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Commissioner of Labor and Industry - Authority - Enforcement of Local
Minimum Wage Laws

This bill requires the Commissioner of Labor and Industry to enforce a local minimum
wage law. The commissioner has the same powers and duties in enforcing a local
minimum wage law as the commissioner has in enforcing the State’s Wage and Hour
Law. The commissioner, on his own initiative or on receipt of a written complaint, may
investigate whether a local minimum wage law has been violated. Additionally, the
commissioner may delegate any power or duty of the commissioner to enforce a local
minimum wage law.

The bill takes effect June 1, 2014.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: General fund expenditures for the Department of Labor, Licensing, and
Regulation (DLLR) increase by $359,900 in FY 2015 due to additional staffing needs.
General fund revenues may increase minimally due to additional fines assessed against
violators of local minimum wage laws.

(in dollars) FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018 FY 2019
Revenues $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
GF Expenditure 359,900 408,500 426,800 445,900 465,900
Net Effect ($359,900) ($408,500) ($426,800) ($445,900) ($465,900)

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect

Local Effect: Expenditures for Montgomery and Prince George’s counties decrease
from no longer having to enforce their local minimum wage laws. Revenues from
imposition of fines also decrease.



Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: In response to complaints received, the Commissioner of Labor and
Industry may investigate all labor laws enacted in Title 3 of the Labor and Employment
Article. Additionally, the commissioner may investigate, on the commissioner’s own
initiative, labor laws involving the employment of minors, the State’s Wage and Hour
Law, and workplace fraud. If the commissioner determines that specified labor laws
have been violated, the commissioner must try to resolve the issue informally by
mediation or ask the Attorney General to bring an action on behalf of the applicant or
employee.

Maryland Wage and Hour Law

The Maryland Wage and Hour Law is the State complement to the federal Fair Labor
Standards Act (FLSA) of 1938. State law sets minimum wage standards to provide a
maintenance level consistent with the needs of the population. State law specifies that an
employee must be paid the greater of the federal minimum wage, which is currently
$7.25 per hour, or $6.15 per hour. The State and local governments are considered
employers under the Wage and Hour Law.

The Maryland Wage and Hour Law, and minimum wage requirements, do not apply to
certain categories of employees, including those defined as administrative, executive, or
professional; certain seasonal employees; part-time employees younger than age 16 or
older than age 61; salesmen and those who work on commission; an employer’s
immediate family; movie theater employees; employees training in a special education
program in a public school; employees of an establishment that sells food and drink for
on-premises consumption; employees employed by an employer who is engaged in
canning, freezing, packing, or first processing of perishable or seasonal fresh fruits,
vegetables, poultry, or seafood; and certain farm workers. Exceptions to the minimum
wage requirement also exist for training wages and disabled employees of a sheltered
workshop.

The Commissioner of Labor and Industry must enforce the State’s Wage and Hour Law.
The commissioner may delegate any power or duty of the commissioner relating to the
State’s Wage and Hour Law. The commissioner is authorized to ascertain wages,
negotiate with employers to obtain evidence of a wage and hour violation, issue
subpoenas under specified circumstances, inspect employers’ wage records, and ask the
Attorney General to bring an action on behalf of a job applicant or employee. If an
employer pays less than the wages required, the employee may bring an action against
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the employer to recover the difference between the wage paid to the employee and the
wage required. The court may award to an employee legal fees if the court determines
that an employee is entitled to recovery.

A person who violates the State’s Wage and Hour Law is guilty of a misdemeanor and on
conviction is subject to a fine of up to $1,000.

Local Jurisdiction Labor Laws

Maryland counties operate under three forms of government: commission; charter home
rule; and code home rule. Commission counties cannot enact local laws in areas where
the General Assembly has not expressly granted authority, while charter counties have
the authority to enact local laws. Code counties have authority to enact some local laws,
but their power is not as extensive as charter home rule so the General Assembly must
pass some local laws for code counties.

Charter counties have the authority to establish a local minimum wage rate under the
Express Powers Act. The act grants a charter county council the authority to pass any
ordinance, resolution, or bylaw, not inconsistent with State law, which may aid in
executing and enforcing powers under the Express Powers Act or may aid in maintaining
the peace, good government, health, and welfare of the county. A charter county may
exercise these powers to the extent that the powers are not preempted by or in conflict
with public general law. Currently, 10 counties exercise charter home rule.

Counties that exercise commission or code home rule have not been delegated the police
power that charter counties have, so they lack the legal authority to establish a local
minimum wage. Baltimore City has police power, so it can establish and enforce a local
minimum wage rate. Exhibit 1 shows the form of government for each Maryland
county.

