May 12, 2015

The Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr. President of the Senate H–107 State House Annapolis, MD 21401

Dear Mr. President:

In accordance with Article II, Section 17 of the Maryland Constitution, today I have vetoed Senate Bill 865 – Edward T. and Mary A. Conroy and Jean B. Cryor Memorial Scholarship Programs – Eligibility.

This bill changes the name of the Edward T. Conroy Memorial Scholarship Program to the Edward T. and Mary A. Conroy Memorial Scholarship Program; and alters the eligibility requirements for the Edward T. and Mary A. Conroy Memorial Scholarship Program and the Jean B. Cryor Memorial Scholarship Program to include the stepchildren of specified individuals who are at least 16 years of age.

House Bill 11, which was passed by the General Assembly and signed by me, accomplishes the same purpose. Therefore, it is not necessary for me to sign Senate Bill 865.

Sincerely,

Governor Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr.