HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 8

 $\begin{array}{ccc} {\rm I1} & & {\rm 4lr}1808 \\ {\rm HJ}\ 3/13 - {\rm HRU} & & {\rm CF}\ 4{\rm lr}3202 \end{array}$

By: Delegates Braveboy, Bobo, Branch, Bromwell, Burns, Cane, Carr, Carter, Clagett, Conway, Cullison, Donoghue, Eckardt, Fraser-Hidalgo, Frush, Gaines, Glenn, Griffith, Gutierrez, Howard, Hucker, Impallaria, Ivey, Jones, A. Kelly, Lafferty, Lee, Love, McComas, McIntosh, Morhaim, Nathan-Pulliam, Niemann, Oaks, Otto, Pena-Melnyk, B. Robinson, S. Robinson, Sophocleus, Stocksdale, Stukes, Swain, F. Turner, V. Turner, Valderrama, Vallario, A. Washington, M. Washington, Wilson, and Wood

Introduced and read first time: February 7, 2014 Assigned to: Rules and Executive Nominations

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

1 A House Joint Resolution concerning

2	Reinstatement of the Separation of Commercial and Investment Banking
3	Functions

- FOR the purpose of urging the United States Congress to support efforts to reinstate the separation of commercial and investment banking functions in effect under the Glass-Steagall Act and to support H. R. 129.
- WHEREAS, An effective money and banking system is essential to the functioning of the economy; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Such a system must function in the public interest, without bias; 10 and
- WHEREAS, Since 1933, the Federal Banking Act of 1933, known as the Glass-Steagall Act, protected the public interest in matters dealing with the regulation of commercial and investment banking, in addition to insurance companies and securities; and
- WHEREAS, The Glass-Steagall Act was repealed in 1999, partially contributing to the greatest speculative bubble and worldwide recession since the Great Depression of 1933; and
- WHEREAS, The worldwide recession has left millions of homes in foreclosure; and



WHEREAS, The worldwide recession has cost the loss of millions of jobs nationwide; and

WHEREAS, The worldwide recession has put severe financial strain on states, counties, and cities, exacerbating unemployment and loss of civil services; and

WHEREAS, The United States Senate and the House of Representatives have been making efforts to restore the protections of the Glass–Steagall Act; and

WHEREAS, Congresswoman Marcy Kaptur has introduced H. R. 129, known as the Return to Prudent Banking Act of 2013, that would revive the separation between commercial banking and the securities business in the manner provided in the Glass–Steagall Act; and

WHEREAS, Restoration of the protections of the Glass-Steagall Act has widespread national support from labor organizations, including the American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO), the American Federation of Teachers, and the International Association of Machinists; from prominent economic and business leaders, including Thomas Hoenig of the Federal Deposit Insurance Company, Sanford Weill, former Chief Executive Officer of Citigroup, and economist Luigi Zingales; and from newspapers, including the New York Times, the St. Louis Post Dispatch, the Los Angeles Times, and many others; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the members of the Maryland General Assembly urge the United States Congress to enact legislation that would reinstate the separation of commercial and investment banking functions in effect under the Glass–Steagall Act and that would prohibit commercial banks and bank holding companies from investing in stocks, underwriting securities, or investing in or acting as guarantors to derivative transactions to prevent American taxpayers from being called upon to fund hundreds of billions of dollars to bail out financial institutions; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of Legislative Services to the President of the United States, 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington, D.C. 20500; the Vice President of the United States, 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington, D.C. 20500; the Speaker of the House, H–232 The Capitol, Washington, D.C. 20515; Representative Marcy Kaptur, House Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20515; and the Maryland Congressional Delegation: Senators Barbara A. Mikulski and Benjamin L. Cardin, Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510; and Representatives C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger III, John P. Sarbanes, Donna Edwards, Steny Hamilton Hoyer, Andrew P. Harris, John Delaney, Elijah E. Cummings, and Christopher Van Hollen, Jr., House Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20515.