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Motor Vehicles - Wearable Computer With Head-Mounted Display - Prohibited

This bill prohibits a person from operating a motor vehicle on a highway while wearing
or using a wearable computer with a head-mounted display. For purposes of the bill, a
“wearable computer with a head-mounted display” is a computer device that is worn on
an individual’s head and projects visual information into the field of vision of the
individual wearing the device. A violation is a misdemeanor and is subject to a
maximum fine of $500.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues due to the bill’s
penalty. Enforcement can be handled with existing resources.

Local Effect: Enforcement can be handled with existing resources.
Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: No State law specifically prohibits the wearing of a head-mounted optical
computer device while driving.

Video Displays: The Maryland Vehicle Law prohibits the use of television-type
receiving or video display equipment that is turned on and displaying an image visible to
the driver while driving. The prohibition does not apply to the use of such equipment in
conjunction with (1) a vehicle navigation system; (2) broadcast and satellite radio system



graphics; or (3) the display of information or images related to the operation of a motor
vehicle.

“Video display equipment” is defined to mean equipment capable of displaying a
dynamic visual image, other than text, from a digital video disc or other storage device.
Accordingly, except as otherwise provided, a motor vehicle driven on a highway in
Maryland may be equipped with video display equipment only if the video display
equipment is turned off when the screen is visible to the driver. This restriction does not
apply to video display equipment on a vehicle used by a public service company.

A violation of this provision is a misdemeanor, and a violator is subject to a maximum
fine of $500. The prepayment penalty established by the District Court is $60 and
one point against the driver’s license. If the violation contributes to an accident, the
prepayment penalty is $100 and three points against the driver’s license. The District
Court advises that, in fiscal 2013, a total of 39 citations were issued for driving with
operational video or electronic display equipment. Of those citations, 23 were prepaid,
14 went to trial and 2 remained open.

Wireless Devices: A “wireless communication device” means a handheld or hands-free
device used to access a wireless telephone service or a text messaging device.

Except to contact a 9-1-1 system in an emergency, a minor is prohibited from using a
wireless communication device while operating a motor vehicle. A violator is subject to
license suspension for up to 90 days by the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA).

A violator of this provision is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to a maximum fine of
$500. The prepayment penalty established by the District Court for this offense is $70.
If the violation contributes to an accident, the prepayment penalty increases to $110.
MVA is required to assess one point against the driver’s license for a violation, or
three points if the violation contributes to an accident. The District Court advises that
11 citations were issued for this offense in fiscal 2013, when the offense was subject to
only secondary enforcement (the offense became subject to primary enforcement during
fiscal 2014, as of October 1, 2013). Of the 11 citations, 3 were disposed of with the
prepayment penalty, 4 went to trial, and 4 remained open.

Negligent Driving: While no State statutory provision specifically prohibits driving with
a “wearable, head-mounted computer display,” a person is deemed guilty of negligent
driving if the person drives in a careless or imprudent manner that endangers human life
or property. A negligent driving violation requires the assessment of one point against
the driving record and is a misdemeanor subject to a maximum fine of $500. The
prepayment penalty assessed by the District Court for this offense is $140. If the offense
contributes to an accident, the prepayment penalty increases to $280 and three points
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must be assessed against the driver’s license. During fiscal 2013, the District Court
processed 23,219 citations for negligent driving. Of these, 2,932 citations were disposed
of by prepaying the penalty, 16,845 went to trial, and 3,442 remained open.

Background: Although not the first of its kind, the most well-known wearable,
head-mounted computer display is known as “Google Glass.” The optical, head-mounted
display, which looks like a pair of eyeglasses, is under development by the Project Glass
research and development project, a part of the Google Corporation. The device has been
distributed, on a limited basis, to people who are participating in the Google “Explorer”
project. Google “explorers” applied in 2013 to purchase the device, which costs $1,500,
by submitting a post through the social sites “Google+” or “Twitter” with unique ideas on
how Google Glass could be used to enhance creativity and productivity. Only those
people who submitted accepted posts have been able to purchase the Google Glass device
to date. While many technology experts have stated that Google will make Google Glass
available at retail for the general public, no date for a general release of Google Glass to
the public has yet been announced.

