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Maryland Minimum Wage Act of 2014 
 

   

This Administration bill requires employers in the State, as of January 1, 2015, to pay the 

greater of the federal minimum wage or a State minimum wage of $8.00 per hour to 

employees subject to federal or State minimum wage requirements.  The bill provides for 

subsequent annual increases in the State’s minimum wage from July 1, 2015, through 

July 1, 2018, and allows an exception for employers of amusement or recreational 

establishments under specified conditions. 

 

The bill also alters the application of the Maryland Wage and Hour Law, changes 

overtime laws for various industries, alters the tip credit that employers can apply against 

the direct wages paid to tipped employees, and provides for liquidated damages to be 

awarded under specified circumstances to employees who are paid less than the minimum 

wage.  Additionally, the bill mandates rate increases for developmental disabilities 

community services providers. 

 

The bill takes effect July 1, 2014.  

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Expenditures for the Developmental Disabilities Administration (DDA) of 

the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DHMH) increase by an estimated 

$32.7 million (56% general funds, 44% federal funds) in FY 2016 and by an estimated 

$139.8 million (56% general funds, 44% federal funds) in FY 2019 due to mandated rate 

increases for community services providers.  State expenditures (all funds) increase by 

almost $1.5 million in FY 2015 due to additional staffing needs for enforcement at the 

Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation (DLLR) and additional payroll costs – 

primarily for certain employees of the University System of Maryland (USM) and the 

Maryland Department of Aging (MDoA).  The FY 2015 budget includes $312,122 for 

DLLR enforcement, contingent on enactment of this bill.  Out-year expenditures reflect 
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annualization, inflation, and employee turnover; as well as increases in the minimum 

wage.  Federal fund revenues increase to offset increased wages paid to senior citizen 

aides employed by MDoA and for community services provider reimbursement.  General 

fund revenues may increase minimally due to additional fines assessed against violators 

of the State’s Wage and Hour Law.  Any increase in general fund tax revenues to the 

State due to higher incomes cannot be reliably projected but is expected to be minimal.  

This bill establishes a mandated appropriation beginning in FY 2016. 
  

($ in millions) FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018 FY 2019 

FF Revenue $.06 $14.55 $29.81 $45.59 $61.99 

GF Expenditure $.31 $18.79 $38.12 $58.13 $78.85 

FF Expenditure $.06 $14.55 $29.81 $45.59 $61.99 

GF/SF/FF Exp. $.02 $.04 $.07 $.10 $.15 

Higher Ed Exp. $1.07 $3.13 $5.31 $7.77 $12.56 

Net Effect ($1.40) ($21.95) ($43.50) ($66.00) ($91.56)   
Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 

  

Local Effect:  Local government expenditures increase significantly for certain local 

jurisdictions to pay additional wages to minimum wage government employees.  Any 

increase in local government tax revenues cannot be reliably projected but is expected to 

be minimal.  This bill may impose a mandate on a unit of local government.   

  

Small Business Effect:  The Administration has determined that this bill has a 

meaningful impact on small business (attached).  The Department of Legislative Services 

(DLS) concurs with this assessment as discussed below.  (The attached assessment does 

not reflect amendments to the bill.) 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Bill Summary:            
 

Maryland Wage and Hour Law 

 

Minimum Wage Adjustment  

 

The bill specifies that, unless the federal minimum wage is set at a higher rate, the 

minimum wage of the State is $8.00 per hour effective January 1, 2015.  Further, as of 

July 1, 2015, the State minimum wage is increased to the greater of the federal minimum 

wage or $8.25 per hour; as of July 1, 2016, the State minimum wage will be the greater of 

the federal minimum wage or $8.75 per hour; as of July 1, 2017, the State minimum 

wage will be the greater of the federal minimum wage or $9.25 per hour; and as of 

July 1, 2018, the State minimum wage will be the greater of the federal minimum wage 

or $10.10 per hour.  However, an employer may pay an employee a wage that equals 

85% of the State minimum wage for the first six months that the employee is employed if 
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the employee is younger than age 20.  Additionally, an employer of an amusement or a 

recreational establishment, including a swimming pool, that meets specified conditions 

may pay an employee a wage that equals the greater of $7.25 or 85% of the State 

minimum wage. 

 

Altered Applicability of the Maryland Wage and Hour Law  

 

The bill establishes that the State’s Wage and Hour Law applies to an additional industry 

and class of workers, specifically individuals who are (1) age 62 or older and work 

25 hours or less per week or (2) employed in a motion picture theatre.  The bill subjects 

these employees to the provisions of the Wage and Hour Law, including minimum wage 

and overtime requirements.  Additionally, the bill exempts employees of an establishment 

that sells food and drink for on-premises consumption and has an annual gross income of 

$400,000 or less, instead of $250,000 or less, from the State’s Wage and Hour Law. 

