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(a) A general license to practice dentistry issued under this title authorizes the
licensee to practice dentistry while the license is effective.

(b) While it is effective, a limited license to practice dentistry issued under this
title authorizes the licensee to practice dentistry, including as an intern or a resident:

(1)  Only for the institution or public health program named on the license;
and

(2) Only on patients of the institution or public health program named on
the license.

(c) While it is effective, a retired volunteer dentist’s license or a volunteer
dentist’s license to practice dentistry issued under this title authorizes the licensee to
practice dentistry:

(1) Only in a dental office, dental clinic, ambulatory care facility, or
hospital,;

(2) Only for an entity providing medical care to the poor, elderly, or
disabled that is operated by:

(1) The State or a local government;
(11) A bona fide charitable organization; or

(i111) Any other entity authorized under regulations adopted by the
Board;

(3) If the dentist signs a written statement agreeing to donate at least
100 hours of dental services without compensation in a facility that satisfies the
requirements of items (1) and (2) of this subsection;

(4) If the dentist provides documentation as required by the Board which
evidences that the licensee is covered by malpractice insurance; and

(5) If the dentist does not otherwise practice dentistry for profit in
Maryland.

(d) (1) While it 1s effective, a temporary volunteer dentist’s license issued
under this title authorizes the licensee to practice dentistry:

(1) Only in a temporary dental clinic providing medical care to the
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poor, elderly, or disabled that is operated by:
1. A bona fide charitable organization;
2. The State or a local government; or
3. A local health department;
() If:

1.  The dentist holds a general license to practice dentistry in
another state that permits clinical practice and the dentist is not subject to clinical
restrictions; and

2. The dentist has:

A. Passed the North East Regional Board Clinical
Examination; or

B. Submitted to the Board a notarized affidavit or other
evidence satisfactory to the Board indicating that for the 5 years preceding
application, the applicant has actively engaged in practicing dentistry for at least 850
hours on average per year;

(1) If the dentist has fulfilled any requirements of the Board relating
to knowledge of the regulations adopted by the Board and the laws concerning the
practice of dentistry in the State;

(iv) If the dentist provides a notarized affidavit to the Board agreeing
to donate dental services without compensation for a temporary dental clinic that
satisfies the requirements of subsection (1) of this section;

(v) If the dentist provides documentation as required by the Board
that evidences that the dentist is covered by malpractice insurance;

(vi) If the dentist does not otherwise practice dentistry for profit in
the State; and

(vi1) If the dentist provides verification of current cardiopulmonary
resuscitation certification.

(2) A dentist who holds a temporary volunteer dentist’s license may not
administer, maintain, or monitor general anesthesia or sedation.

(3) A dentist who holds a temporary volunteer dentist’s license may only
provide services authorized under the Maryland Dentistry Act and the regulations
adopted by the Board.

(4) A dentist who holds a temporary volunteer dentist’s license or the
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temporary dental clinic in which the dentist is providing services shall provide a form
to a patient at the conclusion of treatment that contains:

(1) A summary of the services that were provided to the patient by
the dentist and, if applicable, the dental hygienist; and

(11) Instructions for any recommended follow—up dental care.

(5) The Board may deny a temporary volunteer dentist’s license on the
grounds provided under § 4-315 of this subtitle.

(6) A temporary volunteer dentist’s license issued to a dentist under this
title shall be issued for the duration of the temporary dental clinic only and may not be
renewed.

(7) The Board may issue a temporary volunteer dentist’s license to a
dentist who previously held a temporary volunteer dentist’s license if the dentist
applies for a new license and satisfies the requirements of this subtitle.

(8) The Board may not require continuing education as a condition for the
1ssuance of a temporary volunteer dentist’s license.

(e) While it 1s effective, a teacher’s license to practice dentistry issued under
this title authorizes the licensee to practice dentistry at only the following institutions:

(1) The institution named on the license; and

(2) Other affiliated institutions as appropriate because of the specialized
nature of the services to be performed.

