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Health Occupations - Board of Physicians - Reinstatement of Licenses

This bill requires the State Board of Physicians (MBP) to reconsider the suspension or
revocation of a physician’s license under specified circumstances. If an order of
suspension or revocation is based solely on the ground that the physician was disciplined
by a licensing or disciplinary authority in another state and that authority reinstates the
license, MBP, on request of the physician, must reconsider the suspension or revocation
of the physician’s Maryland license.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: To the extent the bill requires MBP to reconsider cases it would not
otherwise reconsider, special fund expenditures may increase by a minimal amount.

Local Effect: None.
Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: Subject to hearing provisions, a disciplinary panel of MBP may
reprimand any licensee, place any licensee on probation, or suspend or revoke a license if
a licensee violates any 1 of 41 statutory disciplinary grounds. One such ground
(Ground 21) is if the licensee is disciplined by a licensing or disciplinary authority or
convicted or disciplined by a court of any state or country or disciplined by any branch of
the United States uniformed services or the Veterans’ Administration for an act that
would be grounds for disciplinary action in Maryland. Ground 21 cases are also known
as “reciprocal actions.”



A license may only be reinstated in accordance with the terms and conditions of the order
of suspension or revocation, an order of reinstatement issued by the panel, or a final
judgment in any proceeding for review. An individual seeking reinstatement must meet
the continuing medical education requirements for license renewal as if the individual
were licensed during the period of suspension or revocation and pay any fines assessed
by the board. If an order of suspension or revocation is based on a conviction for or
guilty plea regarding a crime of moral turpitude and the conviction or plea subsequently
Is overturned, the suspension or revocation ends when the conviction or plea is
overturned.  Postdisciplinary procedures for reinstatement are further outlined in
regulation (Code of Maryland Regulations 10.32.02.06).

Following an order of suspension, an individual may petition the board for reinstatement
only when the specified period of suspension is completed. If termination of a
suspension is contingent on the happening of an event, the licensee must demonstrate the
event has occurred.

Following the revocation or surrender of a license, an individual must submit a written
application for reinstatement, a reinstatement fee (currently $550 to $650 depending on
whether the physician was eligible for renewal in the previous year), written responses to
any questions the board may propose, and evidence of the completion of continuing
medical education credits to the same extent as if the individual had been continuously
licensed. If a license was revoked or surrendered while the licensee was under
Investigation or subject to disciplinary charges, the board may not consider the
application for reinstatement unless (1) the specified time period has expired or (2) at
least three years have passed since the date of the order and any contingent conditions
have been met.

A reinstatement inquiry panel may conduct an informal inquiry and must make a
recommendation to the full board. The full board must consider the reinstatement
application, the licensee’s responses to the written questions, and the supporting
documentation and written arguments submitted, as well as the reinstatement inquiry
panel’s recommendation, and determine if reinstatement is in the interest of the health
and welfare of the general public and consistent with the best interests of the profession.
The board must issue a final written order on the reinstatement application. The order
may (1) reinstate the license without conditions; (2) reinstate the license with one or more
conditions such as probation, supervision requirements, or limitations on practice; or
(3) deny reinstatement. A board decision denying reinstatement may set out when, if
ever, a subsequent petition for reinstatement may be submitted.

Background: When a physician’s license is suspended, the physician is still licensed in
the State but cannot practice until the order of suspension is terminated. An order of
suspension based on Ground 21 typically mirrors the order of suspension taken in the
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originating jurisdiction. According to the board, the order specifies the terms for the
order to be lifted (typically, that the order terminates when the disciplinary action in the
other jurisdiction is resolved). If and when the originating jurisdiction ends the
suspension or reinstates the license, the board receives notification from the Federation of
State Medical Boards within 30 to 45 days. Upon receipt of this information, board staff
terminates the suspension of the physician’s Maryland license, provided the license has
been actively maintained. No additional board action is required.

Conversely, when a physician’s license is revoked, the physician is no longer licensed in
Maryland and must petition the board for reinstatement according to postdisciplinary
reinstatement procedures described above.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Department of
Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - January 27, 2014
ncs/ljm Revised - Senate Third Reader - March 15, 2014

Analysis by: Jennifer B. Chasse Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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