 

Changes to Provisions Related to the Payment of Overtime  

 

The bill repeals the provision that exempts certain employers from overtime 

requirements, including hotels; motels; restaurants; gas stations; private country clubs; 

and certain not-for-profit entities that provide temporary at-home care to aged or sick 

individuals, the disabled, or individuals with a mental disorder.   

 

Changes to the Tip Credit  

 

Under the bill, an employer who employs a worker who receives tips may claim a tip 

credit equal to the State minimum wage, less $3.63.  Thus, the tip credit increases as the 

minimum wage increases, and the wage paid by employers to tipped employees remains 

$3.63, as long as their wages plus tips equal the minimum wage. 

 

Penalties 

 

If an employer pays less than the wages required, the employee may bring an action 

against the employer to recover (1) the difference between the wage paid to the employee 

and the wage required; (2) an additional amount equal to the difference as liquidated 

damages; and (3) legal fees.  The court must award these differences in wages, damages, 

and counsel fees if the court determines that an employee is entitled to recovery.  

However, if an employer shows to the satisfaction of the court that the employer acted in 

good faith and reasonably believed that the wages paid to the employee were not less 

than the required wages, then the court must award liquidated damages of an amount less 

than the difference in wages or no liquidated damages.  

  



HB 295/ Page 4 

Developmental Disabilities Providers  

 

Mandated Rate Increases 

 

In fiscal 2016 through 2019, the Governor’s proposed budget for DDA must include an 

annual 3.5% rate increase for community services providers over the funding provided in 

the prior year’s legislative appropriation.  A portion of the funds may be allocated to 

address the impact of an increase in the State minimum wage on wages and benefits of 

direct support workers employed by community providers licensed by DDA.  The 

Governor’s proposed budget for fiscal 2016 and thereafter for community services 

providers must be presented in the same manner as provided for in the fiscal 2015 budget. 

 

Repeal of Disparity Provisions 

 

The bill also repeals obsolete provisions of law regarding the DDA wage initiative, which 

required DHMH to determine the “disparity amount” (the average difference in wages 

and benefits between community direct-service workers and developmental disabilities 

associates or other comparable employees in State residential centers) and incrementally 

increase the rate of reimbursement for community services providers until the disparity 

amount is eliminated. 

 

Current Law:   
 

Maryland Wage and Hour Law 

 

The Maryland Wage and Hour Law is the State complement to the federal Fair Labor 

Standards Act (FLSA) of 1938.  State law sets minimum wage standards to provide a 

maintenance level consistent with the needs of the population.  State law specifies that an 

employee must be paid the greater of the federal minimum wage, which is currently 

$7.25 per hour, or $6.15 per hour.  The State and local governments are considered 

employers under the Wage and Hour Law.    
 

The Maryland Wage and Hour Law, and minimum wage requirements, do not apply to 

certain categories of employees, including those defined as administrative, executive, or 

professional; certain seasonal employees; part-time employees younger than age 16 or 

older than age 61; salesmen and those who work on commission; an employer’s 

immediate family; movie theater employees; employees training in a special education 

program in a public school; employees of an establishment that sells food and drink for 

on-premises consumption; employees employed by an employer who is engaged in 

canning, freezing, packing, or first processing of perishable or seasonal fresh fruits, 

vegetables, poultry, or seafood; and certain farm workers.  Exceptions to the minimum 

wage requirement also exist for training wages and disabled employees of a sheltered 

workshop.   
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Employers are required to pay an overtime wage of at least 1.5 times the usual hourly 

wage.  This requirement does not apply to an employer that is subject to federal rail laws; 

a hotel or motel; a restaurant; a gasoline service station; a bona fide private country club; 

a nonprofit entity primarily engaged in providing temporary at-home care services; a 

nonprofit concert promoter, legitimate theater, music festival, music pavilion, or 

theatrical show; or specified amusement or recreational establishments.  It also does not 

apply to an employee for whom the U.S. Secretary of Transportation sets qualifications 

and maximum hours of service under federal law; a mechanic, parts person, or 

salesperson, under certain conditions; drivers employed by a taxicab operator; or 

specified air carrier employees under certain conditions.  An employer has to compute the 

wage for overtime on the basis of each hour over 40 hours that an employee works during 

one work week.  Specific exemptions apply for farm work, bowling establishments, and 

infirmaries.  
 

The employer of a tipped employee is allowed a tip credit that can be applied against the 

direct wages paid by the employer.  The employee can be paid tipping wages so long as 

the wages plus the tips received equal at least the minimum wage, the employee retains 

all tips, and the employee customarily receives more than $30 a month in tips.  The tip 

credit is currently 50% of the minimum wage or about $3.63 per hour.  
 

If an employer pays less than the wages required, the employee may bring an action 

against the employer to recover the difference between the wage paid to the employee 

and the wage required.  The court may award to an employee legal fees if the court 

determines that an employee is entitled to recovery. 

 

A person who violates the State’s Wage and Hour Law is guilty of a misdemeanor and on 

conviction is subject to a fine of up to $1,000. 