) (1) Exceptas provided in subsection (k) of this section, while it is effective,
a general license to practice dental hygiene issued under this title authorizes the
licensee to practice dental hygiene:

(1) Under the supervision of a licensed dentist who 1is:

1. On the premises and available for personal consultation
while the services are being performed; or

2. Not on the premises while authorized dental hygiene
services are provided when the requirements of subsection (1) of this section have been
fully satisfied; and

(1) Only in a:
1. Dental office;

2.  Dental clinic;
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3.  Hospital;
4.  School;
5.  Charitable institution; or

6. Health maintenance organization certified by the State
Insurance Commissioner.

(2) (1) The Board may waive, on a case by case basis only, the
supervision requirements of this subsection for:

1. A dental facility owned and operated by the federal, the
State, or a local government;

2. A health facility licensed by the Department of Health and
Mental Hygiene;

3. A facility providing medical care to the poor, elderly, or
handicapped that is owned and operated by:

A. The State or a local government; or
B. A bona fide charitable organization; or

4.  Any other setting authorized under regulations adopted by
the Board.

(11) A waiver is not required to practice dental hygiene under general
supervision in accordance with subsection (k) of this section.

(3) The Board may grant a waiver under paragraph (2) of this subsection
if:

(1) The facility requesting the waiver has submitted a written
application;

(11) The facility requesting the waiver has submitted a medical
emergency plan of action at the time of application; and

(ii1) The Board finds that:
1.  Good cause exists to justify the granting of the waiver;

2.  Adequate facilities and equipment, including portable
equipment where appropriate and appropriate armamentarium, are available for the
appropriate delivery of dental hygiene services; and

3. Adequate safeguards are present to protect the patient’s
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health and safety.

(4) (1) The Board, upon written request or its own motion, may conduct
a public informational meeting on any waiver application.

(11) The Board shall maintain records of all waiver applications and
the criteria and basis for its action on each application.

(111) The Board shall have the power to inspect or review any facility,
location, person, or entity applying for, covered by, or acting under a waiver.

(5) (1) Except as provided under subparagraph (ii) of this paragraph,
the Board shall accept or deny a waiver under paragraph (2) of this subsection within
60 calendar days of the receipt of the application for the waiver or it shall be deemed
to have been accepted.

(1) If extraordinary circumstances exist, the Board shall accept or
deny a waiver under paragraph (2) of this subsection within 90 calendar days of the
receipt of the application for the waiver or it shall be deemed to have been accepted.

(6) Any changes in the procedures or personnel of a facility with a waiver
granted under this subsection shall be reported to the Board within 15 business days
after the change.

(g) While it is effective, a retired volunteer dental hygienist’s license or a
volunteer dental hygienist’s license to practice dental hygiene issued under this title
authorizes the licensee to practice dental hygiene:

(1) Only in a dental office, dental clinic, ambulatory care facility, or
hospital;

(2) Only for an entity providing medical care to the poor, elderly, or
handicapped that is operated by:

(1) The State or a local government;
(i1) A bona fide charitable organization; or

(111) Any other entity authorized under regulations adopted by the
Board,;

(3) If the dental hygienist signs a written statement agreeing to donate
at least 100 hours of dental hygiene services without compensation in a facility that
satisfies the requirements of items (1) and (2) of this subsection;

(4) If the dental hygienist provides documentation as required by the
Board which evidences that the licensee is covered by malpractice insurance; and



(5) If the dental hygienist does not otherwise practice dental hygiene for
profit in Maryland.