The device beams data (text, photos, or video) into the user’s field of vision with a liquid
crystal on silicon, field-sequential color, LED-illuminated display. It receives data
through a wireless local area network (also known as wi-fi) or it can connect through
“bluetooth” technology (a standard for short-range wireless interconnection of
cellphones, computers, speakers, and other electronic devices) that can share data with a
smartphone or tablet. Through bluetooth technology, Google Glass can access GPS data,
text messaging, and voice calling functions. Users issue voice commands by saying “ok
glass,” then issuing a natural language command, or the user can scroll through available
options by using a finger pressed against a touchpad on the side of the device. Google
and other software developers have designed some applications for the device, and an
application store is available. The device also has an interchangeable sunglass accessory.
According to news reports, Google has added an option for several different types of
prescription frames for an additional $225.

Many people have raised safety concerns about the use of Google Glass, especially while
driving. In October 2013, a woman was arrested in San Diego, California for driving
with Google Glass after being pulled over for speeding. The woman contested the
citation for wearing Google Glass, and the judge overturned the citation due to lack of
proof that the device was actually on while the woman was driving.

According to technology news sources, other states that have considered prohibiting the

use while driving of wearable head-mounted computer devices like Google Glass are
Delaware, Illinois, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, West Virginia, and Wyoming.
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For more information about distracted driving generally, please see the Appendix-
Distracted Driving, which is attached to the end of this fiscal and policy note.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.
Information Source(s): Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Department of
State  Police, Maryland Department of Transportation, www.google.com,
www.phandroid.com, Ars Technica, www.wikipedia.com, www.ask.com, Department of

Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 12, 2014
ncs/ljm

Analysis by: Karen D. Morgan Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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Appendix — Distracted Driving

According to The Wireless Association (CTIA) in 2012, for the first time in U.S. history,
the number of wireless device subscriptions (326.4 million) exceeded the U.S. population
(315.5 million) for a penetration of 102.2%. In 2012, more than 2 trillion text messages
were sent and more than 2 trillion voice minutes were used. The Insurance Institute of
Highway Safety estimates that, at any given daylight moment, 660,000 people in the
United States are using wireless devices while driving.

National surveys on distracted driving conducted by the National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration (NHTSA) and other organizations appear to indicate a major disconnect
between driving behaviors and the comprehension of risky behaviors that stem from the
use of electronic devices. In other words, surveyed drivers generally believe it is
dangerous for other drivers to make phone calls or text while driving. However, most
drivers believe that they, themselves, can manage to make calls or text and still drive
safely.

For example, in the 2012 National Survey on Distracted Driving Attitudes and Behaviors
released in April 2013 by NHTSA, 28% of respondents admitted answering incoming
calls on all or almost all driving trips. Of those who reported using a cell phone while
driving, 58% reported that they answer and drive simultaneously, while 10% admitted to
sending text messages or emails while driving — on at least some driving trips. An
additional 11% reported sending text messages or emails on rare occasions. About 14%
of respondents admitted to reading text messages and emails while driving. Of those who
reported sending text messages or emails, 44% said they waited until stopped at a red
light before sending; 35% drove while sending text messages and emails. Conversely,
8% of surveyed drivers reported asking a passenger to send the text or email, 7% reported
using voice commands to send text messages or emails, and 6% reported that they pulled
off the road to send a text or email.

Driver Distraction — A Definition: Distracted driving generally means any nondriving
activity which has the potential to cause the driver to divert his or her attention away
from the task of driving. This could mean activities as routine as changing a radio
station, eating a sandwich, or inserting a compact disc into the car’s player or it could
mean talking to other passengers, focusing on an unrestrained pet, adjusting car mirrors
as well as talking on a cell phone, texting, perusing the Internet, or otherwise using an
electronic device. NHTSA has focused attention on the four main types of driving
distraction:

. visual — taking eyes off the road;
o auditory — hearing noise or sounds that divert driver attention;
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o manual — taking hands off the steering wheel; and
) cognitive — focusing attention on things other than the primary task of driving.

