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Environmental Matters

Vehicle Laws - Registration - Historic Motor Vehicles

This bill alters the definition of an “historic motor vehicle” by increasing, from 20 years
to 25 years, the minimum age of a vehicle that may be defined as an historic motor
vehicle. The bill also requires an applicant for an historic motor vehicle registration to
provide the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) with certification that the vehicle is
insured by an historic vehicle, show vehicle, or antique vehicle insurance policy. Finally
the bill prohibits an individual from registering an historic motor vehicle unless the
individual owns another vehicle registered in Maryland that is not an historic motor
vehicle and that is used as the individual’s primary method of transportation.

The requirement that a vehicle be at least 25 years old to be registered as an historic
motor vehicle applies prospectively and may not be interpreted to have any effect on or
application to a vehicle registered as historic before the bill’s October 1, 2014 effective
date.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) and special fund revenues increase, likely
by several million dollars annually by FY 2019, as vehicle owners excluded from
registering their vehicles as historic pay higher registration fees and surcharges for their
vehicles. TTF expenditures increase, likely by more than $100,000, between FY 2015
and 2017 for MV A to procure additional registration plates.

Local Effect: Local revenues increase for jurisdictions statewide due to the increase in
Gasoline and Motor Vehicle Revenue Account funds distributed as highway user
revenues.

Small Business Effect: Minimal.



Analysis

Current Law: An historic motor vehicle is currently defined as a motor vehicle,
including a passenger vehicle, motorcycle, or truck, that is at least 20 years old; has not
been substantially altered from the manufacturer’s original design; and meets criteria
contained in MV A regulations.

The owner of an historic motor vehicle must certify that the vehicle will be maintained
for use in exhibitions, club activities, parades, tours, occasional transportation, and
similar uses, and not for general daily transportation or primarily for the transportation of
passengers or property on highways. Despite the certification as to how the historic
vehicle is to be used, statute does not specifically prohibit historic vehicles from being
used in other manners. However, MVA is authorized by regulation to suspend the
registration of an historic vehicle for use that is inconsistent with the registration
requirements.

Historic vehicles are exempt from the requirement to contain certain equipment unless
the presence of the equipment was specifically required by another State law as a
condition of sale when the vehicle was manufactured. Historic vehicles are also exempt
from any periodic vehicle inspections required by statute, including vehicle emissions
inspections. Historic vehicles registered in Maryland, or in another state when used in
Maryland, may display vintage registration plates as an indication of the historic or
antique nature of the vehicle.

An historic vehicle is generally subject to a $25.50 annual registration fee, paid
biennially, except that a motor vehicle manufactured at least 60 years prior to the current
model year is only subject to a one-time registration fee of $50.00. Historic vehicles also
are not subject to the vehicle registration surcharge of $17.00 per year distributed to the
Maryland Emergency Medical System Operations Fund. By contrast, the annualized
registration fees, exclusive of the $17.00 surcharge, for several common classes of
vehicles are as follows:

Class A passenger vehicle of up to 3,700 pounds — $50.50;

Class A passenger vehicle of more than 3,700 pounds — $76.50;

Class D motorcycle — $35;

Class E truck of three-quarter tons rated capacity or up to 7,000 pounds — $63.25;
Class M multipurpose vehicle of up to 3,700 pounds — $50.50; and

Class M multipurpose vehicle of more than 3,700 pounds — $76.50.

Chapter 389 of 2012 established separate historic vehicle registration requirements that
apply to trucks (Class E) with a gross vehicle weight of more than 10,000 pounds,
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tractors (Class F), or multipurpose (Class M) motor homes. To be registered as an
historic vehicle, one of these vehicles must be at least 25 years old. These vehicles may
not be used for general daily transportation or any commercial transportation of
passengers or property on highways, but they must be insured by an historic vehicle, a
show vehicle, or an antique vehicle insurance policy.

State Revenues: The Department of Legislative Services advises that a reliable fiscal
estimate cannot be made at this time due to limited data and numerous uncertainties,
including the number of historic motor vehicles registered each year (the most recent data
available is from fiscal 2011); the annual growth rate in historic vehicle registrations; the
annual attrition rate of historic vehicles falling into disuse; the percentage of vehicles that
register in each vehicle class, which carry different registration fees; and the percentage
of vehicles that are, or will be, insured by an historic vehicle, show vehicle, or antique
vehicle insurance policy. However, TTF and other special fund revenues may increase
significantly as many drivers that are excluded from registering their vehicle as historic
instead pay generally higher fees to register under a different vehicle classification.
Given the potential scope of vehicles involved and the significant difference in fees paid
between historic vehicles and other vehicle classes, it is likely that TTF revenues increase
by several million dollars annually by fiscal 2019.

Any estimated increase in TTF revenues also results in distributions to several special
funds from the payment of additional registration surcharges, as well as to local
governments statewide as highway user revenues.

State Expenditures: TTF expenditures also increase, but to a much lesser extent, in
fiscal 2015 through 2017 only for the one-time issuance by MVA of replacement
registration plates for individuals that are required to re-register their vehicles. MVA
advises that the current cost to procure a set of registration plates is $4.47. As noted
above, considerable uncertainties exist that prevent a reliable estimate of any increase in
TTF expenditures; however, the increase in TTF expenditures may exceed $100,000
between fiscal 2015 and 2017.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: A bill with similar provisions, HB 550 of 2012, received an
unfavorable report from the House Environmental Matters Committee. Its cross file,
SB 846, received an unfavorable report from the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee.

Cross File: None.
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Information Source(s): Maryland Insurance Administration, Maryland Department of
Transportation, Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 2, 2014
ncs/ljm

Analysis by: Evan M. Isaacson Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510

(301) 970-5510
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