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Economic Matters   

 

Business Regulation - Collection Agency - Definition 
 

 

This bill alters the definition of “collection agency” to make certain provisions of law 

relating to the licensing of collection agencies applicable to a person who engages in 

passive debt collection.  The bill defines “passive debt collection” as (1) for investment 

purposes, acquiring a consumer claim at the time of acquisition and (2) directly or 

indirectly collecting the debt, including through civil litigation. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  None.  The bill clarifies current law. 

  

Local Effect:  None. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  A person must have a license from the State Collection Agency 

Licensing Board whenever the person does business as a collection agency, generally 

defined as engaging, either directly or indirectly, in the business of (1) collecting a 

consumer claim;  (2) collecting a consumer claim acquired when the claim was in default; 

(3) collecting a consumer claim using a name or other artifice that indicates that another 

party is attempting to collect a consumer claim; (4) using a system of forms that indicates 

that a person other than the owner is asserting a consumer claim; and (5) employing 

services to solicit a collection system to be used for collection of a consumer claim.  A 

“consumer claim” is defined as a claim for money owed or said to be owned by a resident 
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of the State that arises from a transaction in which a private party sought credit, money, 

property, or services. 

 

The following entities are excluded from the license requirement (1) a regular employee 

of a creditor while the employee is acting under the general direction and control of the 

creditor to collect a consumer claim that the creditor owns and (2) a regular employee of 

a licensed collection agency while the employee is acting within the scope of 

employment. 

 

An applicant for a license must submit an application under oath and pay a fee set by the 

board, capped at $900 for a two-year term.  (The current fee is set at $700 by regulation.)  

An applicant is also required to execute a $5,000 surety bond for the benefit of any 

member of the public who has a loss or other damage as the result of a violation of the 

Maryland Collection Agency Licensing Act or the Maryland Consumer Debt Collection 

Act.  The board may deny a license if an applicant fraudulently uses or attempts to obtain 

a license or if the applicant or an associate has had a license revoked.  Licenses are 

generally valid for a period of two years. 

 

A person may not do business as a collection agency without a State license.  A person 

who violates this law is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to a fine of 

up to $1,000 or imprisonment for up to six months or both. 

 

In Finch v. LVNV Funding LLC, No. 704 (September Term, 2012), the Maryland Court 

of Special Appeals concluded that a collection agency’s failure to obtain a license renders 

any judgment entered in favor of an unlicensed collection agency void. 

 

Background:  Chapter 472 of 2007 required debt buyer, or “debt purchaser,” 

transactions to be subject to State Collection Agency Licensing regulations.  According 

to the Maryland State Collection Agency Licensing Board, which issued an advisory 

opinion on the subject in 2010, a debt purchaser that collects consumer claims through 

civil litigation is included in Chapter 472.  The activity also falls under the federal Fair 

Debt Collection Practices Act. 

 

The Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation advises that the State Collection 

Agency Licensing Board currently regulates 1,671 collection agencies.  The department 

estimates that the bill maintains the licensure requirement for 125 debt purchasers subject 

to State regulation. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 
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Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Office of the Attorney General; Department of Labor, 

Licensing, and Regulation; Court of Special Appeals of Maryland; Department of 

Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 10, 2014 

Revised - Correction - February 12, 2014 
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Analysis by:   Joshua A. Lowery  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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