SENATE BILL 144

Q1

3lr1557 CF HB 263

By: **Senator Kasemeyer** Introduced and read first time: January 17, 2013 Assigned to: Budget and Taxation

Committee Report: Favorable Senate action: Adopted Read second time: February 11, 2013

CHAPTER _____

1 AN ACT concerning

2 Property Tax Credit – Historically and Architecturally Valuable Property

FOR the purpose of altering the amount of certain restoration and preservation expenses for certain historic structures that the governing body of a county or municipal corporation may authorize to be claimed by certain taxpayers as a property tax credit against the county or municipal property tax; providing for the application of this Act; and generally relating to a property tax credit for certain restoration and preservation expenses.

- 9 BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,
- 10 Article Tax Property
- 11 Section 9–204(b)
- 12 Annotated Code of Maryland
- 13 (2012 Replacement Volume)

14 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF 15 MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

16

Article – Tax – Property

17 9–204.

18 (b) A property tax credit of up to [10%] **25%** of the properly documented 19 expenses of a private owner taxpayer for the restoration and preservation of a 20 structure that the Mayor and City Council of Baltimore City or the governing body of a

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.



SENATE BILL 144

county or of a municipal corporation determines has historic or architectural value
may be granted, by law, by the Mayor and City Council of Baltimore City or the
governing body against the county or municipal corporation property tax imposed.

4 SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect 5 June 1, 2013, and shall be applicable to all taxable years beginning after June 30, 6 2013.

Approved:

Governor.

President of the Senate.

Speaker of the House of Delegates.

 $\mathbf{2}$