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(a) All places where intoxicating liquor is sold in violation of any provision of
this article, shall be taken and held and are declared to be public nuisances, and may be
abated as such; and it shall be part of the judgment of the court, upon conviction of the
keeper, that the place where liquor is found to have been sold contrary to this article
be shut up and abated until the keeper shall give bond, with sufficient security to be
approved by the court, in the penal sum of two thousand dollars ($2,000.00), payable
to the State of Maryland conditioned that he will not sell intoxicating liquor contrary
to law, and will pay all fines, costs and damages assessed against him for any violation
thereof, and in case of a violation of the condition of such bond, suit may be brought and
recovery had thereon for the use of the county, for any fine or fines, costs and damages
that may be assessed against him under this article; and in the event a jury trial shall be
prayed when the case is brought before the District Court, or any appeal shall be taken,
the place where the liquor is alleged to have been sold contrary to this article, shall be
shut up and abated until the alleged offender shall give bond, with sufficient security to
be approved by the court in the penal sum of two thousand dollars ($2,000.00), payable
to the State of Maryland, conditioned that pending said appeal and/or final disposition
of the case he will not sell intoxicating liquor contrary to law, and will pay all fines, costs
and damages assessed against him for any violation thereof, and in case of a violation
of the condition of such bond, suit may be brought and recovery had thereon for the use
of the county for any fine or fines, costs and damages that may be assessed against him
under this article.

(b) (1) If any person or any officer of the law make a sworn complaint or
an affidavit before a District Court judge in the county, particularly describing the
house, store, boat, motor vehicle, aeroplane, premises or any other place or thing
to be searched, and the things to be searched for, that he has reason to believe and
does believe that intoxicating liquor is sold, or is kept for the purpose of being sold
or otherwise disposed of in violation of the provisions of this article, or contrary to
law, the judge shall forthwith issue his warrant to serve criminal process, directed
to the sheriff, deputy sheriff of the county, or to any proper officer, commanding him
to search the premises or house described and designated in such complaint and
warrant and the appurtenances thereof, and if any such shall there be found to take
into his possession and safely keep all intoxicating liquor and the vessels in which it
is contained if the same shall be found in quantities and under such conditions as to
suggest that it is kept for sale, and all the means used for the sale of the same, all the
paraphernalia or part of the paraphernalia of a barroom or drinking saloon, and any
United States Internal Revenue tax receipt for the sale of intoxicating liquor effective
for the period of time covering the alleged offense, and forthwith report in writing the
facts and make immediate return on said warrant.

(2) The warrant for search shall be directed to any proper officer, and shall
show by a copy of the affidavit inserted therein, or annexed and referred to, or recite
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all of the material facts alleged in the affidavit, and particularly describe the thing to
be searched for and the place, house or thing to be searched. A complaint or affidavit,
a warrant for search and a return and report substantially in the following forms shall
be sufficient:

Greetings: Whereas, there has been filed with the undersigned an affidavit, of
which the following is a copy, to wit: “Whereas on this .... day of ...., 20.., before the
Subscriber, .... in and for said County, personally appeared ...., and made complaint
and oath that he has just and reasonable cause to suspect and believe and does suspect
and believe that intoxicating liquor is sold, or except for the purpose of being sold or
otherwise disposed of in violation of the law in the .... of .... at, in .... of said County, and
that in and upon said premises and at said place and house will be found upon search
thereof, the following:

Intoxicating liquors, and the vessels and bottles in which the same are contained,
and barroom, and drinking saloon paraphernalia, and the United States Internal
Revenue tax receipt for sale of intoxicating liquor at this time effective (and any other
facts material):

These Are Therefore, in the name of the State of Maryland, to command you,
together with the necessary and proper assistance, to enter into the said .... of the
said .... at, in .... in the County aforesaid, and there diligently search for the said
intoxicating liquor and means used for the sale of same, or any part thereof as
described in the aforegoing affidavit of complaint, and that you bring the same, or any
part thereof, found in such search, and the person or persons in whose custody they
are found forthwith before me to be disposed of and dealt with according to law; and
have you there this warrant.

Given under my hand this .... day of ...., 20...
Judge of the District Court
REPORT AND RETURN
To Hon. ...., Judge of the District Court in .... County.

