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Motor Vehicles - Wearable Computer With Head-Mounted Display - Prohibited 
 

 

This bill prohibits a person from operating a motor vehicle on a highway while wearing or 

using a wearable computer with a head-mounted display.  For purposes of the bill, a 

“wearable computer with a head-mounted display” is a computer device that is worn on an 

individual’s head and projects visual information into the field of vision of the individual 

wearing the device.  A violation is a misdemeanor and is subject to a maximum fine of 

$500. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues due to the bill’s penalty.  

Enforcement can be handled with existing resources. 

  

Local Effect:  Enforcement can be handled with existing resources.  Revenues are not 

affected. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  No State law specifically prohibits the wearing of a head-mounted optical 

computer device while driving. 

 

Video Displays:  The Maryland Vehicle Law prohibits the use of television-type receiving 

or video display equipment that is turned on and displaying an image visible to the driver 

while driving.  The prohibition does not apply to the use of such equipment in conjunction 
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with (1) a vehicle navigation system; (2) broadcast and satellite radio system graphics; or 

(3) the display of information or images related to the operation of a motor vehicle.   

 

“Video display equipment” is defined to mean equipment capable of displaying a dynamic 

visual image, other than text, from a digital video disc or other storage device.  

Accordingly, except as otherwise provided, a motor vehicle driven on a highway in 

Maryland may be equipped with video display equipment only if the video display 

equipment is turned off when the screen is visible to the driver.  This restriction does not 

apply to video display equipment on a vehicle used by a public service company.   

 

A violation of this provision is a misdemeanor, and a violator is subject to a maximum fine 

of $500.  The prepayment penalty established by the District Court is $60.  If the violation 

contributes to an accident, the prepayment penalty increases to $100.  The Motor Vehicle 

Administration (MVA) is required to assess one point against the driver’s license for a 

violation, or three points if the violation contributes to an accident.  The District Court 

advises that, in fiscal 2014, a total of four citations were issued for driving with operational 

video or electronic display equipment.  Of those citations, three were prepaid, and 

one remained open.   

 

Wireless Devices:  A “wireless communication device” means a handheld or hands-free 

device used to access a wireless telephone service or a text messaging device.   

 

Except to contact a 9-1-1 system in an emergency, a minor is prohibited from using a 

wireless communication device while operating a motor vehicle.  A violator is subject to 

license suspension for up to 90 days by MVA. 

 

A violation of this provision is a misdemeanor, and a violator is subject to a maximum fine 

of $500.  The prepayment penalty established by the District Court for this offense is $70.  

If the violation contributes to an accident, the prepayment penalty increases to $110.  MVA 

is required to assess one point against the driver’s license for a violation, or three points if 

the violation contributes to an accident.  The District Court advises that 12 citations were 

issued for this offense in fiscal 2014, when the offense became subject to primary 

enforcement (the offense became subject to primary enforcement as of October 1, 2013).  

Of the 12 citations, 5 were disposed of with the prepayment penalty, 3 went to trial, and 

4 remained open.        

 

Negligent Driving:  While no State statutory provision specifically prohibits driving with 

a “wearable, head-mounted computer display,” a person is deemed guilty of negligent 

driving if the person drives in a careless or imprudent manner that endangers human life or 

property.  A negligent driving violation requires the assessment of one point against the 

driving record and is a misdemeanor subject to a maximum fine of $500.  The prepayment 

penalty assessed by the District Court for this offense is $140.  If the offense contributes to 
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an accident, the prepayment penalty increases to $280, and three points must be assessed 

against the driver’s license.  During fiscal 2014, the District Court processed 

24,272 citations for negligent driving.  Of these, 2,587 citations were disposed of by 

prepaying the penalty, 13,705 went to trial, and 7,980 remained open. 

 

Background:   
 

Google Glass Development:  Although not the first of its kind, the most well-known 

wearable, head-mounted computer display is known as “Google Glass.”  The optical, 

head-mounted display, which looks like a pair of eyeglasses, was under development by 

the Project Glass research and development project, a part of the Google Corporation.  At 

first, the device had been distributed, on a limited basis, to people who participated in the 

Google “Explorer” project.  Google “explorers” applied in 2013 to purchase the device, 

which costs $1,500, by submitting a post through the social sites “Google+” or “Twitter” 

with unique ideas on how Google Glass could be used to enhance creativity and 

productivity.  The device became available to the public in 2014, also at a cost of $1,500.  

