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Vehicle Laws - Displaying Front Registration Plate - Exemption for Class L
(Historic) and Class N (Street Rod) Vehicles

This bill establishes an exception from the general requirement to display a
front registration plate that applies to Class L (historic) and Class N (street rod) vehicles.
The registration plate not attached to the rear of one of these vehicles must be easily
accessible within the vehicle.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: General fund revenues decrease, likely minimally, due to a reduction in the
number of penalties collected for driving with only one registration plate displayed.
Maryland Transportation Authority (MDTA) nonbudgeted revenues also decrease, likely
minimally, to the extent that some vehicles that illegally pass through an MDTA toll
facility cannot be identified with one fewer plate affixed to the exterior of the vehicle.
Expenditures are not affected.

Local Effect: The bill is not anticipated to materially affect local operations or finances.
Small Business Effect: Minimal.

. _______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|]
Analysis

Current Law: All vehicles are required to display two registration plates, unless they
are in one of three vehicle classes. Class D (motorcycle), Class F (tractor), and
Class G (trailer) vehicles are exempt from the two-registration plate requirement.
In addition, the Motor Vehicle Administration must issue only one plate for vehicles with
temporary registration. Class F vehicles are required to display the registration plate on



the front of the vehicle, while all other vehicles issued a single plate must affix the plate
to the rear. Historic and antique vehicles must display current registration plates in the
places provided on the vehicle. A violation of the requirement to attach a registration
plate to the front and rear of a vehicle is a misdemeanor and carries a fine of up to $500
or a prepayment fine of $70.

Background: Many older vehicles and some current-year models have been designed
without a registration plate incorporated in the design and without additional parts
available from the manufacturer to attach registration plates. The owners of such
vehicles may be required to purchase additional after-market parts from third-party
automotive suppliers, if available, or attach the registration plate without automotive
parts designed for this purpose.

According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, as of July 2014, 19 states,
including Delaware, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia, allowed one registration plate to
be issued for some vehicle classes. The remaining 31 states and the District of Columbia
required two plates. Several states only required one plate for certain types of vehicles
such as motorcycles, trailers, or all-terrain vehicles.

According to a 2012 study by the Texas A&M Transportation Institute, the issuance of
two license plates created fiscal and other resource efficiencies in the areas of
enforcement, tolling, parking, and homeland security. For example, the study reported
that, in Virginia, 23% of toll violations could not be pursued because the rear plates were
unreadable. The study also reported that, in field studies using advanced vehicle
identification technology, the registration plate identification rate for moving vehicles
was 89% in Maryland, compared with 22% in Pennsylvania where only a single
registration plate is required.

State Revenues: General fund revenues decrease minimally beginning in fiscal 2016
due to the elimination of penalties under the Maryland Vehicle Law for driving with only
one registration plate for Class L and N vehicles. Although a reliable estimate of this
revenue loss cannot be made, for illustrative purposes only, general fund revenues may
decrease by about $12,600 in fiscal 2016 and by about $16,800 annually thereafter, which
reflects the following assumptions:

o the number and percentage of violations resulting in a prepaid fine in fiscal 2016
and future years would otherwise remain constant at the average of fiscal 2011
through 2014 levels (10,081 and 74.2%);

° Class L and N vehicles comprise about 2.9% of registered vehicles in Maryland,;

° one-half of the violations for failure to display two registration plates in
accordance with current law are attributed to driving with only one registration
plate;
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° the conviction rate in contested cases is 50% and results in the payment of a fine
of one-half of the statutory maximum; and

° fines and penalties in fiscal 2016 and future years remain at current levels.

Nonbudgeted revenue also decrease minimally as the toll collection rate at MDTA
facilities likely decreases. MDTA advises that, although its electronic toll facilities
photograph both the front and rear of the car, the identification rate is significantly lower
for vehicles that only display one registration plate. A reliable estimate of this revenue
loss cannot be made, but it is not likely to be significant as Class L and N vehicles only
comprise about 2.9% of registered vehicles in the State, and only a fraction of these
vehicles may use electronically tolled lanes.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: HB 320 of 2014 received a hearing in the House Environmental
Matters Committee, but no further action was taken.

Cross File: None.

Information Source(s):  Department of State Police, Maryland Department of
Transportation, Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services, Judiciary
(Administrative Office of the Courts), National Conference of State Legislatures, Texas
A&M Transportation Institute, Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 3, 2015
mel/ljm

Analysis by: Evan M. Isaacson Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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