This Return and Report, made this .... day of ...., 20.., is to certify, That pursuant and in
obedience to the commands of the annexed warrant to me directed, I did on the .... day
of ...., 20.., enter and search the place, house and premises described in said warrant
and found and seized the following, to wit: (here set forth what was found and seized),
and do forthwith bring the same, and one .... the person in whose custody the same
were found before you.



(Person serving warrant)

(¢ (1) Such liquor and means used for the sale of the same shall be
held subject to the order of the court to be used as evidence in the prosecution
of any case before the court for the violation of this article, and any such or the
possession of any such liquor or the means, materials and instrumentalities for
manufacturing, transporting, dispensing, handling or otherwise disposing of the same
or the paraphernalia or part of the paraphernalia of a barroom or drinking saloon
shall constitute prima facie evidence of the violation of the provisions of this subtitle
as charged or presented. If fluids be poured out or otherwise destroyed when the
premises, place or thing are searched or about to be searched, said fluids shall be held
prima facie to be intoxicating liquor and intended for sale in violation of this article.

(2) In all prosecutions under this article, by charge, indictment or
otherwise, it shall not be necessary to state the kind of liquor sold, handled or involved,
nor to describe the place where sold, handled or involved, nor to show the knowledge of
the principal to convict for the acts of an agent or servant, nor to state the name of any
person to whom the liquor is sold, but it shall be sufficient to state in that regard that
the act complained of took place in the county. The issuance of an internal revenue
special tax stamp, or receipt by the United States, to any person as a wholesale or
retail dealer in liquors or in malt liquors at any place within the county shall be prima
facie evidence of the sale of alcoholic beverages of the class authorized to be sold under
such stamp or receipt by such person at such place, or at any place of business of such
person, within such territory where such stamp or receipt is posted, and at the time
charged in any suit or prosecution under this article; provided, such time is within the
life of such stamp or receipt. This paragraph shall apply only in Queen Anne’s County.

(d) If upon final judgment of the court, the accused shall be found guilty, the
intoxicating liquor seized from him shall, after the time for appeal has expired and if
no appeal 1s taken, be ordered to be destroyed, and the other property shall be held
as the property of the accused or owner. If the accused shall be found not guilty, the
whole of the property seized shall be returned to the person from which it was taken.
When any liquor shall have been seized by virtue of such warrant, the same shall not
be discharged or returned to any person claiming the same by reason of any alleged
insufficiency in the description in the complaint or warrant of the liquor or place, but
the claimant shall be entitled to a hearing when the case is tried.

(e) If no one is found in possession of the premises, place, or thing where
intoxicating liquor may be found, the officer taking the same shall post in a conspicuous
place on said premises or at or near the location of the place or thing searched a copy
of his warrant, and take possession of such liquor and means used for the sale of the
same, and hold them subject to the order of the court and make return of his doing
thereto. Whereupon it shall be the duty of the court to fix a time for the hearing and
determine the purpose for which such liquor is kept, and issue a notice thereof to the
officer, who shall post a copy thereof on the premises or at or near the location of the
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place or thing searched where the liquors were found. If no one appears at the time
fixed for said hearing, nor within thirty days thereafter to claim such liquor and means
used for the sale of the same, the court shall order the same destroyed or disposed of.

() No warrant shall be issued to search any residence accepted as such, unless
it or some part of it is used as a store or shop, hotel, restaurant or boardinghouse, or
unless such residence is a place of public resort, or unless such residence is utilized as a
place for keeping, storing, hiding, secreting or furnishing or handling any intoxicating
liquor, in any quantity intended or for the purpose of sale or disposition otherwise
contrary to this subtitle or contrary to law; provided, nevertheless, if the judge of the
District Court shall, after an examination of the party making the oath or taking such
other proof as may be produced, deem it proper to issue such warrant then the judge of
the District Court, may, in his discretion, issue the warrant as hereinabove provided,
for the searching of such a residence.

(g) The person making affidavit for the warrant to search any place or thing
where intoxicating liquor is believed to be disposed of, kept, stored, deposited, hidden,
secreted, handled or furnished contrary to this section, may personally or by agent
accompany the officer who serves the warrant and point out and enter the place or
thing with such officer and give information and assistance to such officer in searching
such place, house or thing for such intoxicating liquor.

(h) Liquor seized as hereinbefore provided, and the means used for the sale of
the same, shall not be taken from the custody of the officer by a writ of replevin or
other process while the proceedings herein provided are pending; and final judgment
of conviction in such proceedings shall be in all cases a bar to all suits for the recovery
of any liquor seized or the value of the same, or for damages alleged to arise by reason
of the seizing and detention thereof.

