M1 6lr1901 CF 6lr1900

By: Senator Mathias (Chair, Joint Committee on the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays Critical Areas)

Introduced and read first time: January 15, 2016

Assigned to: Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs

A BILL ENTITLED

| 1 | AN ACT concerning |
|----------------------------|---|
| 2 3 | Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays – Membership From Ocean City |
| 4 5 6 | FOR the purpose of authorizing the Mayor of Ocean City to appoint a designee of the Mayor as a member of the Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays. |
| 7 8 9 10 11 | BY repealing and reenacting, without amendments, Article – Natural Resources Section 8–1803(a) Annotated Code of Maryland (2012 Replacement Volume and 2015 Supplement) |
| 12 13 14 15 16 | BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments, Article – Natural Resources Section 8–1804(a) Annotated Code of Maryland (2012 Replacement Volume and 2015 Supplement) |
| 17 18 | SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows: |
| 19 | Article - Natural Resources |
| 20 | 8–1803. |
| 21 22 | (a) There is a Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays in the Department. |
| 23 | 8–1804 |

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.



31

- The Commission consists of 29 voting members who are appointed by 1 (1) (a) 2 the Governor, as follows: 3 (i) A full-time chairman, appointed with the advice and consent of 4 the Senate, who shall serve at the pleasure of the Governor: 5 (ii) 13 individuals, appointed with the advice and consent of the 6 Senate, each of whom is a resident and an elected or appointed official of a local jurisdiction. 7 At least 1 of these 13 individuals must be an elected or appointed official of a municipality. 8 These individuals shall serve on the Commission only while they hold local office. Each shall be selected from certain counties or from municipalities within the counties as follows, 9 10 and only after the Governor has consulted with elected county and municipal officials: 11 1. 1 from each of Baltimore City and Anne Arundel, 12 Baltimore, and Prince George's counties; 13 2. 1 from Harford County or Cecil County; 14 3. 1 from Kent County or Queen Anne's County; 15 4. 1 from Caroline County; 16 1 from Talbot County or Dorchester County; 5. 17 6. 1 from Wicomico County or Somerset County; 18 7. 2 from Calvert County, Charles County, or St. Mary's 19 County, both of whom may not be from the same county; and 20 8. 2 from Worcester County, 1 of whom shall be a resident of 21the Chesapeake Bay Watershed and the other of whom shall be a resident of the Atlantic 22 Coastal Bays Watershed; 23 8 individuals, appointed with the advice and consent of the 24Senate, who shall represent diverse interests, and among whom shall be a resident from 25each of the 5 counties that are listed and from which an appointment has not been made 26 under paragraph (2) of this subsection and 3 of the 8 members appointed under this item 27 shall be at large members, 1 of whom shall be a private citizen and resident of the Atlantic 28 Coastal Bays Watershed; and 29 (iv) The Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Housing and 30 Community Development, the Environment, Transportation, Natural Resources, and
- 32 (2) Of the 2 Worcester County members from the Atlantic Coastal Bays 33 Watershed, 1 shall be the Mayor of Ocean City **OR THE DESIGNEE OF THE MAYOR**.

Planning, ex officio, or the designee of the Secretaries.

SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect June 2 $\,$ 1, 2016.