 

Fair Labor Standards Act  

 

With some exceptions, similar to State law, FLSA requires that a worker be paid a 

minimum hourly wage and that overtime compensation be paid to employees who work 

more than 40 hours in a week.  There are two ways in which an employee can be covered 

by FLSA:  “enterprise coverage” and “individual coverage.”  

 

Enterprise Coverage:  Employees who work for certain businesses or organizations are 

covered by FLSA.  These enterprises, which must have at least two employees, are 

(1) those that have an annual dollar volume of sales or business done of at least $500,000 

or (2) hospitals, businesses that provide medical or nursing care, schools and preschools, 

and government agencies.  

 

Individual Coverage:  Even where there is no enterprise coverage, employees may be 

covered by FLSA if their work regularly involves them in interstate commerce.  FLSA 

covers individual workers who are engaged in commerce or in the production of goods 
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for commerce.  Examples of employees who are involved in interstate commerce include 

those who (1) produce goods that will be sent out of state; (2) regularly make telephone 

calls to persons located in other states; (3) handle records of interstate transactions; 

(4) travel to other states for work; or (5) perform janitorial work where goods are 

produced for shipment to another state.  Also, domestic service workers 

(i.e., housekeepers, full-time baby sitters, and cooks) are normally covered by FLSA.  

However, many agricultural workers are not subject to FLSA minimum wage and 

overtime standards.          

 

Developmental Disabilities Providers 

 

DDA must develop and implement a funding system for the distribution of State funds to 

private providers that are under contract with DDA to provide community-based services 

to individuals with disability in accordance with the State plan.  DDA must notify each 

private provider at least 30 days before the beginning of the fiscal year of the billing rate 

or amount of funds to be paid to the provider for the provision of community-based 

services to an individual with developmental disability or a group of individuals with 

developmental disability for the coming fiscal year.  For rates set in regulation, DDA 

must include the cost centers used to determine the funding amount of each rate.  

 

DDA must provide payment to private providers for the services provided (1) on or 

before the third business day of the fiscal quarter beginning July 1, 33% of the total 

annual amount to be paid to the provider; (2) on or before the third business day of the 

fiscal quarter beginning October 1, 25% of the total annual amount to be paid to the 

provider; (3) on or before the third business day of the fiscal quarter beginning 

January 1, 25% of the total annual amount to be paid to the provider; and (4) on or before 

the third business day of the fiscal quarter beginning April 1, 17% of the total annual 

amount to be paid to the provider.  
 

Within one year after receipt of a private provider’s year-end report and cost report for 

rate-based payment systems, DDA must reconcile the report and provide the provider 

with a written approval of the report or a written explanation of any items in dispute.  

DDA must conduct an audit of each private provider every four years.  Private providers 

must provide the year-end report to DDA no later than six months after the end of the 

State fiscal year.  Private providers must submit to DDA specified cost reports and wage 

surveys. 

 

Background:  As shown in Exhibit 1, 21 states and the District of Columbia mandate a 

minimum wage higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.  Five states 

have no mandated minimum wage, another four have a minimum wage set lower than the 

federal minimum wage, and the remaining states, like Maryland, use the federal 

minimum wage.  Unless a state has a higher minimum wage rate, the federal minimum 

wage rate applies. 
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Exhibit 1 

States with Higher than Federal Minimum Wage, 2014 

         
State  Rate Increases and Indexation 

Washington  $9.32  Increases annually based on inflation 

Oregon $9.10  Increases annually based on inflation 

Vermont $8.73  Increases annually by 5% or the percentage increase of the CPI 

Connecticut $8.70  Automatically increases to 0.5% above federal minimum wage if the federal 

rate equals or becomes higher than the state minimum 

District of 

Columbia 

$8.25  Automatically increases to $1.00 above federal rate if the federal rate equals 

or becomes higher than the district minimum 

Illinois $8.25   

Nevada $8.25  Increases annually based on inflation 

New Jersey $8.25 Increases annually based on inflation 

California $8.00  Phasing up to $10.00 by January 2016 

Colorado $8.00  Increases annually based on inflation 

Massachusetts $8.00  Automatically increases to $0.10 above federal rate if the federal rate     

equals or becomes higher than the state minimum 

New York $8.00 Phasing up to $9.00 by January 2016 

Rhode Island $8.00   

Ohio $7.95  Increases annually based on inflation 

Florida $7.93  Increases annually based on cost-of-living formula 

Arizona $7.90  Increases annually based on cost-of-living formula 

Montana $7.90  Increases or decreases annually based on inflation 

Alaska $7.75   

Maine $7.50   

Missouri $7.50  Increases or decreases annually based on cost-of-living formula 

New Mexico $7.50   

Michigan $7.40   

 
Source:  U.S. Department of Labor; National Conference of State Legislatures 

 

 

Federal Minimum Wage 

 

The federal minimum wage first established in 1938 has been incrementally increased 

and expanded to cover additional employees through subsequent amendments to FLSA.  

