# **SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 4**

P1

3lr3363

### By: **Senator Garagiola** Introduced and read first time: March 1, 2013 Assigned to: Rules

## SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION

1 A Senate Joint Resolution concerning

# Support of the Efforts of the Nagorno–Karabakh Republic to Develop as a Free and Independent Nation

FOR the purpose of expressing the support of the General Assembly for the
Nagorno-Karabakh Republic; urging the President of the United States and the
United States Congress to take certain action regarding the Nagorno-Karabakh
Republic; providing that a copy of this resolution be sent by the Department of
Legislative Services to certain individuals; and generally relating to support of
the efforts of the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic to develop as a free and
independent nation.

WHEREAS, The region of Artsakh, also known as Mountainous Karabakh, is
 located in the Transcaucasus region and has historically been Armenian territory,
 populated by an overwhelming majority of Armenians; and

WHEREAS, In 1923, the Communist dictatorship of Joseph Stalin, in violation of the national, territorial, and human rights of the Armenian people, annexed part of the region of Artsakh, which was composed of a 95% Armenian population, and joined it with the region of Soviet Azerbaijan; and

18 WHEREAS, For decades, Armenians in Nagorno–Karabakh, having arbitrarily 19 been severed from Armenia and forced under Soviet Azerbaijani administration, 20 peacefully demonstrated for national independence and individual freedom and 21 against Soviet Azerbaijani repression and discrimination; and

WHEREAS, In the years immediately preceding the declaration of independence by the Nagorno–Karabakh Republic, these peaceful demonstrations were met with acts of violent repression by Soviet Azerbaijani forces who refused to allow the reestablishment of the national independence of the people of Nagorno–Karabakh; and



### **SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 4**

1 WHEREAS, During the repressive and violent events leading to the birth of the 2 Nagorno–Karabakh Republic, ethnic Armenians were killed in Sumgait in February 3 1988, in Kirovabad in November 1988, and in Baku in January 1990 by Soviet 4 Azerbaijani forces and Armenians were forcibly deported by Azerbaijan; and

5 WHEREAS, In July 1988, within months of the Sumgait tragedy, the United 6 States Senate unanimously passed Amendment 2690 to the Fiscal Year 1989 Foreign 7 Operations Appropriations bill (H.R. 4782), concerning the Karabakh conflict and 8 calling on the Soviet government to "respect the legitimate aspirations of the 9 Armenian people ..." and noted that "dozens of Armenians have been killed and 10 hundreds injured during the recent unrests ..."; and

11 WHEREAS, The Armenians of Nagorno–Karabakh would not be deterred and 12 would not allow their dream of national independence, and their inherent desire for 13 individual freedom, to be destroyed by violence and repression; and

14 WHEREAS, On December 10, 1991, despite continued violence against the 15 people of Nagorno–Karabakh, a popular referendum proclaiming the republic took 16 place in Nagorno–Karabakh during the process of the Soviet Union disintegration; and

WHEREAS, Under the watchful eye of more than 50 international observers
and in full compliance with international standards for free and fair elections, more
than 80% of the eligible voters in Nagorno–Karabakh cast a ballot; and

20 WHEREAS, Independence and individual freedom were chosen by an 21 overwhelming 98% of those casting ballots; and

22 WHEREAS, The population of Nagorno–Karabakh then held free, democratic, 23 and direct elections for its parliament; and

WHEREAS, On January 6, 1992, the first ever freely elected Parliament of
Nagorno–Karabakh adopted a Declaration of Independence of the Nagorno–Karabakh
Republic; and

WHEREAS, From the earliest days of its formation, the freely elected governmental bodies of the Nagorno–Karabakh Republic have continuously striven to build an open democratic society through free and transparent elections, affirmed by international observers; and

31 WHEREAS, Since signing a cease-fire agreement with Azerbaijan in 1994, 32 after 3 years of armed conflict, the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic registered significant 33 progress in postwar humanitarian and economic development; and

34 WHEREAS, Despite the 1994 cease–fire agreement, the security and 35 sovereignty of the Nagorno–Karabakh Republic continue to be threatened by regional 36 tension and hostile acts; now, therefore, be it

 $\mathbf{2}$ 

#### **SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 4**

1 RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the 2 General Assembly:

3 (1) encourages the continuing efforts of the Nagorno-Karabakh 4 Republic to develop as a free and independent nation in order to guarantee its citizens 5 those rights inherent in a free and independent society;

6 (2) supports the continued constructive involvement of the 7 Nagorno–Karabakh Republic with the international community and its efforts to reach 8 a lasting solution to the existing regional problems and to establish peace and stability 9 in the strategically important region of South Caucasus;

10 (3) urges the President of the United States and the United States 11 Congress to recognize the independence of the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic and to 12 encourage nations neighboring the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic to foster and 13 maintain peaceful relations with the people of the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic; and

14 (4) urges the President of the United States and the United States 15 Congress to continue promoting humanitarian and economic rehabilitation of the 16 Nagorno–Karabakh Republic and to fully support its continuing development as a free 17 and democratic society, with all the social, economic, and political advantages that a 18 free society brings to its citizens; and be it further

19 RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of 20Legislative Services to President Barack Obama, The White House, 1600 21Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20500; and the Maryland Congressional Delegation: Senators Barbara A. Mikulski and Benjamin L. Cardin, 2223Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510; and Representatives Andrew P. 24Harris, C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger III, John P. Sarbanes, Donna Edwards, Steny 25Hamilton Hoyer, John Delaney, Elijah E. Cummings, and Christopher Van Hollen, Jr., 26House Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20515.