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Maryland Board of Physicians - Failure to Renew a License or Misrepresentation 

as a Licensed Person - Penalties 
 

   

This bill establishes that a person who misrepresents to the public that the person is 

authorized to practice medicine or a licensee who fails to renew a license is (1) guilty of a 

felony and on conviction is subject to a fine of up to $10,000 and/or imprisonment for up 

to five years and (2) subject to a civil fine of up to $50,000 to be levied by the State 

Board of Physicians (MBP), payable to the State Board of Physicians Fund.  These 

penalties do not apply to a licensee who fails to renew if the licensee has applied for 

renewal, including payment of the renewal fee, within 60 days of the expiration of the 

license.   

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues due to the bill’s 

penalty provisions.  Potential minimal increase in special fund revenues for MBP due to 

the expanded authority to issue civil fines.  Expenditures are not likely affected.   

  

Local Effect:  Potential minimal increase in revenues due to the bill’s penalty provisions. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  Except as otherwise provided in Title 14 of the Health Occupations 

Article, a person may not practice, attempt to practice, or offer to practice medicine in 

this State unless licensed by the board.  Unless authorized to practice medicine, a person 

may not represent to the public, by description of services, methods, or procedures, or 
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otherwise, that the person is authorized to practice medicine in Maryland.  A person is 

also prohibited from using the words or terms “Dr.,” “doctor,” “physician,” “D.O.,” or 

“M.D.” with the intent to represent that the person practices medicine, unless the person 

is licensed in Maryland, except under specific circumstances.   

 

Generally, a person who violates any provision of Subtitle 6 of Title 14 of the Health 

Occupations Article is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to a fine of 

up to $5,000 and/or imprisonment for up to five years.  A person guilty of practicing 

without a license, with the exception of an individual who has failed to renew a license, is 

guilty of a felony and on conviction is subject to a fine of up to $10,000 and/or 

imprisonment for up to five years and may be assessed a civil fine of up to $50,000 by 

the board.   

 

Before the expiration date of the license, a licensee must complete and return to the board 

the renewal form and renewal fee according to instructions.  After the expiration date, a 

physician is no longer licensed to practice medicine.  The period for late renewal is the 

two-month period immediately following the expiration date of the last renewal cycle.  If 

a physician applies for renewal during this period, the penalty fee for late renewal 

applies.  The physician is not authorized to practice medicine until the application for late 

renewal is approved by the board.  The fee for late renewals in the most recent renewal 

period was $614 ($514 renewal fee and $100 late fee).  All licenses not renewed by the 

end of the late license renewal period automatically expire.  Licenses are not reactivated 

until the application for renewal has been processed by the board and the payment has 

been processed.  After the late period, physicians are required to file an application for 

reinstatement and pay the applicable fees to practice medicine in the State. 

 

Background:  According to the board, while it currently has the authority to sanction an 

individual for practicing medicine without a license, it does not have authority to sanction 

an individual who continues to practice on an expired license.  Nor does it have authority 

to sanction an individual for misrepresentation to the public.  The board anticipates that 

the number of such cases will be small.     

 

State Revenues:  General fund revenues may increase minimally as a result of the 

expanded application of an existing fine authorized under the bill from cases heard in the 

District Court.  

 

Special fund revenues for the board may increase as a result of the authority to assess a 

civil fine of up to $50,000 on individuals who misrepresent to the public that they are 

licensed to practice medicine or fail to renew their license.  Actual revenues will depend 

on the number of violations and the actual civil fines imposed.  
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State Expenditures:  General fund expenditures likely do not increase as the maximum 

period for incarceration for a felony conviction remains the same under the bill as under 

current law for a misdemeanor conviction.    

 

Local Revenues:  Revenues may increase minimally as a result of the expanded 

application of an existing fine authorized under the bill from cases heard in the circuit 

courts.  

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  SB 690 (Senator Montgomery) - Education, Health, and Environmental 

Affairs. 

 

Information Source(s):   Maryland State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy, 

Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Judiciary (Administrative Office of the 

Courts), Office of the Public Defender, Department of Public Safety and Correctional 

Services, State’s Attorneys’ Association, Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 25, 2013 

Revised - House Third Reader - March 23, 2013 
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Analysis by:   Jennifer B. Chasse  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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