The last increase in the federal minimum wage was in July 2009.  Recently, bills have 

been introduced in the U.S. Congress proposing to gradually increase the minimum wage 

to $10.10 an hour and then index the minimum wage to the Consumer Price Index (CPI), 

but none has been enacted.  Exhibit 2 shows the nominal and real values for each time 
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the minimum wage was changed, expressed in terms of July 2013 dollars.  The real value 

reflects the purchasing power of the minimum wage, taking inflation into consideration.  

When Maryland established a minimum wage rate of $6.15 in January 2006, the real 

value of the minimum wage then was $7.46, in 2013 dollars.   

 

 

Exhibit 2 

Federal Minimum Wage in Real and Nominal Dollars 

1938-2013 

 

 
 

Source:  Congressional Research Service 

 

 

Local Jurisdiction Labor Laws 

 

Charter counties have the authority to establish a local minimum wage rate under the 

Express Powers Act.  Currently, 10 counties exercise charter home rule:  Anne Arundel, 

Baltimore, Cecil, Dorchester, Harford, Howard, Montgomery, Prince George’s, Talbot, 

and Wicomico, with Frederick County changing to charter home rule on 

December 1, 2014.  Additionally, Baltimore City has police power, so it can establish and 

enforce a local minimum wage rate.  Counties that exercise commission or code home 

rule have not been delegated the police power that charter counties and Baltimore City 

have, so they lack the legal authority to establish a local minimum wage.   

 

Montgomery County and Prince George’s County passed local minimum wage laws in 

2013, Montgomery County Bill 27-13 and Prince George’s County Bill CB-94-2013.  

Both bills phase in minimum wage increases over four years.  The bills increase the 

minimum wage to $8.40 per hour beginning October 1, 2014; $9.55 per hour beginning 

October 1, 2015; $10.75 per hour beginning October 1, 2016; and $11.50 per hour 
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beginning October 1, 2017.  The county minimum wages for Montgomery and 

Prince George’s counties do not apply to an employee who is exempt from the minimum 

wage requirements of the Maryland Wage and Hour Law or the federal FLSA or to an 

employee who is younger than age 19 and is employed no more than 20 hours in a week.   

 

Baltimore City enacted a city minimum wage rate in 1964, which was challenged in the 

State Court of Appeals in Mayor of Baltimore v. Sitnick, 254 Md. 303, 255 A.2d 376 

(1969).  The court found that the State’s minimum wage rate did not preempt Baltimore’s 

minimum wage law since Baltimore’s law supplemented the State law by setting a higher 

rate.  Baltimore still has its own minimum wage statute, but it currently sets the minimum 

wage rate at the federal rate. 

 

Characteristics of Minimum Wage Workers 

 

The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) and the U.S. Census Bureau conduct the 

Current Population Survey (CPS), which includes tabulating characteristics on minimum 

wage earners.  In 2012, 3.6 million workers nationwide were paid wages at or below the 

minimum wage, representing 4.7% of all hourly paid workers. 

 

According to CPS, minimum wage workers tend to be young.  About half of all workers 

earning minimum wage or less were younger than 25, and about 21% of teenagers 

earning hourly wages were paid the minimum wage or less.  Among hourly wage 

workers without a high school diploma, approximately 10% earned the federal minimum 

wage or less.  About 11% of part-time workers earning an hourly wage were paid the 

federal minimum wage or less, compared with about 2% of full-time workers.  

 

BLS reports 67,000 workers in Maryland earned wages equal to or less than the federal 

minimum wage in 2012.  Of those earning minimum wage or less, 61% were women.  In 

the last decade, the percent of workers in Maryland earning at or below federal minimum 

wage has increased from 2.1% in 2003 to 5% in 2012, while, over the same time, median 

hourly earnings overall have risen from $12.08 to $14.17.   

 

Minimum Wage Effects on the Economy 

 

There is much debate on how raising the minimum wage affects the economy.  Positive 

impacts on the economy may include (1) increases in personal income; (2) decreases in 

employee turnover; (3) increases in local consumption; (4) higher labor force 

participation rates; (5) decreases in social welfare costs; and (6) higher levels of 

technological development, investment, and productivity. 

 

However, on the downside, raising the minimum wage may (1) decrease demand for 

labor; (2) increase inflation from employers passing higher employee costs onto the 

consumer; (3) cause wage compression; (4) reduce local competitiveness; and (5) have 

disemployment effects.  The disemployment effects happen when businesses hire fewer 
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low-wage workers in response to an increase in the minimum wage; benefits to low-wage 

workers from increased wages are offset by a reduction in hours worked or increased 

unemployment.  

 

DDA Reimbursement of Providers 

 

In recent years, DDA faced significant budgetary problems and numerous federal and 

State audit findings, largely due to the administration’s inability to accurately forecast 

and monitor expenditures.  DDA has pursued an enhanced budget projection 

methodology and has executed a contract with a national firm specializing in turnaround 

and interim management services to address operational challenges.  Furthermore, 

DHMH advises that DDA will develop a new approach to rate setting.  Despite these and 

other efforts, DDA’s budgeting issues are likely to remain unresolved until weaknesses in 

the current provider payment system are addressed.  