In January 2015, Google halted sales of the device (the device is still readily available 

through sale and auction sites such as Craig’s List and E-Bay).  Google has stated that the 

Glass project has transitioned from the experimental phase to a further development phase.  

While Google has alluded that the device is undergoing redesign, no date for availability 

in the consumer market has been set. 

 

The device beams data (text, photos, or video) into the user’s field of vision with a liquid 

crystal on silicon, field-sequential color, LED-illuminated display.  It receives data through 

a wireless local area network (also known as Wi-Fi) or it can connect through “bluetooth” 

technology (a standard for short-range wireless interconnection of cellphones, computers, 

speakers, and other electronic devices) that can share data with a smartphone or tablet.  

Through bluetooth technology, Google Glass can access global positioning system data, 

text messaging, and voice calling functions.  Users issue voice commands by saying “ok 

glass,” then issuing a natural language command, or the user can scroll through available 

options by using a finger pressed against a touchpad on the side of the device.   

 

Safety Issues:  Many people have raised safety concerns about the use of Google Glass, 

especially while driving.  In October 2013, a woman was arrested in San Diego, California 

for driving with Google Glass after being pulled over for speeding.  The woman contested 

the citation, and the judge overturned it due to lack of proof that the device was actually on 

while the woman was driving. 

 

According to technology news sources, other states that have considered prohibiting the 

use while driving of wearable head-mounted computer devices like Google Glass are 

Delaware, Illinois, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, West Virginia, and Wyoming.       
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Other Wearable Technology:  There has been some speculation by technology media 

commentators that the idea of a head-mounted display has been eclipsed by the explosion 

in development of “wearable” technology, which has generally focused on devices worn 

on the wrist.  Devices known as “smartwatches” (on the Android platform) and exercise 

trackers (such as the popular “FitBit”) are iterating quickly with the goal of providing much 

of the same information to users that was available on the Google Glass device.  The Apple 

Corporation announced in 2014 that it plans to bring a smartwatch device to market by 

spring 2015.  No State law specifically addresses the potential for distracted driving that 

may be caused by these devices as they provide more notifications to drivers about texts, 

emails, phone calls, and other information.  

 

Maryland Enforcement of Distracted Driving Laws:  Exhibit 1 shows an overview of 

Maryland enforcement of offenses involving distracted driving and electronic devices 

during fiscal 2013, when some devices involving handheld phones were subject to 

secondary enforcement only, and fiscal 2014 when all distracted driving offenses involving 

electronic devices were subject to primary enforcement. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  HB 604 of 2014 received an unfavorable report from the House 

Environmental Matters Committee. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Department of 

State Police, Maryland Department of Transportation, www.bbc.com, Google Corporation, 

www.androidcentral.com, Reuters News Service, www.washingtonpost.com, 

www.wikipedia.com, Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 25, 2015 

 md/ljm 

 

Analysis by:   Karen D. Morgan  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 

 

  

http://www.wikipedia.com/
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Exhibit 1 

Maryland Electronic Device Driving Citations 

Fiscal 2013-2014 
 

Offense While Driving 

Enforcement 

Authority Open Prepaid Trial 

Total 

Citations 

      
School Bus Driver w/Handheld Device   

Fiscal 2013 Secondary 3 29 9 41 

Fiscal 2014 Primary 33 72 20 125 

      
Permit/Prov. License Holder – Adult w/Handheld Device   

Fiscal 2013 Secondary 16 65 30 111 

Fiscal 2014 Primary 78 142 73 293 

      
Minor w/Wireless Communication Device   

Fiscal 2013 Secondary 4 3 4 11 

Fiscal 2014 Primary 4 5 3 12 

      
Fully Licensed Adult w/Handheld Device    

Fiscal 2013 Secondary 548 5,213 1,132 6,893 

Fiscal 2014 Primary 6,185 22,019 2,866 31,070 

      
Reading, Writing, Sending Text Messages   

Fiscal 2013 Primary 184 649 341 1,174 

Fiscal 2014 Primary 550 1,299 324 2,173 
 

Note:  The enforcement authority for many of these offenses changed from secondary to primary, beginning in fiscal 2014. 

 

Source:  Administrative Office of the Courts 
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