(h) (1) While it is effective, a temporary volunteer dental hygienist’s license
1ssued under this title authorizes the licensee to practice dental hygiene:

(1) Only in a temporary dental clinic providing medical care to the
poor, elderly, or disabled that is operated by:

1. A Dbona fide charitable organization;
2.  The State or a local government; or
3.  Alocal health department;

(11) If the dental hygienist holds a general license to practice dental
hygiene in another state that permits clinical practice and the dental hygienist is not
subject to clinical restrictions;

(111) In addition to holding a general license to practice dental hygiene,
if the dental hygienist:

1.  Provides documentation as required by the Board which
evidences that the dental hygienist passed the North East Regional Board Clinical
Examination; or

2. Submits to the Board a notarized affidavit or other evidence
satisfactory to the Board indicating that for the 3 years preceding application, the
dental hygienist has actively engaged in practicing dental hygiene for at least 150
hours on average per year;

(iv) If the dental hygienist has fulfilled any requirements of the
Board related to knowledge of the laws and regulations governing the practice of
dental hygiene in the State;

(v) Ifthe dental hygienist provides a notarized affidavit to the Board
agreeing to donate dental hygiene services without compensation for a temporary
dental clinic that satisfies the requirements of subsection (i) of this section;

(vi) Ifthe dental hygienist provides documentation as required by the
Board evidencing that the dental hygienist is covered by malpractice insurance;

(vi1) Ifthe dental hygienist does not otherwise practice dental hygiene
for profit in the State; and

(viii) If the dental hygienist provides verification of current
cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification.



(2) A dental hygienist who holds a temporary volunteer dental hygienist’s
license may only provide services authorized under the Maryland Dentistry Act and
the regulations adopted by the Board.

(3) A dental hygienist who holds a temporary volunteer dental hygienist’s
license may not:

(1) Administer local anesthesia; or
(11) Administer, maintain, or monitor nitrous oxide oxygen.

(4) While it 1s effective, a temporary volunteer dental hygienist’s license
issued under this title authorizes the licensee to practice dental hygiene under the
general supervision of a dentist who:

(1) Is on the premises;
(11) Examines the patient at any time during the treatment; and

(1) Is available for personal consultation while the services are being
performed.

(5) A dental hygienist may perform an assessment of dental needs and
provide dental hygiene services prior to an examination by a supervising dentist.

(6) This subsection may not be construed to:

(1) Require a preliminary dental examination or treatment by a
dental hygienist; or

(i1) Prohibit a supervising dentist from either examining a patient or
providing treatment to a patient prior to treatment by a dental hygienist.

(7) The Board may deny a temporary volunteer license to practice dental
hygiene on the grounds provided under § 4-315 of this subtitle.

(8) A temporary volunteer dental hygienist’s license issued to a dental
hygienist under this section shall be issued for the duration of the temporary dental
clinic only and may not be renewed.

(9) The Board may issue a temporary volunteer dental hygienist’s license
to a dental hygienist who previously held a temporary volunteer dental hygienist’s
license if the dental hygienist applies for a new license and satisfies the requirements
of this subtitle.

(10) The Board may not require continuing education as a condition for the
issuance of a temporary volunteer dental hygienist’s license.

(1) (1) While it is effective, a temporary dental clinic permit issued to a bona
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fide charitable organization under this title authorizes the permit holder to utilize
holders of a temporary volunteer dentist’s license or a temporary volunteer dental
hygienist’s license to provide dental services to the poor, elderly, or disabled at a
temporary dental clinic that is operated by the bona fide charitable organization.

(2) The Board shall issue a temporary dental clinic permit to a bona fide
charitable organization that meets the requirements of this subsection.

(3) A temporary dental clinic permit issued to a bona fide charitable
organization under this title shall be issued for the duration of the dental clinic only
and may not be renewed.

(4) The Board may issue a temporary dental clinic permit to a bona
fide charitable organization that previously held a temporary dental clinic permit
if the bona fide charitable organization applies for a new permit and satisfies the
requirements of this subtitle.

(5) A bona fide charitable organization that conducts a temporary dental
clinic under this title may not be construed to be practicing dentistry as defined in §
4-101 of this title.

(6) (1) The State, a local government, or a local health department that
provides dental services to the poor, elderly, or disabled:

1. May not be required by the Board to seek authorization
under this title to provide the services; and

2. Shall provide written notice to the Board of its intention to
provide dental services to the poor, elderly, or disabled at least 60 days prior to the date
the services are to be provided.