Montgomery County and Prince George’s County passed local minimum wage laws in
2013, Montgomery County Bill 27-13 and Prince George’s County Bill CB-94-2013.
Both bills phase in minimum wage increases over four years. The bills increase the
minimum wage to $8.40 per hour beginning October 1, 2014; $9.55 per hour beginning
October 1, 2015; $10.75 per hour beginning October 1, 2016; and $11.50 per hour
beginning October 1, 2017. The county minimum wage for Montgomery and
Prince George’s counties do not apply to an employee who is exempt from the minimum
wage requirements of the Maryland Wage and Hour Law or the federal FLSA or to an
employee who is younger than age 19 and is employed no more than 20 hours in a week.
Montgomery County and Prince George’s County are responsible for enforcing their
local minimum wage laws.
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Exhibit 1
Forms of County Governments in Maryland

Charter Commission Code
Anne Arundel Calvert Allegany
Baltimore Carroll Caroline
Cecil Frederick® Charles
Dorchester Garrett Kent
Harford St. Mary’s Queen Anne’s
Howard Somerset Worcester
Montgomery Washington
Prince George’s
Talbot
Wicomico

'Frederick County will become a charter home rule county on December 1, 2014.

Source: Department of Legislative Services

Baltimore City enacted a city minimum wage rate in 1964, which was challenged in the
State Court of Appeals in Mayor of Baltimore v. Sitnick, 254 Md. 303, 255 A.2d 376
(1969). The court found that the State’s minimum wage rate did not preempt Baltimore’s
minimum wage law since Baltimore’s law supplemented the State law by setting a higher
rate. Baltimore still has its own minimum wage statute, but it currently sets the minimum
wage rate at the federal rate.

State Fiscal Effect: The bill creates additional enforcement responsibilities for DLLR’s
Division of Labor and Industry. DLLR has not exercised its authority to investigate
complaints about minimum wage payments and overtime compensation and to review
wage records to enforce compliance since the budget cuts of 1991 effectively reduced
available staff for this purpose from 34 to 6. Instead, since State and federal laws are
similar, it has been referring complainants to the Employment Standards Administration
at the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL). DOL investigators enforce FLSA, not the
State’s Wage and Hour Law or local minimum wage laws, so DLLR would be
responsible for pursuing complaints against employers accused of paying employees less
than a county minimum wage.

DLLR cannot absorb the additional workload within existing resources and requires
additional staffing to respond to the increase in complaints due to local minimum wage
laws.
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The staff needed to respond to and manage the additional workload created by the bill
includes an administrator, an assistant Attorney General, three full-time “wage and hour”
investigators, and one office clerk. DLLR advises that inquiries into wage and hour
violations are expected to increase significantly due to the bill because Montgomery and
Prince George’s counties minimum wages are set at a higher rate than the federal
minimum wage. DLLR estimates that as many as 1,600 complaints per year may be
received alleging minimum wage violations, but it is unknown how many of those
complaints might originate from Montgomery and Prince George’s counties. Based on
prior experience, DLLR advises that the majority of employers in violation will
voluntarily come into compliance with the bill’s provisions after being contacted by
division staff. However, at least 90 new formalized complaints must likely be
investigated and processed each year by the division, with 10 of them requiring action
within the court of appropriate jurisdiction. Additional administrative support is needed
to handle phone and email inquiries, prepare and file wage orders, handle equipment and
supplies, and manage complaint files. Legal staff is needed to provide advice, review
wage orders, and plead cases.

General fund expenditures increase for DLLR by $359,858 in fiscal 2015, which assumes
a 90-day implementation delay from the bill’s June 1 effective date so that DLLR staff
are in place by September 1, just prior to the effective dates for minimum wage increases
in Montgomery and Prince George’s counties. This estimate reflects the cost of hiring
three investigators, one office clerk, one assistant Attorney General, and
one administrator to investigate complaints and enforce local minimum wage increases
under the State’s Wage and Hour Law. It includes salaries, fringe benefits, one-time
start-up costs, and ongoing operating expenses.

Positions 6
Salaries and Fringe Benefits $302,778
One-time Start-up Costs 30,360
Operating Expenses 26,720
Total FY 2015 State Expenditures $359,858

Future year expenditures reflect annual increases and employee turnover as well as
annual increases in ongoing operating expenses.

DLLR anticipates investigating more violations of the State’s Wage and Hour Law under
the bill, so general fund revenues may increase minimally due to additional fines assessed
against violators of the State’s Wage and Hour Law.

Local Effect: Montgomery and Prince George’s counties’ expenditures decrease
beginning in fiscal 2015 from not having to enforce their local minimum wage laws.
Montgomery County estimates it will cost the county $346,980 annually for
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three investigators and an office services coordinator to enforce its local minimum wage
laws, so the county expenditures decrease by $346,980 in fiscal 2015 from not enforcing
its local minimum wage laws. Prince George’s County advises that its savings are
similar to those in Montgomery County — about $385,000 annually. However,
Montgomery County also expects to generate between $87,500 and $125,000 of revenue
annually from civil penalties of $500 each for violations of its local minimum wage laws.
Under the bill, since the county does not enforce its local minimum wage, it loses
revenue from not collecting civil penalties on violations of local minimum wage laws.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.
Information Source(s): Montgomery, Prince George’s, Washington, and Worcester
counties; Baltimore City; Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation; Maryland

Association of Counties; Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 9, 2014
ncs/mcer

Analysis by: Heather N. Ruby Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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