 

DDA’s current payment system, adopted in 1987 and codified in 1994, is prospective in 

nature; that is, the system estimates the costs that a provider will incur in the coming 

fiscal year to serve its clients.  DDA pays these costs to providers upfront before the 

services are actually provided.  Providers then submit documentation of their expenses, 

and, at the end of the year, providers and DDA use audited cost reports to reconcile actual 

costs with the prospective payments.  If actual costs are less than the prospective 

payments, a provider must reimburse DDA; conversely, if actual costs are greater than 

the prospective payments, DDA must reimburse the provider. The prospective nature of 

DDA’s provider payment process makes budget forecasting more difficult.  Because 

payments are issued one quarter in advance, payments may differ from actual expenses.  

Inevitably, DDA will have overpaid or underpaid providers at the close of each year.  

Since the current system was adopted, DDA has encountered significant budgeting 

difficulties resulting in significant surpluses and, correspondingly, the reversion and/or 

cancellation of funds, as well as significant deficits. 

 

Chapters 109 and 110 of 2001 required DHMH to increase the rate of reimbursement for 

community services providers to eliminate the wage disparity between State and private 

direct-service workers.  Rates were to be increased by an amount that reduced the 

disparity amount to (1) 80% by July 1, 2002; (2) 62% by July 1, 2003; (3) 40% by 

July 1, 2004; and (4) 20% by July 1, 2005, with the disparity amount eliminated by 

July 1, 2006.  All increases in reimbursement were required to be used to directly 

increase compensation of direct-service workers.  In total, $81 million was appropriated 

through the wage initiative from fiscal 2003 to 2007.  Nevertheless, it remains unclear as 

to whether the initiative was successful in reaching its goal.  The Community Services 

Rates Reimbursement Commission (CSRRC) and DDA were required to annually survey 

community services providers to determine if the funds successfully reduced the wage 

disparity; however, there were inconsistencies throughout the data.  Additionally, a 

certain amount of the wage increase was provided to direct-service workers as a bonus, 

rather than a salary adjustment, compromising the efforts to permanently increase the 
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salaries of direct-service workers.  Though also intended to increase the fringe benefits 

package for direct-service workers, in practice the initiative did little to improve benefits 

for direct-service workers.    

 

The fiscal 2015 budget, as enacted, includes $934.4 million (total funds) for contractual 

expenses for DDA community services providers.  The Department of Legislative 

Services advises that, in recent years, DDA community services providers have received 

rate increases.  Chapters 497 and 498 of 2010 require DHMH to provide an annual 

inflationary cost adjustment for DDA (and mental hygiene) providers equivalent to the 

increase in the Executive Branch for certain cost centers.  Indeed, the fiscal 2015 budget 

includes a 4.0% mid-year rate increase in fiscal 2015 for DDA providers, which equates 

to a 2.0% annual rate increase for that year.     

 

State Revenues:  General fund tax revenues increase minimally from increasing the 

State’s minimum wage.  Individuals earning minimum wage likely have low, if any, State 

income tax liability so raising the minimum wage only has a small effect on State income 

tax revenues.  Given that raising the minimum wage boosts the purchasing power of 

minimum wage workers and generates new consumer spending, general fund sales tax 

revenues increase minimally.  To the extent that payroll spending for employers 

increases, general fund tax revenues from employers may decrease as they can deduct 

payroll from taxable income. 

 

DLLR anticipates investigating more violations of the State’s Wage and Hour Law under 

the bill, so general fund revenues may increase minimally due to additional fines assessed 

against violators of the State’s Wage and Hour Law. 

 

State Expenditures:     
 

Expanded Enforcement of Wage and Hour Law Required  

 

By expanding the applicability of the State’s Wage and Hour Law and increasing the 

State’s minimum wage, the bill creates additional enforcement responsibilities for 

DLLR’s Division of Labor and Industry.  DLLR has not exercised its authority to 

investigate complaints about minimum wage payments and overtime compensation and 

to review wage records to enforce compliance since the budget cuts of 1991 effectively 

reduced available staff for this purpose from 34 to 6.  Instead, since State and federal 

laws are similar, it has been referring complainants to the Employment Standards 

Administration at the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL).  DOL investigators enforce 

FLSA, not the State’s Wage and Hour Law, so DLLR would be responsible for pursuing 

complaints against employers accused of paying employees more than the federal wage 

of $7.25 but less than the State wage. 
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DLLR cannot absorb the additional workload within existing resources and requires 

additional staffing to respond to the increase in complaints due to the expanded 

applicability of the State’s Wage and Hour Law.    