(1) A holder of an out—of—state license to practice dentistry or dental
hygiene who would like to provide dental services sponsored by the State, a local
government, or a local health department shall obtain a temporary volunteer dentist’s
license or temporary volunteer dental hygienist’s license as provided in this title before
providing the dental services.

(7) A holder of a temporary dental clinic permit shall have:
(1) A medical emergency plan;

(11) Adequate equipment, including portable equipment where
appropriate, and appropriate armamentarium available for the appropriate delivery
of dental services; and

(111) Adequate safeguards to protect the health and safety of patients.

(8) The Board may:



(1) Enter and inspect a temporary dental clinic in order to carry out
a duty under this title; and

(11) Conduct an investigation of a temporary dental clinic or a holder
of a temporary volunteer dentist’s license or a temporary volunteer dental hygienist’s
license providing dental services at the temporary dental clinic.

() While it is effective, a teacher’s license to practice dental hygiene issued
under this title authorizes the licensee to:

(1) Teach dental hygiene only at the institution named on the license; and

(2) Practice dental hygiene under the general supervision of a licensed
dentist with the institution named on the license.

(k) (1) @) In this subsection the following words have the meanings
indicated.

(1) “Contractual employee” means a dental hygienist who has an
annual contract to practice dental hygiene an average of at least 8 hours per week in
a facility specified under paragraph (3)(1) of this subsection.

(111) “Facility” includes a program operated within a facility that is
specified under paragraph (3)(i) of this subsection.

(1v) “Federally qualified health center” has the meaning stated in 42
U.S.C. § 254Db(a).

(v) “Federally qualified health center look—alike” has the meaning
stated in 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(1)(2)(B).

(vi) “General supervision” means supervision of a dental hygienist
by a dentist, where the dentist may or may not be present when the dental hygienist
performs the dental hygiene procedures.

(2) (1) While effective, a general license to practice dental hygiene
issued under this title authorizes the licensee to practice dental hygiene and apply
sealants or fluoride agents such as professional topical fluoride treatments, mouth
rinse, or varnish:

1. Under general supervision in accordance with this
subsection; and

2. In a facility specified under paragraph (3)(1) of this
subsection that complies with the requirements of this subsection.

(11) This subsection may not be construed to:



1. Authorize a dental hygienist to practice dental hygiene
independent of a supervising dentist;

2. Prohibit a dentist from being available for personal
consultation or on the premises where a dental hygienist is practicing; or

3.  Require a waiver under subsection (f) of this section.

(3) (1) While it is effective, a general license to practice dental hygiene
1ssued under this title authorizes the licensee to practice dental hygiene under general
supervision in:

1. A dental facility owned and operated by the federal, the
State, or a local government;

2. A public health department or public school of the State or
a county;

3.  Afacility in which a program licensed by the Department is
operating;

4. A facility owned and operated by the Department of
Juvenile Services;

5. A facility owned and operated by the State or a local
government that provides medical care to the poor, elderly, or handicapped;

6. A facility in which a federally qualified health center or a
federally qualified health center look—alike is located; or

7. A facility in which a State licensed Head Start Program or
Early Head Start Program operates.

(11) Before a facility may allow a dental hygienist authorized to
practice dental hygiene under general supervision in accordance with this subsection
to practice in the facility, the facility shall report to the Board:

1.  That the facility is operating under general supervision; and

2. The identity of each supervising dentist and each dental
hygienist.

(4) A facility in which a dental hygienist is authorized to practice under
the general supervision of a licensed dentist in accordance with this subsection shall
ensure that:

(1) The supervising dentist for the facility:

1. Holds an active general license to practice dentistry in the
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State;

2. Holds a current certificate evidencing health provider level
C proficiency, or its equivalent, in cardiopulmonary resuscitation; and

