HOUSE BILL 1531

G1 3lr3421 By: Delegate O'Donnell Rules suspended Introduced and read first time: March 11, 2013 Assigned to: Rules and Executive Nominations Re-referred to: Ways and Means, March 13, 2013 Committee Report: Favorable House action: Adopted Read second time: March 18, 2013 CHAPTER AN ACT concerning Election Law - Prince George's County Republican Party Central Committee - Membership FOR the purpose of authorizing a member of the Prince George's County Republican Party Central Committee to run at large to fill certain seats; altering the composition of the committee; making a conforming change; and generally relating to the Prince George's County Republican Party Central Committee. BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments, Article – Election Law Section 4-203(g)(1)Annotated Code of Maryland (2010 Replacement Volume and 2012 Supplement) SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows: Article - Election Law 4-203.(1) In Prince George's County, members of the Republican Party (g) (i)

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

Central Committee:

1

2

3

4

5 6

7

8 9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.



$1\\2$	1. may [not] run at large TO FILL HISTORICALLY VACANT SEATS; and
3 4 5 6	2. UNLESS A MEMBER RUNS AT LARGE UNDER ITEM 1 OF THIS SUBPARAGRAPH, shall be elected from within legislative districts of Prince George's County or within that portion of any legislative district lying within Prince George's County.
7 8 9	(ii) The number of members of the Republican Party Central Committee shall, TO THE EXTENT PRACTICABLE , consist of two members from each of the eight legislative districts lying within Prince George's County.
10 11	SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect October 1, 2013.
	A 1
	Approved:
	Governor.
	Speaker of the House of Delegates.
	President of the Senate.