(1 When any prosecution is commenced for a violation of this article, and the
liquor seized under this section is to be used as evidence in such trial, the hearing
must take place in not more than thirty days if the court is then in session, and if it
be not in session, within thirty days from the date when it is next in session. If at the
time appointed for trial the returns have not been properly made, or for other sufficient
cause, the trial may be postponed to a further date not more than fifteen days beyond
said thirty days.

(G) The word “liquor”’, when used in this subtitle, unless the same be
inconsistent with the context, shall be construed to include the vessels containing the
same; the phrase “means used for the sale of the same”, shall include all furniture,
implements, equipment, instrumentalities, or paraphernalia of a barroom or drinking
saloon or any part of same, and any United States Internal Revenue tax receipts
effective for the period of time covering the alleged offense, and to include also any
conveyance or vehicle; the word “place” shall be construed to include any edifice,
apartment, room, tent, boat, wagon, conveyance, motor vehicle, aeroplane, or any open
air location.



(k) Any private residence or any part thereof which is a place of public resort, or
is used as a store or shop, or is utilized as a place for keeping, depositing, storing, hiding,
secreting, handling, exchanging, distributing, furnishing or delivering any intoxicating
liquor in any quantity whatever intended for sale or disposition otherwise contrary to
this article or contrary to law, shall not be accepted or held as a private residence for
the purpose of this article.

()  Repealed.

(m) The giving away, furnishing, delivering, handling, distributing or
exchanging of any intoxicating liquor by any storekeeper or at any private residences
not accepted or held as such, or the taking or soliciting of orders, or the making of
agreements by any person at or within the county for the sale or delivery or future
giving away of any intoxicating liquors, or any other shift or device to evade any
provision of this article, shall be held to be an unlawful selling.

(n) The County Commissioners of the county are hereby authorized to use any
part of the fines imposed by a circuit court and collected for the violation of this article
for hiring detectives or secret service officers (who shall be deputized proper officers).
And when there are no funds available from fines collected for the violation of this
article, such County Commissioners are hereby authorized to appropriate not more
than two hundred dollars annually in Queen Anne’s and Wicomico counties from the
general revenue fund for the purpose of enforcing the provisions of this article.

(0) The intention of this section is to effectually prevent and suppress the
evasions and violations of the liquor laws in the county, and for that purpose all
the provisions of this section shall be liberally construed and interpreted; provided,
however, that nothing contained in this section shall apply to shipments by means of
common carriers operating under the Interstate Commerce Act where such carriers
have no knowledge that said shipments contain intoxicating liquors.

(p) Every person convicted of violating any provision of this section shall be
fined not less than two hundred dollars ($200.00) in Queen Anne’s County, nor more
than five hundred dollars ($500.00), or imprisoned in the county jail or House of
Correction for not less than six months nor more than one year, or be both so fined
and imprisoned, in the discretion of the court. If any person shall be convicted of
violating any provision of this subtitle and shall subsequently violate any provisions
of this subtitle, he shall, upon conviction thereof, be fined not less than five hundred
dollars ($500.00) nor more than two thousand dollars ($2,000.00), and imprisoned in
the county jail or the House of Correction for not less than one year nor more than
two years. One half of the fines imposed by a circuit court shall be paid to the clerk of
the court for use as provided in § 7-507 of the Courts Article, and the other half to the
County Commissioners for general county purposes. A certified transcript from the
docket of the District Court or a certified copy of the record, under seal, of the clerk
of any court shall be sufficient evidence of a previous conviction or convictions under
any section of this subtitle.



In Crisfield the penalty shall be a fine of not less than fifty dollars nor more than
one hundred dollars, or confinement in the House of Correction for not less than six
months nor more than two years, or both, for each and every offense. In Wicomico
County the penalty shall be a fine of not less than fifty dollars nor more than two
hundred dollars, or imprisonment in the county jail for not less than three months
nor more than six months, or both, for each offense.

() This section shall only apply to and be effective in Queen Anne’s County,
except that subsections (a), (b), (d), (e), (f), (g), and (h) hereof, shall also be effective in
the Town of Crisfield, Somerset County, and except that subsections (a), (b), (c), (d), (e),
®, (2), (h), and (n) shall also be effective in Wicomico County.
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