Chapter 51

(Senate Bill 132)

AN ACT concerning

Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays - Membership From Ocean City

FOR the purpose of authorizing the Mayor of Ocean City to appoint a designee of the Mayor as a member of the Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays; establishing that a certain member of the Commission who is the Mayor of Ocean City or the designee of the Mayor is not subject to the advice and consent of the Senate; and generally relating to membership from Ocean City on the Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays.

BY repealing and reenacting, without amendments,

Article – Natural Resources

Section 8–1803(a)

Annotated Code of Maryland

(2012 Replacement Volume and 2015 Supplement)

BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,

Article – Natural Resources

Section 8–1804(a)

Annotated Code of Maryland

(2012 Replacement Volume and 2015 Supplement)

SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

Article - Natural Resources

8-1803.

(a) There is a Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays in the Department.

8-1804.

- (a) (1) The Commission consists of 29 voting members who are appointed by the Governor, as follows:
- (i) A full-time chairman, appointed with the advice and consent of the Senate, who shall serve at the pleasure of the Governor;

- (ii) 13 individuals, appointed with the advice and consent of the Senate, each of whom is a resident and an elected or appointed official of a local jurisdiction. At least 1 of these 13 individuals must be an elected or appointed official of a municipality. These individuals shall serve on the Commission only while they hold local office. Each shall be selected from certain counties or from municipalities within the counties as follows, and only after the Governor has consulted with elected county and municipal officials:
- 1. 1 from each of Baltimore City and Anne Arundel, Baltimore, and Prince George's counties;
 - 2. 1 from Harford County or Cecil County;
 - 3. 1 from Kent County or Queen Anne's County;
 - 4. 1 from Caroline County;
 - 5. 1 from Talbot County or Dorchester County;
 - 6. 1 from Wicomico County or Somerset County;
- 7. 2 from Calvert County, Charles County, or St. Mary's County, both of whom may not be from the same county; and
- 8. 2 from Worcester County, 1 of whom shall be a resident of the Chesapeake Bay Watershed and the other of whom shall be a resident of the Atlantic Coastal Bays Watershed;
- (iii) 8 individuals, appointed with the advice and consent of the Senate, who shall represent diverse interests, and among whom shall be a resident from each of the 5 counties that are listed and from which an appointment has not been made under paragraph (2) of this subsection and 3 of the 8 members appointed under this item shall be at large members, 1 of whom shall be a private citizen and resident of the Atlantic Coastal Bays Watershed; and
- (iv) The Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Housing and Community Development, the Environment, Transportation, Natural Resources, and Planning, ex officio, or the designee of the Secretaries.
- (2) (I) Of the 2 Worcester County members from the Atlantic Coastal Bays Watershed, 1 shall be the Mayor of Ocean City OR THE DESIGNEE OF THE MAYOR.
- (II) NOTWITHSTANDING PARAGRAPH (1) OF THIS SUBSECTION, A MEMBER FROM THE ATLANTIC COASTAL BAYS WATERSHED WHO IS THE MAYOR OF OCEAN CITY OR THE DESIGNEE OF THE MAYOR IS NOT SUBJECT TO THE ADVICE AND CONSENT OF THE SENATE.

SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect June 1, 2016.

Approved by the Governor, April 12, 2016.