 

The staff needed to respond to and manage the additional workload created by the bill 

includes an assistant Attorney General, an administrator, three full-time “wage and hour” 

investigators, two contractual “wage and hour” investigators, and one office clerk.  

DLLR advises that inquiries into wage and hour violations are expected to increase 

significantly due to the bill because the State minimum wage will be set at a higher rate 

than the federal minimum wage (unless that rate changes correspondingly).  Moreover, 

the bill significantly alters application of the Maryland Wage and Hour Law.  DLLR 

estimates that at least 6,830 additional inquiries would be made and at least 

1,620 complaints alleging minimum wage or overtime violations would be filed in the 

first few years.  Based on prior experience, DLLR advises that the majority of employers 

in violation will voluntarily come into compliance with the bill’s provisions after being 

contacted by division staff.  However, at least 90 new formalized complaints must likely 

be investigated and processed each year by the division, with 10 of them requiring action 

in the court of appropriate jurisdiction.  DLLR anticipates higher compliance of wage and 

hour laws in later years, so the contractual investigators are needed for five years. 

 

In addition to investigating and processing complaints, DLLR advises that the additional 

staff will conduct outreach efforts to inform employers of the new requirements.  Finally, 

additional administrative support is needed to handle phone and email inquiries, prepare 

and file wage orders, handle equipment and supplies, and manage complaint files.  Legal 

staff is needed to provide advice, review wage orders, and plead cases. 

 

General fund expenditures increase for DLLR by $312,122 in fiscal 2015, which assumes 

DLLR staff are in place as of January 1, 2015, concurrent with the initial increase in the 

minimum wage.  This estimate reflects the cost of hiring three investigators, 

two contractual investigators, one office clerk, one assistant Attorney General, and 

one administrator to investigate complaints and enforce the State’s Wage and Hour Law.  

It reflects funding included in the fiscal 2015 budget (contingent on enactment of this 

bill) and includes salaries, fringe benefits, one-time start-up costs, ongoing operating 

expenses, and other equipment. 

 

Regular Positions 6 

Contractual Positions 2  

Salaries and Fringe Benefits  $215,216 

One-time Start-up Costs  39,100 

Ongoing Operating Expenses  16,677 

Other Equipment    41,129 

Total FY 2015 State Expenditures  $312,122 
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Future year expenditures reflect full salaries with annual increases and employee turnover 

as well as annual increases in ongoing operating expenses. 

 

This estimate does not include any health insurance costs that could be incurred for the 

specified contractual employees under the State’s implementation of the federal Patient 

Protection and Affordable Care Act. 

 

Additional Staffing Costs  

 

The Department of Budget and Management (DBM) advises that, on rare occasions, it 

employs summer and work study student workers who earn minimum wage.  Any 

additional cost for these individuals is minimal and can be absorbed with existing 

resources.  Also, DBM advises that MDoA currently employs 154 part-time senior citizen 

aides who are paid the minimum wage; MDoA will, therefore, incur increased wage 

payments.  However, this cost is fully offset by an increase in federal fund revenues of 

$60,225 in fiscal 2015 as the aides are paid with federal funds.  Additionally, DBM 

advises that several hundred contractual and temporary employees, primarily within the 

Department of Natural Resources and DHMH, are affected by the bill.  Expenditures (all 

funds) increase by as much as $19,500 in fiscal 2015 and by as much as $149,500 in 

fiscal 2019 (when fully phased in) for these contractual and temporary employees, 

depending on employee turnover.  The overall impact on other State departments for 

contractual and temporary employees is likely minimal, and any such impact has not been 

accounted for in this estimate. 

 

USM advises that 2,413 student employees are currently paid minimum wage, and 

7,466 employees, of which the vast majority are students, earn hourly wages below 

$10.10.  Higher education expenditures increase by $1.1 million in fiscal 2015 as these 

employees must be paid higher wages.  Other public higher education institutions are 

likely similarly affected but have not been accounted for in this estimate.  DLS pays 

workers above $8.00 per hour so there is no impact in fiscal 2015, but DLS incurs 

minimal additional costs in later years to pay additional wages, which can be absorbed 

with existing resources.  The Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) pays 

six part-time student interns minimum wage.  This additional cost is minimal, and MDOT 

advises it can be absorbed with existing resources.   

 

Exhibit 3 displays the additional wages that would be paid to State employees under the 

bill.  As depicted in Exhibit 3, expenditures increase by at least $1.1 million in 

fiscal 2015.  Expenditures further increase in future years as the minimum wage 

increases.  All estimates assume a State minimum wage that is higher than the federal 

minimum wage.  
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Exhibit 3 

Effect of Minimum Wage on State Employees 

Fiscal 2015-2019 

 
Additional Staffing Costs FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018 FY 2019 

Senior citizen aides $60,200  $160,600  $240,900  $321,200  $457,700  

USM employees 1,069,800  3,126,000  5,305,800  7,770,600  12,561,800  

DNR contractual staff 10,700  23,000  40,800  54,000  82,200  

DHMH contractual staff 8,800  18,800  33,400  44,100  67,300  

  

     Increase in Expenditures $1,149,500  $3,328,300  $5,620,800  $8,189,900  $13,169,000  

  
     

Federal Fund Revenues $60,200  $160,600  $240,900  $321,200  $457,700  

  
     

Net Increase in Expenditures $1,089,300  $3,167,700  $5,379,900  $7,868,700  $12,711,300  
 

Notes:  Dollar amounts are rounded to the nearest one hundred dollars.  Numbers may not sum to total due to 

rounding.  