While any nondriving task that distracts a driver can endanger the safety of drivers,
passengers, and pedestrians, enforcement efforts in Maryland and other states have
focused on the dangers resulting from the use of handheld cell phones for phone
conversations, texting, and other electronic communication activities. In Maryland, a
distracted driving crash is defined by the Department of State Police as at least one driver
in the crash either failing to pay full-time attention to the driving task or using a cell
phone while driving. Texting while driving is regarded as especially dangerous since it
requires a driver to be distracted visually, manually, and cognitively (however, many cell
phones allow the sending and reading of text messages by voice so distraction by voice
command texting could be limited to visual and cognitive). Handheld cell phone use is
also regarded as dangerous since it may require (unless the phone allows voice
commands to initiate and end calls) manual distraction as well as auditory and cognitive
diversion of the driver’s attention.

The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) regards nonemergency driver
engagement with electronic devices as so dangerous that it has recommended that states
enact legislation to prohibit the nonemergency use, while driving, of all portable
electronic devices (unless designed to support the driving task) including hands-free cell
phones. To date, no state has adopted the NTSB recommendation.

Prevalence of Distracted Driving in Maryland: The Maryland Highway Safety Office,
which is part of the Motor Vehicle Administration in the Maryland Department of
Transportation, reports that, during the five-year span from 2008 through 2012, an
average of 229 fatal crashes and 19,790 crashes with injuries annually involved at least
one distracted driver. On average, during the same five-year period, 92,418 crashes
occurred on Maryland roads annually. The proportion of distracted driving-related
crashes exceeds one-fifth of total traffic crashes.

Exhibit 1 shows the prevalence of distracted driving crashes by county in Maryland
when compared to vehicle miles traveled for the five-year period of 2008 through 2012.
Distracted driving crashes appear to be most likely to occur in urban areas with high
population densities. As shown in the exhibit, Baltimore City and Prince George’s and
Baltimore counties had the highest percentages of distracted driving-related crashes when
compared to the percentages of vehicle miles traveled in those jurisdictions. Conversely,
the counties of Anne Arundel, Frederick, and Howard had the lowest percentages of
distracted driving-related crashes when compared to the percentages of vehicle miles
traveled in those jurisdictions.
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Exhibit 1
Distracted Driving Crashes Compared to Vehicle Miles Traveled

2008-2012*
% of % of Over (+)
Statewide Statewide Under (-)
Jurisdiction 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 Crashes VMT Representation
Baltimore City 6,508 6,126 5,832 6,166 6,560 11.81 6.13 5.68
Prince George’s 10,057 9,593 9,281 9,259 8,771  17.37 15.61 1.76
Baltimore 9,539 8,483 8,101 8,166 8,338 15.65 14.78 0.87
Charles 1577 1589 1593 1,546 1,539 2.98 2.22 0.76
Montgomery 7,642 7825 7,425 7,262 6,878 13.72 13.00 0.72
Wicomico 1,277 1,297 1,176 1,236 1,172 2.28 1.75 0.53
St. Mary’s 980 981 1,023 1,007 1,073 1.97 1.49 0.48
Worcester 777 807 784 767 848 1.53 1.29 0.24
Calvert 761 800 752 700 747 1.40 1.33 0.07
Carroll 1,198 1,291 1,115 1,156 1,180 2.20 2.24 (0.04)
Kent 124 132 109 121 112 0.22 0.36 (0.04)
Somerset 183 206 169 176 169 0.33 0.50 (0.17)
Talbot 547 506 445 471 478 0.89 1.08 (0.19)
Dorchester 291 255 243 234 250 0.46 0.69 (0.23)
Harford 2,401 2,272 2,206 2,235 1,987 4.09 4.32 (0.23)
Caroline 236 268 227 221 229 0.43 0.67 (0.24)
Cecil 1,167 1,174 1,176 1,178 1,030 2.15 2.40 (0.25)
Garrett 314 308 280 265 223 0.49 0.94 (0.45)
Allegany 448 447 409 394 365 0.74 1.45 (0.71)
Queen Anne’s 447 479 498 432 449 0.88 1.65 (0.77)
Washington 1,623 1,497 1,423 1,409 1,463 2.73 3.61 (0.88)
Anne Arundel 5122 5,124 4,768 5,008 4,679 9.20 10.14 (0.94)
Frederick 1930 1,902 1,548 1,608 1,797 3.15 5.33 (2.18)
Howard 1,787 1,810 1,702 1,752 1,799 3.34 7.03 (3.69)

