
 

  HB 717 

Department of Legislative Services 
Maryland General Assembly 

2015 Session 
 

FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE 
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Vehicle Laws - Evidence of Required Security - Carrying While Operating 

Vehicle 
 

   

This bill requires the driver of a motor vehicle to carry evidence of required security 

(generally, auto insurance) while operating the vehicle.  The evidence may be in either a 

paper or electronic format. 

 

The bill takes effect January 1, 2016. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund and Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) revenues increase, likely 

significantly, from enhanced police enforcement of the Maryland Vehicle Law’s 

requirement to maintain adequate security and the prohibition against driving with lapsed 

security (under current law or the bill), which result in the collection of additional civil 

penalties and uninsured motorist fines.  Enforcement of the bill can be handled with 

existing resources. 

 

Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund (MAIF) Effect:  Assuming that enforcement of 

the requirement to maintain adequate security results in an increase in lapsed security 

penalties, additional drivers may apply to MAIF for policy coverage. 

  

Local Effect:  The bill is not anticipated to materially affect local operations or finances. 

  

Small Business Effect:  Potential meaningful benefit for small business automobile 

insurance providers to the extent that greater enforcement of the requirement to carry 

adequate security results in additional customers. 
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:  Although the owner of any motor vehicle that is required to be registered 

in Maryland must maintain required security for the vehicle during the registration period, 

there is no requirement that proof of insurance be carried by the driver of a motor vehicle 

while operating a vehicle.  However, Chapters 210 and 211 of 2012 established the 

requirement for the operator of a moped or motor scooter to carry proof of insurance while 

operating the vehicle.  Chapters 210 and 211 did not specify whether or not the proof of 

insurance should be in paper or electronic format. 

 

The Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) may not issue or transfer the registration of a 

motor vehicle unless the owner or prospective owner of the vehicle provides satisfactory 

evidence to MVA that the required security is in effect.  If the required security for a vehicle 

lapses at any time, the registration of that vehicle is suspended automatically as of the date 

of the lapse, effective within 60 days after notification to MVA.  The registration remains 

suspended until the vehicle owner submits evidence of replaced security on a designated 

MVA form, certified by the insurance provider, along with the uninsured motorist penalty 

fee.  

 

If the required security for a vehicle lapses, MVA may assess the owner of the vehicle a 

penalty of $150 for each vehicle without the required security for the first 30 days. 

Beginning on the thirty-first day, the fine increases by a rate of $7 for each day, but the 

total fine may not exceed $2,500 annually, not including the additional misdemeanor 

penalty of up to $500, which may be prepaid with a fine of $290.  Operating a vehicle 

without adequate security is a misdemeanor penalty of $500, which may not be prepaid, 

and results in the imposition of five points on the driver’s record. 

 

Background:  According to the American Automobile Association Digest of Motor Laws, 

at least nine states (California, Colorado, Idaho, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Nevada, 

New Mexico, and Washington) have enacted laws requiring that proof of insurance be 

carried by the driver of a vehicle during its operation.         

 

State Revenues:  Fines collected under the escalating penalty structure for lapsed security 

are directed from Maryland Department of Transportation under a specified allocation 

formula to the Department of State Police’s Vehicle Theft Prevention Fund, the School 

Bus Safety Enforcement Fund, MAIF, and the balance to the general fund.  

Each distribution is capped, except the amounts distributed to TTF (30%) and to the general 

fund (remainder after all other distributions).  Thus, any increase in penalty revenues under 

the bill only results in an increase in revenues for TTF and the general fund.  In addition, 

general fund revenues increase due to the collection of additional misdemeanor penalties 

collected by the District Court. 
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A reliable estimate of the increase in TTF and general fund revenues cannot be made due 

to considerable uncertainty regarding the effect of the bill on the enforcement of violations 

for driving without required security or allowing required security to lapse during a 

vehicle’s registration period, as well as which provision of law a driver may be cited for 

violating under current law and/or under the bill.  However, for illustrative purposes only, 

TTF revenues may increase by about $1.2 million and general fund revenues may increase 

by about $2.9 million in fiscal 2016, which accounts for the bill’s January 1, 2016 effective 

date, under the following information and assumptions: 

 

 about $83.5 million in uninsured driver penalties were collected in fiscal 2014; 

 the collection of such penalties decreased by an annual average of 3% between 

fiscal 2010 and 2014, and this rate continues in fiscal 2015; 

 there were 8,763 violations of the requirement to maintain required security during 

a vehicle’s registration period in fiscal 2014, of which 4,228 resulted in a trial, 

935 violations were prepaid, and 3,600 violations remained open cases (and open 

cases result in the same proportion of prepayments and trials); 

 there were 16,593 violations of the prohibition on driving without required security 

in fiscal 2014, all of which require a court appearance; 

 it is assumed that 50% of trials result in conviction and the average penalty assessed 

is $300;  

 all penalties remain at the same level in the future; and 

 the bill’s requirement enhances the ability of law enforcement to discover such 

violations and results in a 10% increase in penalty revenues collected from prepaid 

fines and court-assessed fines, from violations of the bill and/or under current law. 

 

The actual increase in TTF and general fund revenues may vary significantly to the extent 

that actual experience differs from any of the assumptions discussed above, and particularly 

to the extent that the bill enhances enforcement of uninsured driving violations to a greater 

or lesser extent than described above, which assumes a 10% increase in fine revenues.  

For example, if fine revenues increase by 25%, then TTF revenues increase by $2.9 million 

and general fund revenues increase by $7.4 million in fiscal 2016. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 
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Information Source(s):  Department of State Police, Maryland Department of 

Transportation, Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), American Automobile 

Association, Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 3, 2015 

 md/ljm 

 

Analysis by:   Evan M. Isaacson  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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