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This bill authorizes a vehicle manufacturer or distributor to be licensed as a dealer if (1) the
licensee deals only in electric or nonfossil-fuel burning vehicles; (2) no other dealer holds
a franchise from the manufacturer or distributor; and (3) there is no cross-ownership
between licensees, whereby a licensee — or any entity affiliated with or controlled by a
licensee — holds a controlling interest in another licensee or other entity affiliated with or
controlled by a licensee. The bill allows for the issuance of only four licenses. Finally, the
bill requires the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) to adopt regulations to implement
the bill.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) revenues increase, likely minimally,
beginning as early as FY 2016, from the collection by MVA of additional business license
fees. Expenditures are not affected.

Local Effect: The bill is not anticipated to materially affect local operations or finances.

Small Business Effect: Minimal.

Analysis

Current Law: Generally, a manufacturer or distributor may not sell a new vehicle to a
retail buyer. However, a vehicle manufacturer or distributor may be licensed as a dealer if
it (1) operates a dealership temporarily and under specified circumstances; (2) operates a
dealership in which an independent person has made a significant investment and can
reasonably expect to acquire full ownership of the dealership; or (3) is a specified type of



vehicle manufacturer that deals only in Class E (truck) vehicles with a gross weight limit
of 10,000 pounds or more.

Background: Tesla, an electric car manufacturer, employs a direct sales approach that
bypasses the traditional model for selling vehicles through franchised dealers. According
to the National Conference of State Legislatures, Maryland is one of several states that
have statutes generally prohibiting manufacturers from operating dealerships. Other states,
such as New York and Ohio, have enacted laws to allow direct sales locations but only in
a limited number of locations.

State Revenues: TTF revenues increase minimally, potentially beginning in fiscal 2016,
as MVA collects additional vehicle dealer and salesperson license fees. MVA charges
annual fees of $250 per dealer license (regardless of the number of locations) and $75 per
salesperson license. While the number of new dealers is limited to four, the number of
associated salespersons cannot be reliably estimated because there is no limit on the
number of locations. Regardless, TTF revenues do not appear reasonably likely to reach
$20,000 in any fiscal year between fiscal 2016 and 2020. More significant TTF revenues
may eventually accrue in future fiscal years to the extent that the two licensees open more
locations to sell electric or nonfossil-fuel burning vehicles.

Additional Comments: It is unclear whether the bill allows for the issuance of only
four licenses, or whether only four licenses may be held by manufacturers or distributors
at one time. Additionally, the bill does not specify the number of dealership locations that
may operate under the four licenses.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Maryland Department of Transportation, National Conference of
State Legislatures, Department of Legislative Services
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