 

Source:  Department of Legislative Services 

 

 

Mandated Rate Increases for DDA Community Services Providers 

 

The bill establishes a mandated appropriation beginning in fiscal 2016.  In fiscal 2016 

through 2019, the Governor’s proposed budget for DDA must include an annual 3.5% 

rate increase for community services providers over the funding provided in the prior 

year’s legislative appropriation.  A portion of the funds may be allocated to address the 

impact of an increase in the State minimum wage on wages and benefits of direct support 

workers employed by community providers licensed by DDA.  

 

DDA expenditures increase by an estimated $32.7 million (56% general funds, 44% 

federal funds) in fiscal 2016 up to $139.8 million (56% general funds, 44% federal funds) 

in fiscal 2019 to provide the mandated 3.5% rate increase to community providers.  

(Federal fund revenues increase correspondingly.)  The compounding effect of the 3.5% 

rate increase on expenditures for fiscal 2016 through 2019 is shown in Exhibit 4.  The 

fiscal 2015 budget includes $934.4 million (total funds) for contractual expenses for 

DDA community services providers.   
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Exhibit 4 

Impact of Annual 3.5% Rate Increase for Developmental Disabilities Providers 

Fiscal 2016-2019 

($ in Millions) 

 

 FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018 FY 2019 

General Fund Expenditures $18.3 $37.6 $57.6 $78.3 

Federal Fund Expenditures 14.4 29.6 45.3 61.5 

Total Expenditures $32.7 $67.2 $102.9 $139.8 
 

Source:  Department of Legislative Services 

 

 

However, the Department of Legislative Services advises that, in recent years, DDA 

community services providers have received rate increases.  Chapters 497 and 498 of 

2010 require DHMH to provide an annual inflationary cost adjustment for DDA and 

mental hygiene providers equivalent to the increase in the Executive Branch for certain 

cost centers.  Indeed, the fiscal 2015 budget includes a 4.0% mid-year rate increase in 

fiscal 2015 for DDA providers, which equates to a 2.0% annual rate increase for that 

year.  Nevertheless, because the Office of the Attorney General advises that the existing 

requirement is not a mandate, for purposes of this analysis, the full cost of the 3.5% rate 

increase mandated under the bill is included in the estimate.  To the extent a 2.0% rate 

increase otherwise would be provided in future years, DDA expenditures for community 

services would have increased by $18.7 million (total funds) in fiscal 2016 and 

$78.1 million (total funds) in fiscal 2019 absent this bill.  For illustrative purposes only, 

the total cumulative effect of a 2.0% rate increase over four years would be 

$192.9 million compared with $342.6 million for the 3.5% rate increase mandated under 

the bill.  

 

Serving individuals in the community continues to be the model of service delivery 

pursued by DDA.  Accordingly, DDA’s Community Services Program has experienced 

significant budgetary growth in recent years, in large part due to expansion of services, 

including the Transitioning Youth Program, crisis services, emergency services, 

court-involved placements, and Waiting List Equity Fund placements.  Community 

services are typically expanded every year.  In each of the past two years, community 

services have been expanded by approximately $40 million annually (total funds).   

 

The estimated cost of the mandated 3.5% annual rate increase does not reflect the impact 

associated with any additional expansion of community services.  To the extent 

additional community services are provided, expenditures increase further. 
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Local Fiscal Effect:  The Maryland Association of Counties estimates county personnel 

costs increase between $50,000 and $100,000 for counties with a population of fewer 

than 150,000 residents and greater increases for larger counties.  Some local jurisdictions, 

such as Baltimore City and Queen Anne’s County, require their employees to be paid 

according to living wage provisions.  Even counties without living wage provisions tend 

to pay employees above minimum wage.  Allegany County has very few employees who 

are paid minimum wage, so it expects less than a 0.1% increase in the county’s total 

salaries and fringe expenditures.  Thus, many local jurisdictions currently pay all 

employees wages higher than those required by the bill.  However, several local 

jurisdictions surveyed indicate that some government employees are paid the current 

minimum wage or less than the eventual State minimum of $10.10.  Wicomico County 

estimates expenditures increase by less than $15,500 in fiscal 2015 and by $180,000 in 

fiscal 2019 (when fully phased in) to pay employees additional wages. 