3. Has at least 2 years of active clinical practice in direct
patient care;

(11) Each dental hygienist authorized to practice under the general
supervision of a licensed dentist in accordance with this subsection:

1. Holds an active general license to practice dental hygiene
in the State;

2. Holds a current certificate evidencing health provider level
C proficiency, or its equivalent, in cardiopulmonary resuscitation;

3. Has at least 2 years of active clinical practice in direct
patient care; and

4. Is a permanent or contractual employee of the federal
government, a state or local government, or a federally qualified health center;

(111) The facility has:
1. A medical emergency plan;

2. Adequate equipment, including portable equipment where
appropriate and appropriate armamentarium, available for the appropriate delivery of
dental hygiene services; and

3. Adequate safeguards to protect the patient’s health and
safety;

(iv) A recall patient who has been examined by a dental hygienist
practicing under the general supervision of a licensed dentist will be scheduled for an
oral examination every 6 months, or as otherwise recommended by the supervising
dentist;

(v) A dental hygienist practicing under the general supervision of
a licensed dentist ascertains before treating a recall patient that there has been no
change in the patient’s medical history;

(vi) A dental hygienist consults with the supervising dentist, the
patient’s dentist, or a treating physician before proceeding with treatment if there is
a change in the patient’s medical history;

(vil) Adequate facilities and equipment are available for the delivery
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of dental hygiene services other than fluoride rinse programs; and

(viil) The facility reports to the Board any changes in the status of the
facility’s general supervision, any supervising dentist, or any dental hygienist within
30 days after the change.

(D (1) In this subsection, “private dental office” means a dental office owned
and operated by:

(1) A licensed dentist; or

(11) A professional corporation, partnership, limited liability
company, or limited liability partnership owned and controlled by a licensed dentist.

(2) While it is effective, a general license to practice dental hygiene issued
under this title authorizes the licensee to practice dental hygiene under the general
supervision of a licensed dentist in a private dental office.

(3) A private dental office in which a dental hygienist is authorized to
practice under the general supervision of a licensed dentist shall ensure that:

(1) The supervising dentist holds an active license to practice
dentistry in this State;

(11) The dental hygienist holds an active license to practice dental
hygiene in this State;

(i111) The dental hygienist has at least 1,500 hours of dental hygiene
clinical practice in direct patient care; and

(iv) There i1s a written agreement between the supervising dentist
and the dental hygienist practicing under general supervision that clearly sets forth
the terms and conditions under which the dental hygienist may practice, including a
statement that the dental hygienist may provide dental hygiene services without the
supervising dentist on the premises.

(4) A dental hygienist may perform authorized dental hygiene services
without the supervising dentist on the premises only if:

(1) After the supervising dentist examines and evaluates a patient,
the prescribed and authorized treatment to be provided by the dental hygienist is
written in the patient’s records;

(11) 1. Treatments authorized by a supervising dentist to be
provided by the dental hygienist are rendered no later than 7 months from the date
the patient was examined and evaluated by the supervising dentist; and

2. Upon expiration of a prescription or prescribed treatment,
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the supervising dentist examines and reevaluates the patient before writing a new
prescription and authorization for treatment;

(111) Prior to an appointment, the patient or the custodial parent or
legal guardian of a minor or incompetent adult shall:

1. Be informed that a dental hygienist will be providing
services previously prescribed by a dentist who will not be on the premises during the
appointment; and

2.  Consent to receiving the dental hygiene services;

(iv) Written emergency procedures are in place and the dental
hygienist is trained to implement the emergency procedures;

(v) A designated licensed dentist is available for consultation with
the dental hygienist; and

(vi) The number of unsupervised clinical hours worked by a
supervised dental hygienist in any given 3—month period is less than 60 percent of the
dental hygienist’s total hours worked during that 3—month period.

(5) A supervising dentist may not employ more than two dental hygienists
to work under the dentist’s general supervision at any given time.

(m) (1) (@) In this subsection the following words have the meanings
indicated.