* This table provides the number of crashes, in a county or Baltimore City, for the distracted driving program area
that occurred over the designated five-year period. The percentage of statewide crashes is determined by comparing
each jurisdiction’s five-year average number of crashes with the average statewide number of crashes over the same
period. This result is then compared to the jurisdiction’s percentage of the statewide vehicle miles traveled (VMT)
in 2012. The difference between these two numbers (last column) reveals whether the jurisdiction experienced a
proportionately higher or lower number of crashes than is expected given its percentage of VMT. A positive
number indicates a higher proportion of crashes is occurring with distracted driving as a causative factor. A
negative number indicates that the jurisdiction experienced a lower number of crashes than expected, given VMT.

Source: University of Maryland, Baltimore — STAR ORC — National Study Center for Trauma and EMS
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Maryland Enforcement Activity: Since 2005, Maryland has prohibited any individual
younger than age 18 from using a wireless communication device while operating a
motor vehicle (Chapters 543 and 544 of 2005). The use of such a device to contact 9-1-1
in an emergency is exempt from the prohibition. As of 2009, Maryland prohibited the
writing and sending of text messages while operating a motor vehicle (Chapters 194 and
195 of 2009). In 2011, Chapters 471 and 472 expanded the prohibition to include the
reading of text messages. As of 2010, Maryland specifically prohibited school bus
drivers and provisional licensees who are age 18 or older from using a handheld
telephone while operating a motor vehicle. All other drivers were authorized by the same
law to use a hands-free telephone, but they could not operate the telephone with hands
unless it was only to dial a number or to turn the device on or off (Chapter 538 of 2010).

Except for the offenses of reading, writing, or sending a text while driving, which were
enacted as primary offenses, the offenses that prohibit the use of either handheld
telephones or wireless communication devices were originally enacted as subject to
secondary enforcement only. An officer could only enforce these violations if the officer
had detained the driver for another suspected violation of Maryland law. According to
data from the Administrative Office of the Courts, the total number of reported citations
for handheld telephone violations with secondary enforcement in fiscal 2013, as shown in
Exhibit 2, was similar, but somewhat lower than the number of reported citations for
fiscal 2012. The number of texting citations, however, did show an increase, not only in
the total, but also in those citations in which the offender chose to admit guilt and prepay
the fine.

Enforcement of the offenses for use of handheld telephones or wireless communication
devices was expanded to primary enforcement as of October 1, 2013, by Chapters 637
and 638 of 2013. Accordingly, an officer may detain a driver for the suspected unlawful
use of a handheld phone or wireless communication device without observing or
suspecting any other unlawful behavior. Chapters 637 and 638 also increased the
penalties applicable to school bus drivers and adult drivers for handheld phone offenses
from a maximum of $40 to a maximum of $75 for a first-time offense. The maximum
penalties for a second offense increased from $100 to $125, and the law established a
maximum penalty of $175 for a third or subsequent offense. Exhibit 3 shows citations
issued for handheld telephone offenses (information on primary enforcement of the
wireless communication device offense is not readily available) from October 1 through
December 31, 2013, after the expansion to primary enforcement.
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Exhibit 2
Maryland Electronic Device Driving Citations
Fiscal 2012-2013

