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This bill requires the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DHMH) to reimburse 

community providers located in Prince George’s County at a rate sufficient to ensure that 

the hourly wage paid to community direct service workers in the county is the same 

percentage above the county minimum wage rate as community direct service workers 

outside the county are paid above the State minimum wage rate.  The county has to 

reimburse DHMH for the additional cost of reimbursing community providers located in 

Prince George’s County at the increased rates (after DHMH notifies the county of the 

amount required for reimbursement); that amount must be used to fund the increased rates. 
 

The bill takes effect July 1, 2016. 
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Expenditures for the Developmental Disabilities Administration (DDA) 

increase in FY 2017 to modify existing programs to calculate and pay provider rates in, 

and to collect reimbursement from, Prince George’s County.  As DDA must be reimbursed 

by Prince George’s County, there is no net impact on DDA for increased provider rates, 

although federal matching funding may be affected. 
  

Local Effect:  Expenditures for Prince George’s County increase by a significant but 

unknown amount beginning in FY 2017.  This bill imposes a mandate on a unit of local 

government. 
 

Small Business Effect:  Meaningful.  Providers in Prince George’s County receive 

additional funding to pay community direct service workers higher hourly wages, based on 

the current county minimum wage. 
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Analysis 
 

Current Law/Background:   
 

Minimum Wage in Maryland 

 

The Maryland Wage and Hour Law is the State complement to the federal Fair Labor 

Standards Act (FLSA) of 1938.  State law sets minimum wage standards to provide a 

maintenance level consistent with the needs of the population.  State law specifies that an 

employee must be paid the greater of the federal minimum wage, which is currently 

$7.25 per hour, or the State minimum wage.  Under Chapter 262 of 2014, with limited 

exceptions, the State minimum wage increased from $8.00 per hour to $8.25 per hour on 

July 1, 2015.  The State minimum wage is scheduled to increase on an incremental basis 

to: 

 

 $8.75 per hour as of July 1, 2016; 

 $9.25 per hour as of July 1, 2017; and 

 $10.10 per hour as of July 1, 2018. 

 

The Maryland Wage and Hour Law, and minimum wage requirements, do not apply to 

certain categories of employees, including those defined as administrative, executive, or 

professional, certain seasonal employees, part-time employees younger than age 16, or 

employees training in a special education program in a public school. 

 

Minimum Wage in Prince Georges County 

 

Prince George’s County passed a local minimum wage law in 2013, phasing in minimum 

wage increases over four years.  Thus, the county minimum wage increased to $8.40 per 

hour beginning October 1, 2014, and to $9.55 per hour beginning October 1, 2015.  

The remaining scheduled increases are to: 

 

 $10.75 per hour as of October 1, 2016; and  

 $11.50 per hour as of October 1, 2017.   

 

The county minimum wage does not apply to an employee who is exempt from the 

minimum wage requirements of the Maryland Wage and Hour Law or the federal FLSA or 

to an employee who is younger than age 19 and is employed no more than 20 hours in a 

week.  
 

Montgomery County passed a similar law, Montgomery County Bill 27-13, the same year. 
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Community-based Services  

 

DDA provides community-based services through a variety of programs.  Examples of 

community-based services include resource coordination, residential habilitation, day 

habilitation, supported employment, family and individual support services, and 

community-supported living arrangements.  Chapter 262 of 2014 included 3.5% rate 

increases for community services providers from fiscal 2016 through 2019.  The increase 

for fiscal 2016 only was subsequently moderated to be 3% in the operating budget 

(Chapter 310 of 2015).  

 

Serving individuals in the community continues to be the model of service delivery pursued 

by DDA.  Accordingly, DDA’s Community Services Program has experienced significant 

budgetary growth in recent years, in large part due to expansion of services, including the 

Transitioning Youth Program, crisis services, emergency services, court-involved 

placements, and Waiting List Equity Fund placements.  Community services are typically 

expanded every year.  In fiscal 2016, expenditures reached $1.03 billion (total funds).  

The Governor’s proposed fiscal 2017 State budget includes $1.09 billion (including a 

$569.72 million mandated general fund appropriation) for contractual community services. 

 

State Expenditures:  DDA advises that it is in the process of phasing out its existing 

information technology (IT) system and transitioning to a new system in the next 18 to 

24 months.  Altering the reimbursement rate for community providers located in 

Prince George’s County would require a change order to the vendor responsible for 

implementing the new IT system.  Without a specific scope of work, an estimate for the 

costs of such a change cannot be reliably estimated.   

 

DDA also advises that the majority of services provided by the providers in Prince Gorge’s 

County fall under the Community Pathways Waiver, which receives matching federal 

funds.  As such, the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services would need to 

approve the increased reimbursement rate.  In order to justify the increased rate, 

DDA would likely be required to submit a unique rate study.  The costs associated with 

hiring a contractor to perform the rate study, according to DDA, might range from $50,000 

to $100,000, but a precise estimate is not available at this time.  

 

Local Expenditures:  Prince George’s County expenditures increase, beginning in fiscal 

2017, to reflect reimbursements to DHMH to ensure that the minimum hourly wage for 

community direct service workers in Prince George’s County meets the requirements of 

the bill.  Prince George’s County was unable to produce a credible estimate of the costs 

associated with the bill’s requirements in time for this analysis.  Even so, a provider 

advocacy group, the Prince George’s Provider Council, which represents the interests of 

several community-based services providers, has estimated that the total cost of the bill 

could reach $7.29 million in fiscal 2017, including $4.23 million from Prince George’s 
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County and an anticipated $3.06 million in federal matching funds.  However, the data 

used to develop this estimate was not made available, and as such, this amount is only 

illustrative of the magnitude of the impact on Prince George’s County, rather than a specific 

cost estimate. 

 

Additional Comments:  DDA advises that it has retained an outside consultant to conduct 

a rate-setting study for all services paid for by DDA.  The consultant is aware of the 

minimum wage requirements in Prince George’s County, and it is expected that the 

consultant’s report will provide some guidance on how to handle this issue, as the same 

concern regarding the county minimum wage exists in Montgomery County.   

 

DDA further advises that the difficulty of estimating the fiscal impact of the bill is due in 

substantial part to the fundamental difference between the way the bill calculates the 

increased rate to be paid to providers in Prince George’s County, and the way providers 

are currently paid.  DDA reimburses providers based on rates for specific services provided 

to individuals, not based on what staffing agencies pay their employees.  Further, neither 

DDA nor Prince George’s County has employee-specific information that could be used to 

calculate the impact of the bill’s requirements.  While wage expenditures are reported by 

providers as part of an annual wage survey, which includes breakdowns based on groups 

of employees, the information is not detailed enough to calculate the rate increase required 

to allow funds to be passed along to the lowest paid employees.  DDA notes that some 

information included in the survey responses is incorrect or missing such that DDA is only 

able to identify the number of employees employed by 18 of the approximately 28 providers 

operating in Prince George’s County. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Prince George’s County, Department of Health and Mental 

Hygiene, Prince George’s Provider Council, Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 8, 2016 

 mel/ljm 

 

Analysis by:   Nathan W. McCurdy  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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