(11) “Assisted living program” has the meaning stated in § 19-1801
of the Health — General Article.

(111) “General supervision” means supervision of a dental hygienist
by a dentist, where the dentist may or may not be present when the dental hygienist
performs the dental hygiene procedures.

(iv) “Long—term care facility” means:
1. A nursing home; or
2.  An assisted living program.

(v) “Nursing home” has the meaning stated in § 19-1401 of the
Health — General Article.

(2) (1) While it is effective, a general license to practice dental hygiene
issued under this title authorizes the licensee to practice dental hygiene under the
general supervision of a licensed dentist in a long—term care facility in accordance with
this subsection.
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(11) This subsection may not be construed to:

1. Authorize a dental hygienist to practice dental hygiene
independent of a supervising dentist;

2.  Prohibit a dentist from being available for personal
consultation or on the premises where a dental hygienist is practicing;

3.  Prohibit a dental hygienist, without the supervision of a
dentist, from performing a preliminary dental examination with subsequent referral
to a dentist; or

4.  Require a waiver under subsection (f) of this section.

(3) Before a dental hygienist is authorized to practice dental hygiene
under general supervision in a long—term care facility in accordance with this
subsection, the dental hygienist shall:

(1) Hold an active license to practice dental hygiene in the State;

(11) Hold a current certificate evidencing health provider level C
proficiency, or its equivalent, in cardiopulmonary resuscitation;

(111) Have at least 2 years of active clinical practice in direct patient
care; and

(iv) Ensure that the long—term care facility where the dental
hygienist will practice under general supervision has:

1. A written medical emergency plan in place;

2.  Adequate equipment, including portable equipment and
appropriate armamentarium, available for the appropriate delivery of dental hygiene
services; and

3. Adequate safeguards to protect the patient’s health and
safety.

(4) Before a dental hygienist is authorized to practice dental hygiene
under general supervision in a long—term care facility in accordance with this
subsection, the supervising dentist shall:

(1) Hold an active general license to practice dentistry in the State;

(11) Hold a current certificate evidencing health provider level C
proficiency, or its equivalent, in cardiopulmonary resuscitation; and

(111) Have at least 2 years of active clinical practice in direct patient
care.
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(5) A dental hygienist practicing under the general supervision of a
licensed dentist in a long—term care facility and performing an authorized dental
hygiene service for a patient’s initial appointment shall:

(1) Have a written agreement between the supervising dentist and
the dental hygienist that clearly sets forth the terms and conditions under which the
dental hygienist may practice, including a statement that the dental hygienist may
provide dental hygiene services without the supervising dentist on the premises;

(11) Ensure that the supervising dentist is available for consultation
with the dental hygienist:

1. In person;
2. By telephone; or
3. Electronically;

(111) Consult with the supervising dentist or a treating physician
before proceeding with initial treatment if there is a change in a recall patient’s
medical history;

(iv) Assess the appropriate recall interval based on the individual
needs of the patient, or as otherwise recommended by the supervising dentist;

(v) Limit dental hygiene tasks and procedures to:
1.  Toothbrush prophylaxis;
2. Application of fluoride;
3.  Dental hygiene instruction;

4. Assessment of the patient’s apparent need for further
evaluation by a dentist in order to diagnose the presence of dental disease; and

5.  Other duties as may be delegated, verbally or in writing, by
the supervising dentist; and

(vi) Submit findings of the initial assessment to the supervising
dentist for a determination of future treatment.

(6) A dental hygienist may perform subsequent authorized dental hygiene
services without the supervising dentist on the premises only if:

(1) The supervising dentist examines the patient and authorizes in
the patient’s record a prescription of specific treatment to be provided by the dental
hygienist;
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(11) An authorized treatment is provided by the dental hygienist as
soon as possible, but no later than 7 months from the date the patient was examined
by the supervising dentist; and

(111) Upon expiration of a prescribed treatment, the supervising
dentist is responsible for determining future protocols for the treatment of the patient.
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