Enforcement Total
Offense While Driving Authority Open Prepaid Trial Citations
School Bus Driver w/Handheld Device
Fiscal 2013 Secondary 3 29 9 41
Fiscal 2012 Secondary 8 34 14 56
Permit/Prov. License Holder — Adult w/Handheld Device
Fiscal 2013 Secondary 16 65 30 111
Fiscal 2012 Secondary 36 61 26 123
Minor w/Wireless Communication Device
Fiscal 2013 Secondary 4 3 4 11
Fiscal 2012 Secondary 5 3 3 11
Fully Licensed Adult w/Handheld Device
Fiscal 2013 Secondary 548 5,213 1,132 6,893
Fiscal 2012 Secondary 1,175 5,319 854 7,348
Reading, Writing, Sending Text Messages
Fiscal 2013 Primary 184 649 341 1,174
Fiscal 2012* Primary 175 368 149 692

*The existing prohibition was expanded to encompass reading a text message and its application was broadened to
vehicles in the travel portion of the roadway (rather than those in motion) on October 1, 2011.

Note: The enforcement authority for many of these offenses changed from secondary to primary, beginning in
fiscal 2014.

Source: Administrative Office of the Courts

Exhibit 3
Primary Enforcement — Handheld Telephone Offenses
October 1 — December 31, 2013

Enforcement
Handheld Telephone Offense By Authorization Open Prepaid Trial Total

School Bus Driver Primary 10 6 1 17
Provisional Licensed Adult Driver Primary 56 28 5 89
Fully Licensed Adult Driver Primary 3,185 4,210 338 7,733

Source: Administrative Office of the Courts
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The shift to primary enforcement, which became effective in the second quarter of
fiscal 2014, has led to a significant increase in the number of handheld cell phone
citations issued. For school bus drivers, a total of 41 citations were issued for handheld
phone offenses in fiscal 2013. Since primary enforcement became effective in the second
quarter of fiscal 2014, a total of 17 citations have been issued. That exceeds the number
of citations issued in a typical quarter, assuming uniform enforcement. For provisionally
licensed adult drivers, a total of 111 citations were issued in fiscal 2013. In a typical
quarter, assuming uniform enforcement, about 28 citations would be issued. However,
since primary enforcement became effective, a total of 89 citations have been issued to
provisionally licensed adult drivers — all in the second quarter of fiscal 2014. The
difference in primary enforcement is most telling with regard to fully licensed adult
drivers, however. In fiscal 2013, a total of 6,893 citations were issued for handheld cell
phone offenses. In just one quarter under primary enforcement, the number of citations
to adult drivers for driving with handheld cell phones (7,733) has already exceeded the
entire number issued for fiscal 2013.

Other States: According to the Governors Highway Safety Association (GHSA), as of
January 2014, 12 states (California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland,
Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Washington, and West Virginia) and the
District of Columbia prohibit the use of handheld phones by all drivers while operating a
motor vehicle and authorize primary enforcement. No state completely prohibits the use
of cell phones by regularly licensed, adult drivers. Also, 20 states (Arizona, Arkansas,
California, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana,
Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Jersey, North Carolina, Rhode
Island, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Virginia) and the District of Columbia prohibit the
operators of school vehicles that carry passengers from using a wireless telephone device
while driving and authorize primary enforcement.

GHSA also reports that 41 states and the District of Columbia prohibit all drivers from
texting while driving. In 37 states and the District of Columbia, primary enforcement is
authorized. In four states (Florida, lowa, Nebraska, and Ohio), secondary enforcement
only is authorized. No laws prohibiting all drivers from texting while driving have been
enacted in Arizona, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, South
Carolina, South Dakota, or Texas. As noted earlier, some of these states, however, have
enacted provisions limiting or prohibiting texting by specified populations (for example,
novice drivers) or in certain situations (for example, school or construction zones).
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