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Personal Property Tax - Exemption - Small Business

This bill exempts, for fiscal 2017 through 2021, personal property from valuation and
property tax if it is owned by a business with less than $100,000 in revenue during the
taxable year and is purchased on or after July 1, 2016.

The bill takes effect June 1, 2016.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: None.

Local Effect: Local property tax revenues will decrease by a significant amount in
FY 2018 through 2021. The actual decrease depends on the number of qualifying
businesses and the assessed value of personal property. Local government expenditures
are not affected. This bill imposes a mandate on a unit of local government.

Small Business Effect: Potential meaningful. Small businesses that have less than
$100,000 in revenue will pay less in personal property taxes.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Analysis

Current Law: In Maryland, there is a tax on business-owned personal property that is
imposed and collected by local governments. Personal property generally includes
business property including furniture, fixtures, office and industrial equipment, machinery,
tools, supplies, inventory, and any other property not classified as real property. To provide
for uniform assessments, the State Department of Assessments and Taxation (SDAT) is
responsible for assessing all personal property. Each county or municipal government is
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responsible for issuing the tax bills and collecting the tax. The tax year begins on July 1
and ends on June 30. The personal property tax has been a local tax exclusively since 1984
when the State tax rate on personal property was set at zero.

At the beginning of each calendar year SDAT mails a personal property tax return to most
businesses on record. Businesses must file the return by April 15, reporting personal
property located in Maryland on January 1, the “date of finality.” The date of finality is
the date used to determine ownership, location, value, and liability for tax purposes.
An annual report fee is required to be paid to SDAT with the personal property tax return.
The annual report fee is for the privilege of maintaining the legal entity’s existence in the
State.

Personal property, except inventory, is assessed based on the original cost less an annual
depreciation allowance. The depreciation rate is determined based on the category of
property. Seven rate categories (A through G) each pertain to different types of personal
property. Except for data processing equipment and canned software, property may not be
depreciated below 25%. For example, an item that was purchased for $400 would be
reduced by the depreciation factor each year until it reaches a minimum of $100. Inventory
Is valued at its fair average value using the cost or market value, whichever is lower.

Certain personal property is exempt by statute or local law. Exemptions generally fall into
two categories: those mandated by State law and those that are optional to local
governments. There are certain organizations or groups whose personal property is exempt
throughout the State. These organizations include religious groups, governmental entities,
nonprofit hospitals, cemetery and mausoleum companies, and certain other groups that
meet specified strict use criteria. In addition, State law requires that certain types of
personal property be fully exempt throughout the State. These include aircraft, farming
implements, residential (nonbusiness) property, most registered vehicles, boats not more
than 100 feet in length, hand tools of mechanics or artisans, and intangible personal
property (e.g., stocks, bonds, patents, goodwill, trademarks, etc.).

State law authorizes local governments to exempt certain types of personal property.
The county or municipality where the property is located may authorize a full or partial
exemption. The most significant categories that may be exempt from the personal property
tax are commercial inventory, manufacturing and research and development inventory, and
manufacturing and research and development machinery. Twenty-one counties offer
exemptions for 100% of all three categories. Five of these counties (Frederick, Garrett,
Kent, Queen Anne’s, and Talbot) have elected to exempt all business personal property
from county taxation. The three remaining subdivisions do not offer a 100% exemption in
all categories but offer exemptions ranging from 0% to 65% for various commercial
inventory, manufacturing inventory, and machinery.
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Background: As shown in Exhibit 1, the statewide assessable base for business personal
property totals $12.3 billion in fiscal 2016. Among counties that impose the business
personal property tax, the assessable base ranges from a high of $2.3 billion in
Montgomery County to a low of $34.1 million in Somerset County. Tax rates on business
personal property range from $2.09 in Worcester County to $5.62 in Baltimore City.

Exhibit 1
County Business Personal Property Base
Fiscal 2016
Business
County Tax Rate Personal Property
Allegany $2.4450 $184,616,721
Anne Arundel 2.3070 1,567,105,677
Baltimore City 5.6200 1,060,171,330
Baltimore 2.7500 1,760,793,226
Calvert 2.2300 115,513,235
Caroline 2.4500 57,326,479
Carroll 2.5150 283,917,151
Cecill 2.4768 239,755,057
Charles 3.0125 521,201,660
Dorchester 2.4400 0
Frederick 0.0000 0
Garrett 0.0000 121,469,520
Harford 2.6049 575,150,767
Howard 2.9750 1,062,520,181
Kent 0.0000 0
Montgomery 2.4975 2,263,632,060
Prince George’s 3.4350 1,466,649,980
Queen Anne’s 0.0000 0
St. Mary’s 2.1308 164,162,831
Somerset 2.5000 34,092,186
Talbot 0.0000 0
Washington 2.3700 395,701,992
Wicomico 2.1715 222,741,705
Worcester 2.0875 207,188,047
Total $12,303,709,805

Source: State Department of Assessments and Taxation
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Local Fiscal Effect: The bill exempts personal property from valuation and property tax
if it is owned by a business with less than $100,000 in revenue during the taxable year and
is purchased on or after July 1, 2016. As a result, local government revenues will decrease
in fiscal 2018 through 2021. The amount of the decrease depends on the amount of
businesses that are eligible for the personal property tax exemption and the value of the
personal property owned by those businesses, neither of which can be reliably estimated
due to a lack of data that correlates the amount of revenue a business may have and the
amount of personal property it may have. As a point of reference, if it is assumed that
businesses eligible for the tax credit under the bill comprise 5% of the business personal
property assessable base, local property tax revenues may decrease by approximately
$17.9 million annually from fiscal 2018 through 2021.

This estimate is based on the fact that the vast majority of the assessable base for business
personal property in Maryland is owned by relatively large entities. As shown in Exhibit 2,
while less than 20% of personal property accounts had an assessed value of greater than
$50,000, these accounts represented over 90% of the total assessable base for business
personal property. In contrast, 71.7% of personal property accounts in Maryland had an
assessed value of $25,000 or less. However, these accounts represent approximately 5%
of the total assessable base for business personal property.

Exhibit 2
Business Personal Property
Accounts and Assessable Base

Fiscal 2015
Percent of

Number Total Assessable Percent of
Assessable Base of Accounts  Accounts Base Total Base
Base under $10,000 72,443 55.7% $231,585,630 2.1%
Base $10,001-$25,000 20,838 16.0% 334,948,480 3.0%
Base $25,001-$50,000 12,485 9.6% 443,843,850 3.9%
Base $50,001-$100,000 9,277 7.1% 658,290,770 5.8%
Base Over $100,000 14,980 11.5% 9,625,661,740 85.2%
Total 130,023 100.0% $11,294,330,470 100.0%
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Additional Information

Prior Introductions: HB 446 of 2015 received a hearing in the House Ways and Means
Committee but was subsequently withdrawn.

Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Maryland Association of Counties, Maryland Municipal League,
State Department of Assessments and Taxation, Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 15, 2016
kb/hlb

Analysis by: Michael Sanelli Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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