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Labor and Employment - Payment of Overtime Wages 
 

   

This bill exempts an employer from having to pay overtime wages of at least 1.5 times 

the usual hourly wage to an employee, unless a collective bargaining agreement between 

an employer and a labor organization provides otherwise, if (1) the employer is subject to 

Title II of the federal Railway Labor Act; (2) the employee is not required to work more 

than 40 hours during a work week; and (3) the employee voluntarily agrees to trade 

scheduled work hours with another employee, resulting in the employee working more 

than 40 hours in a work week. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  None.  Although the bill pertains exclusively to private-sector employees, 

State enforcement is not materially affected. 

  

Local Effect:  None.  The bill pertains exclusively to private-sector employees. 

  

Small Business Effect:  Potential minimal.  To the extent that eligible airline employees 

of small businesses no longer qualify for additional overtime pay, those businesses’ 

expenditures decrease.   

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  The Maryland Wage and Hour Law is the State complement to the 

federal Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938.  State law sets minimum wage standards to 

provide a maintenance level consistent with the needs of the population.  It specifies that 

an employee must be paid the higher of the federal minimum wage, which is currently 

$7.25 per hour, or $6.15 per hour.  
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The Maryland Wage and Hour Law, and minimum wage requirements, do not apply to 

certain categories of employees, including those defined as administrative, executive, or 

professional; certain seasonal employees; part-time employees younger than age 16 or 

older than age 61; salesmen and those who work on commission; an employer’s 

immediate family; movie theater employees; employees training in a special education 

program in a public school; employees of an establishment that sells food and drink for 

on-premises consumption; and certain farm workers.  Exceptions to the minimum wage 

requirement also exist for training wages and disabled employees of a sheltered 

workshop.  
 

An employer is required to pay an overtime wage of at least 1.5 times the usual hourly 

wage.  This requirement does not apply to an employer that employs railroad carrier 

employees; a hotel or motel; a restaurant; a gasoline service station; a bona fide private 

country club; a nonprofit entity primarily engaged in providing temporary at-home care 

services; a nonprofit concert promoter, legitimate theater, music festival, music pavilion, 

or theatrical show; or specified amusement or recreational establishments.  It also does 

not apply to an employee for whom the U.S. Secretary of Transportation sets 

qualifications and maximum hours of service under federal law; a mechanic, parts person, 

or salesperson, under certain conditions; or a driver employed by a taxicab operator.  An 

employer has to compute the wage for overtime on the basis of each hour over 40 hours 

that an employee works during one work week.  Specific exemptions apply for farm 

work, bowling establishments, and infirmaries.  
 

The employer of a tipped employee is allowed a tip credit that can be applied against the 

direct wages paid by the employer.  The employee can be paid tipping wages so long as 

the wages plus the tips received equal at least the minimum wage, the employee retains 

all tips, and the employee customarily receives more than $30 a month in tips.  The tip 

credit is currently 50% of the minimum wage or about $3.63 per hour.  
 

Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) 
 

With some exceptions, similar to State law, FLSA requires that a worker be paid a 

minimum hourly wage and that overtime compensation be paid to employees who work 

more than 40 hours in a week.  Under the federal Railway Labor Act, railroad and 

air carrier employees are exempt from the overtime pay requirement under FLSA.   
 

Railway Labor Act 
 

The Railway Labor Act is a federal law that governs labor relations in the railroad and 

airline industries.  The Act seeks to prevent strikes by resolving labor disputes through 

bargaining, arbitration, and mediation, and it is enforced by the National Mediation 

Board.  Title I of the Railway Labor Act applies to railroad carrier employees, while 

Title II extends the Act to include airline carrier employees. 
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Background:  With limited exceptions, Title II of the federal Railway Labor Act applies 

to every person in the service of a railroad or air carrier who performs work.  Since the 

Maryland Wage and Hour Law already exempts railroad carrier employees, the bill only 

affects air carrier employees.      

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  SB 405 (Senator Middleton, et al.) – Finance. 

 

Information Source(s):  U.S. Department of Labor; U.S. Government Printing Office; 

Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 8, 2013 

Revised - House Third Reader - March 18, 2013 

 

ncs/mcr 

 

Analysis by:   Heather N. Ruby  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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