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Economic Matters   

 

Secondhand Precious Metal Object Dealers - Locations for Transaction of 

Business 
 

   

This bill expands the authority of a licensed secondhand precious metal object dealer to 

transact business as a dealer for up to seven consecutive days at an event that takes place 

at a location other than the dealer’s fixed business address.  The dealer must give written 

notice at least seven days in advance of the event to the primary law enforcement unit and 

to the local law enforcement unit within the jurisdiction of the event location only if 

(1) the dealer or dealer’s agent or employee has acquired space at the event or (2) has 

published notice of or advertised the event by any means.   

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Potential minimal increase or decrease in general fund revenues collected 

from licensing fees under the Maryland Secondhand Precious Metal Object Dealers and 

Pawnbrokers Act.  However, the magnitude and direction of the change cannot be 

reliably estimated at this time, as discussed below.  The Department of Labor, Licensing, 

and Regulation (DLLR) can implement the bill with existing budgeted resources.  

General fund expenditures may increase or decrease minimally for the Department of 

State Police (DSP) beginning in FY 2014 due to a change in registrations with the 

Regional Automated Property Information Database (RAPID) system.  The bill likely 

imposes a significant operational burden on DSP to monitor and track additional 

secondhand precious metal object dealers and events, either requiring additional 

resources to maintain current levels of enforcement or leading to diminished enforcement 

and recovery of stolen merchandise. 

  

Local Effect:  Significant operational burdens on local law enforcement agencies, either 

requiring additional resources or resulting in diminished enforcement and recovery of 

stolen merchandise. 
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Small Business Effect:  Meaningful.  

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  DLLR regulates dealers who acquire and trade secondhand precious 

metal objects, including gold and silver.  Dealers of these objects, including individuals, 

retail jewelers, and pawnbrokers who deal in secondhand precious metal objects, must be 

licensed before doing business in the State in accordance with the Maryland Secondhand 

Precious Metal Object Dealers and Pawnbrokers Act.  The fee for an initial license is 

$300, and the renewal fee is $265.  Licenses must be renewed biennially. 

 

In general, a secondhand precious metal object dealer may only purchase secondhand 

precious metal objects at the address for which the dealer’s license is issued.  There are 

three exemptions from this requirement.  A dealer may: 

 

 make purchases at an estate sale; 

 make purchases at a judicial sale; and 

 transact business at the residence of the owner of a precious metal object, on 

request of the owner, and after giving written notice of the proposed transaction to 

local law enforcement. 

 

Licensees are required to record specified information for each transaction on a form 

provided by DLLR.  Records must be kept for at least three years at a location within the 

State.  Further, dealers must submit records electronically, in a format acceptable to the 

receiving law enforcement unit, by noon of the business day following the transaction.  

Licensees are required to maintain written records of all transactions that involve the 

acquisition of secondhand precious metal objects, including identifying information and a 

physical description of the person from whom the object was acquired.  

 

The Act does not apply to specified transactions: 

 

 merchandise acquired from an established manufacturer or dealer who holds a 

license under the Act, if a dealer is not a pawnbroker and meets specified 

recordkeeping requirements; 

 metal acquired for use in dentistry by a State-licensed dentist; 

 coins or numismatic items; or 

 the purchase of junk or scrap metal otherwise subject to regulation in the State. 

 

The transaction requirements also do not apply to (1) certain retail jewelers with a fixed 

Maryland business address in the State when accepting merchandise for normal business 
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operations or (2) pawnbrokers located in a county that regulates pawnbrokers unless the 

pawnbroker does business as a dealer. 

 

Any secondhand precious metal object acquired by a dealer must be held for at least 

18 days in the county where the dealer holds a license, after a record is submitted to law 

enforcement.  The primary law enforcement agency may require a dealer to hold a 

precious metal object for an additional 12 days if the agency has reason to believe that the 

item is stolen.  A dealer may submit a request to the primary law enforcement unit for a 

shorter holding period for a specific precious metal object.  

           

Background:  Chapter 404 of 2010 (HB 318) repealed a provision that allowed 

secondhand precious metal object dealers to conduct business for up to seven days at an 

event that takes place at a location other than the dealer’s fixed business address.  These 

events were typically hotel-based gold-buying events or home gold parties. 

