SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 5

M2 5lr2819 CF HJ 5

By: Senators Eckardt, Astle, Edwards, Hershey, Jennings, Norman, Ready, and Salling

Introduced and read first time: February 19, 2015

Assigned to: Rules

22

23

further

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 1 A Senate Joint Resolution concerning 2 Natural Resources - Goose and Duck Hunting Seasons - Extension 3 FOR the purpose of urging the members of the Maryland Congressional Delegation to work 4 with Congress and the United States Department of the Interior to extend goose 5 hunting and duck hunting seasons on the Eastern Shore to run through February of 6 each year. 7 WHEREAS, Hunting seasons for geese and ducks on the Eastern Shore and 8 statewide are set by the United States Department of the Interior; and 9 WHEREAS, The hunting seasons for geese and ducks on the Eastern Shore generally end in late January to early February; and 10 WHEREAS, During the annual fall goose and duck hunting seasons, weather 11 12 conditions, visibility, and holiday conflicts often make it difficult for hunters to effectively 13 hunt geese and ducks; and 14 WHEREAS, The conservation status for geese and ducks on the Eastern Shore is not 15 concerning; and 16 WHEREAS, Goose and duck hunting attracts a significant number of visitors and 17 tourist dollars to the Eastern Shore, and expanded goose and duck hunting seasons in 18 February would do so at a slow time of the year; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the General 19 20 Assembly urges the members of the Maryland Congressional Delegation to work with 21Congress and the United States Department of the Interior to extend goose and duck

hunting seasons on the Eastern Shore to run through February of each year; and be it



6

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of Legislative Services to the Maryland Congressional Delegation: Senators Barbara A. Mikulski and Benjamin L. Cardin, Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510; and Representatives Andrew P. Harris, C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger, III, John P. Sarbanes, Donna Edwards, Steny Hamilton Hoyer, John Delaney, Elijah E. Cummings, and

Christopher Van Hollen, Jr., House Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20515.