameson, Kach, K. Kelly, Kipke, Kramer, Krebs, McComas, McConkey, McDermott, McMillan, Minnick, Myers, O'Donnell, Olszewski, Otto, Ready, Reznik, Schuh, Serafini, Sophocleus, Stocksdale, Szeliga, Vitale, Walker, A. Washington, Weir, Wood, and Zucker

Introduced and read first time: February 8, 2013

Assigned to: Appropriations

A BILL ENTITLED

1 AN ACT concerning

2

3

19

Task Force to Study Forfeiture of Retirement Benefits for Public Officials
Charged with or Convicted of a Crime

FOR the purpose of establishing the Task Force to Study Forfeiture of Retirement 4 5 Benefits for Public Officials Charged with or Convicted of a Crime; providing for 6 the composition, chair, and staffing of the Task Force; prohibiting a member of 7 the Task Force from receiving certain compensation, but authorizing the 8 reimbursement of certain expenses; requiring the Task Force to study and make recommendations regarding certain matters; requiring the Task Force to report 9 10 its findings and recommendations to the Senate Budget and Taxation 11 Committee, the House Appropriations Committee, and the Joint Committee on 12 Pensions on or before a certain date; providing for the termination of this Act; and generally relating to the Task Force to Study Forfeiture of Retirement 13 Benefits for Public Officials Charged with or Convicted of a Crime. 14

- 15 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF 16 MARYLAND, That:
- 17 (a) There is a Task Force to Study Forfeiture of Retirement Benefits for Public Officials Charged with or Convicted of a Crime.
 - (b) The Task Force consists of the following members:
- 20 (1) two members of the Senate of Maryland, appointed by the 21 President of the Senate;

$\frac{1}{2}$	(2) two members of the House of Delegates, appointed by the Speaker of the House;
3 4	(3) the Executive Director of the State Retirement Agency or the Executive Director's designee;
5 6	(4) the Executive Director of the State Ethics Commission, or the Executive Director's designee;
7 8	(5) one member of the Board of Governors of the Maryland State Bar Association, appointed by the President of the Maryland State Bar Association;
9 10	(6) one representative of the Maryland Attorney General's Office appointed by the Attorney General;
11 12	(7) the Executive Director of the Maryland Association of Counties, or the Executive Director's designee; and
13 14	(8) the Executive Director of the Maryland Municipal League, or the Executive Director's designee.
15 16	(c) The President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House jointly shall designate the chair of the Task Force.
17 18	(d) The Department of Legislative Services shall provide staff for the Task Force.
19	(e) A member of the Task Force:
20	(1) may not receive compensation as a member of the Task Force; but
21 22	(2) is entitled to reimbursement for expenses under the Standard State Travel Regulations, as provided in the State budget.
23	(f) The Task Force shall:
24 25	(1) study the possible forfeiture or suspension of retirement benefits for public officials when charged with or convicted of a criminal act, including:
26 27	(i) the circumstances under which retirement benefits should be subject to forfeiture or suspension;
28 29	(ii) the public officials that should be subject to possible forfeiture or suspension of benefits;

1	(iii) the process for making a determination to suspend or forfeit
2	retirement benefits; and
3	(iv) the process for notifying the appropriate agency if a
4	determination is made to suspend or forfeit retirement benefits; and
5	(2) make recommendations regarding the forfeiture or suspension of
6	retirement benefits for public officials charged with or convicted of a criminal act.
7	(g) On or before November 30, 2013, the Task Force shall report its findings
8	and recommendations to the Senate Budget and Taxation Committee, the House
9	Appropriations Committee, and the Joint Committee on Pensions, in accordance with
10	§ 2–1246 of the State Government Article.
11	SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect
12	June 1, 2013. It shall remain effective for a period of 1 year and 1 month and, at the
13	end of June 30, 2014, with no further action required by the General Assembly, this
14	Act shall be abrogated and of no further force and effect.