 

The amount of regulatory activity related to secondhand precious metal object dealers 

and pawnbrokers depends largely on the value of precious metals at a given time.  The 

2005 through 2012 increase in the price of gold coincided with a significant increase in 

the number of secondhand precious metal object dealers and pawnbrokers licensed by 

DLLR.  Prior to 2008, the total number of licenses issued by the department averaged 

254.  By January 2009, the department active license total was 348, a 37% increase.  By 

January 2011, the number of active precious metal licensees had climbed to 591 – more 

than double the pre-2008 average and 70% higher than in January 2009.  As of 

January 2013, DLLR has 643 active licensees. 

 

Chapter 562 of 2009 (SB 597) established electronic reporting requirements for dealers, 

thereby repealing the authorization that allowed dealers to mail or submit paper 

transaction records to law enforcement.  The State uses the RAPID system to transmit 

acquisition information from secondhand dealers to local law enforcement through an 

Internet interface.  RAPID enables police departments statewide to immediately gain 

access to timely information about property that has been sold to pawnbrokers, precious 

metal dealers, or vehicle salvage yards.            

 

DSP reports that, since the inception of the RAPID system, law enforcement has 

recovered $13.2 million in stolen property.  In 2012 alone, $883,000 worth of stolen 

precious metal objects were recovered from dealers who reported secondhand precious 

metal object purchases. 

 

State Fiscal Effect:  The fiscal impact of the bill is uncertain, as DLLR could see an 

increase in the number of licensees, a decrease in licensees, or no substantive change in 

the number of licensees.  DLLR advises that the bill could encourage more individuals to 

seek licensure if residential and hotel gold-buying events are reauthorized.  Conversely, if 
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individuals with multiple licenses consolidate and eliminate duplicate locations because 

they are again permitted to conduct buying events off site of the business location, the 

number of licensees could decrease.  Thus, individuals consolidating their licenses may 

offset any increase in the number of licenses issued to new applicants.  A net change in 

the number of licensees minimally increases or decreases general fund revenues 

beginning in fiscal 2014.  Following the enactment of Chapter 404, the number of 

licensed dealers increased from 550 in fiscal 2010 to 601 in fiscal 2011, but the number 

of new licenses issued dropped from 199 in fiscal 2010 to 120 in fiscal 2011. 

 

General fund expenditures may increase or decrease minimally for DSP beginning in 

fiscal 2014 due to a change in registrations with the RAPID system.  The magnitude and 

direction of the change cannot be reliably estimated at this time.  Each secondhand 

precious metal object dealer registrant costs DSP $220.  However, DSP advises that the 

bill likely has a significant operational impact to monitor and track additional secondhand 

precious metal object dealers and events.  Additional staff may be needed to maintain 

current enforcement levels. 

 

Local Fiscal Effect:  The bill may increase operational burdens on units of local 

government.  Baltimore County advises that allowing secondhand precious metal object 

dealers to operate at temporary locations for short periods of time (1) significantly 

increases the number of locations visited by its detectives and (2) creates concerns about 

where and how secondhand precious metal objects will be stored for the required holding 

period.  In addition, if a dealer from another region were to have a temporary event in 

Baltimore County, then county police would have to travel up to several hours to conduct 

inspections.  

 

Small Business Effect:  DLLR advises that, prior to Chapter 404 of 2010, individuals 

and small businesses had created a niche market for residential and hotel gold-buying 

events.  As a result of the 2010 legislation, businesses either discontinued this activity or 

acquired permanent facilities from which to continue to buy precious metal objects.  The 

bill may result in the resumption of this activity and open up financial opportunity for 

those individuals and businesses that closed as a result of the 2010 legislation.  Licensees 

who currently operate from multiple locations and in multiple jurisdictions would be able 

to consolidate their facilities.  This consolidation would result in expenditure savings for 

staff, site rental, and other overhead cost to licensees.          

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 
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Information Source(s):  Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation; Department 

of State Police; Baltimore, Carroll, Harford, Montgomery, Queen Anne’s, and St. Mary’s 

counties; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 5, 2013 

 ncs/mcr 

 

Analysis by:   Stephen M. Ross  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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