Department of Legislative Services

Maryland General Assembly 2014 Session

FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE

Senate Bill 993

(Senators Brinkley and Young)

Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs

Environmental Matters

Frederick County - Transition to Charter Government - Corrections to References in the Annotated Code of Maryland

This bill corrects references to the Frederick County government in the Annotated Code of Maryland that will be rendered obsolete after the status of the county is changed from a commission county to a charter county.

The bill takes effect December 1, 2014.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: None.

Local Effect: None. The bill is corrective and does not significantly affect Frederick County finances.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: Frederick County will change from a commission county to a charter home rule county on December 1, 2014, as approved by Frederick County voters at the November 2012 general election.

Background: Maryland counties operate under three forms of government: commission, charter home rule, and code home rule. Until the mid-twentieth century, every county in Maryland had a commission form of government. Although Article XI-A of the Maryland Constitution was ratified in 1915 granting Baltimore City and any

county the authority to adopt charter home rule, the first time a county exercised this option was in 1948 when Montgomery County became the first charter home rule county. Until the mid-1960s, only three more counties had adopted charter home rule. Article XI-F of the Maryland Constitution was ratified in 1966 giving counties the option to adopt code home rule. Over the next few decades, several more counties adopted some form of home rule authority. To date, only 7 counties continue to operate under the commission, or nonhome rule, form of government, while 10 counties operate under charter home rule, and 6 counties operate under code home rule. However, beginning December 2014, Frederick County will operate under the charter home rule form of government. **Exhibit 1** shows the form of government for each Maryland county.

Exhibit 1 Form of County Government

Charter	Commission	Code
Anne Arundel	Calvert	Allegany
Baltimore	Carroll	Caroline
Cecil	Frederick ¹	Charles
Dorchester	Garrett	Kent
Harford	St. Mary's	Queen Anne's
Howard	Somerset	Worcester
Montgomery	Washington	
Prince George's		
Talbot		
Wicomico		

¹Frederick County will become a charter home rule county on December 1, 2014.

Source: Department of Legislative Services

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: None.

Cross File: HB 1205 (Frederick County Delegation) - Environmental Matters.

Information Source(s): Frederick County, Department of Legislative Services

SB 993/ Page 2

First Reader - March 3, 2014 **Fiscal Note History:**

mc/hlb

Direct Inquiries to: (410) 946-5510 Analysis by: Michael Sanelli

(301) 970-5510