HOUSE BILL 1129

 L_5 6lr1107 By: Prince George's County Delegation and Montgomery County Delegation Introduced and read first time: February 11, 2016 Assigned to: Environment and Transportation Committee Report: Favorable with amendments House action: Adopted Read second time: March 17, 2016 CHAPTER AN ACT concerning Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission – Commissioners Appointed From Montgomery County - Qualifications PG/MC 116–16 FOR the purpose of repealing a requirement that not more than two members of the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission from Montgomery County be of the same political party repealing a requirement that members of the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission from Montgomery County reside in the Washington Suburban Sanitary District; and generally relating to qualifications of the members of the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission appointed from Montgomery County. BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments, Article – Public Utilities Section 17–102 Annotated Code of Maryland (2010 Replacement Volume and 2015 Supplement) SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows: Article - Public Utilities 17-102.

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10 11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.

- 1 (a) The Commission consists of:
- 2 (1) three commissioners from Prince George's County, appointed by the 3 County Executive subject to the confirmation of the County Council; and
- 4 (2) three commissioners from Montgomery County, appointed by the 5 County Executive subject to the confirmation of the County Council.
- 6 (b) (1) Each commissioner <u>FROM PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY</u> shall be a 7 resident of the sanitary district.
- 8 (2) (i) Each commissioner from Montgomery County shall be a 9 registered voter of Montgomery County.
- 10 (ii) Each commissioner from Prince George's County shall be a 11 registered voter of Prince George's County.
- 12 (c) $\{(1)\}$ An individual may not be appointed or continue in office as a commissioner if the individual holds any other position of profit or trust under the Constitution or laws of the State or any political subdivision of the State.
- 15 •• Not more than two commissioners from Montgomery County may be of 16 the same political party.
- 17 (d) (1) The term of a commissioner is 4 years and begins on June 1 of the year 18 of appointment.
- 19 (2) The terms of commissioners are staggered as required by the terms 20 provided for commissioners on July 1, 1982.
- 21 (3) At the end of a term, a commissioner continues to serve until a successor 22 is appointed and takes the oath of office.
- 23 (4) A commissioner who is appointed after a term has begun serves only for the rest of the term and until a successor is appointed and takes the oath of office.
- 25 (5) A vacancy on the Commission does not impair the right of the 26 remaining commissioners to exercise all the powers of the Commission.
- SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect October 1, 2016.