 

Montgomery and Prince George’s counties have local minimum wages set above the 

minimum wage rates proposed in the bill.  The local minimum wage rate does not apply 

to State employees, employees in certain municipalities, and employees who are younger 

than age 19 and work no more than 20 hours in a week, so the bill does not affect many 

employees in Montgomery and Prince George’s counties.  However, Montgomery and 

Prince George’s counties pay employees at the Maryland-National Capital Park and 

Planning Commission, which is a bi-county agency empowered by the State, so, 

according to the commission’s legal opinion, its employees are exempt from the local 

minimum wage laws.  Under the bill, expenditures for Montgomery and Prince George’s 

counties increase by $46,000 in fiscal 2015 to pay additional wages to 869 commission 

employees and by $1.3 million in fiscal 2019 to pay additional wages to 

2,845 employees.  

 

The Town of Bladensburg estimates seven summer interns in the youth summer 

employment program are affected, with the town paying additional wages of 

approximately $3,500 in fiscal 2019.  The Town of Berlin estimates expenditures 

increase minimally in fiscal 2015 to pay 10 seasonal employees additional wages.          

 

Small Business Effect:  Small businesses that employ minimum wage workers in the 

State experience increases in their labor costs due to the bill.  The Economic Policy 

Institute (EPI) estimates, when the bill is fully phased in, 304,000 Maryland workers 

directly benefit from the bill since the new minimum wage exceeds their current wage.  

Additionally, 151,000 Maryland workers indirectly benefit because employers are likely 

to give raises to those who are making just above the new minimum wage in order to 

preserve their internal wage ladder.  Thus, EPI estimates that nearly 500,000 Maryland 

workers receive additional wages (totaling more than $700 million) directly and 

indirectly over the phase-in period.  The effect of such increases is especially meaningful 

for employers who were previously not subject to the Wage and Hour Law.    
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Exhibit 5 lists the number of Maryland workers that are paid up to $10.10 per hour as of 

December 2013, according to data accessed through CPS.  These numbers provide a 

snapshot of Maryland and may not accurately portray the number of seasonal employees 

who earn $10.10 or less per hour.  Additionally, not all of these individuals would receive 

an increase in wages, as some are not covered by FLSA or State law or work for a unit of 

government. 

    

 

Exhibit 5 

Number of Employees Earning $10.10 or Less Per Hour 

December 2013 
 

 
$7.25 or less $7.25-$8.20 $8.21-$9.15 $9.16-$10.10 Total 

Maryland Workers 57,500 122,860 96,385 57,706 334,451 

 
Source:  Current Population Survey 

 

 

To the extent that higher wages increase worker productivity, businesses would be less 

affected by the provisions of the bill.  Additionally, minimum wage workers tend to have 

a low saving rate so increasing their wages could lead to additional consumer spending 

for small businesses. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  A similar bill, HB 1204 of 2013, received a hearing in the House 

Economic Matters Committee, but no further action was taken.  Its cross file, SB 683, 

received an unfavorable report from the Senate Finance Committee. 

 

Cross File:  SB 331 (The President, et al.) (By Request - Administration) - Finance and 

Budget and Taxation. 

 

Information Source(s):  Allegany, Harford, Montgomery, Talbot, and Wicomico 

counties; Baltimore City; towns of Berlin and Bladensburg; cities of College Park, 

Frostburg, and Rockville; Maryland Association of Counties; Department of Budget and 

Management; Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Department of Labor, 

Licensing, and Regulation; Maryland Department of Transportation; University System 

of Maryland; Congressional Research Service; U.S. Department of Labor; U.S. Census 

Bureau; Economic Policy Institute; National Conference of State Legislatures; 

Department of Legislative Services 
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Revised - House Third Reader/Updated Information - March 24, 
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Analysis by:   Heather N. Ruby  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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  ANALYSIS OF ECONOMIC IMPACT ON SMALL BUSINESSES 
 

 

TITLE OF BILL: Minimum Wage Act of 2014 

 

BILL NUMBER: Senate Bill 331/House Bill 295 

 

 

PREPARED BY: Governor’s Legislative Office 

     

 

PART A.  ECONOMIC IMPACT RATING 

 

This agency estimates that the proposed bill: 
 

__ __ WILL HAVE MINIMAL OR NO ECONOMIC IMPACT ON MARYLAND SMALL 

BUSINESS 

 

OR 

 

  X      WILL HAVE MEANINGFUL ECONOMIC IMPACT ON MARYLAND SMALL 

BUSINESSES 

     

PART B.  ECONOMIC IMPACT ANALYSIS 

 

Small Business Effect: Small businesses that employ low-wage workers in the State 

experience increases in their labor costs due to the bill.  The Economic Policy Institute 

(EPI) estimates 455,000 Maryland workers (at businesses of all sizes) will receive $721 

million in additional wages over the phase-in period.   

 

Small businesses will also benefit from increased consumer demand due to the higher 

minimum wage.  EPI estimates that the increased wages will generate more than $456 

million in new economic activity over the phase-in period and will create or support 

1,600 new jobs as businesses expand to meet increased demand. 
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