SENATE BILL 544

P2 SB 197/14 – FIN

By: **Senators Lee, Feldman, Guzzone, Manno, and Montgomery** Introduced and read first time: February 6, 2015 Assigned to: Finance

Committee Report: Favorable Senate action: Adopted Read second time: March 18, 2015

CHAPTER _____

1 AN ACT concerning

Statewide Information Technology Master Plan – Inclusion of Cybersecurity Framework – Requirement

- FOR the purpose of requiring that the statewide information technology master plan
 developed by the Secretary of Information Technology include a cybersecurity
 framework; requiring that the Secretary consider materials developed by the
 National Institute of Standards and Technology in developing or modifying the
 cybersecurity framework; and generally relating to the inclusion of a cybersecurity
 framework in the statewide information technology master plan.
- 10 BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,
- 11 Article State Finance and Procurement
- 12 Section 3A–304
- 13 Annotated Code of Maryland
- 14 (2009 Replacement Volume and 2014 Supplement)
- 15 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND,
- 16 That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

Article – State Finance and Procurement

18 3A–304.

17

19 (A) The Secretary shall develop a statewide information technology master plan.

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.



5lr1989

1 (B) (1) THE STATEWIDE INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY MASTER PLAN 2 DEVELOPED UNDER SUBSECTION (A) OF THIS SECTION SHALL INCLUDE A 3 CYBERSECURITY FRAMEWORK.

4 (2) IN DEVELOPING OR MODIFYING THE CYBERSECURITY 5 FRAMEWORK REQUIRED UNDER PARAGRAPH (1) OF THIS SUBSECTION, THE 6 SECRETARY SHALL CONSIDER MATERIALS DEVELOPED BY THE NATIONAL 7 INSTITUTE OF STANDARDS AND TECHNOLOGY.

8 SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect 9 October 1, 2015.

Approved:

Governor.

President of the Senate.

Speaker of the House of Delegates.