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Economic Matters Finance

Motor Vehicle Insurance - VVolunteer Drivers

This bill prohibits motor vehicle liability insurers from (1) canceling or refusing to issue
an insurance policy to an insured or applicant solely because he or she is a volunteer driver
or (2) imposing a surcharge or increasing the rates on a policy because the insured or
applicant, a member of the insured’s or applicant’s family, or someone who normally
operates the insured’s or applicant’s motor vehicle is a volunteer driver. “Volunteer driver”
means an individual who provides driving services, including the transportation of people
or goods, to a legally recognized charitable or not-for-profit organization in the State
without compensation other than for expenses.

The bill must be construed to apply to every policy of motor vehicle liability insurance
issued, sold, delivered, or renewed in the State on or after January 1, 2017.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Minimal increase in Maryland Insurance Administration (MIA) special fund
revenues in FY 2017 due to $125 rate and form filings. Review of the filings can be
handled with existing resources.

Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund (MAIF) Effect: The bill does not affect MAIF
operations or finances; MAIF does not alter its policies based on the volunteer driver status
of its policyholders.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: None.



Analysis

Current Law/Background: Maryland law requires an owner of a motor vehicle that is
required to be registered in the State to maintain insurance for the vehicle during the
registration period. The security required must provide at least the payment of claims:

° for bodily injury or death arising from an accident of up to $30,000 for any one
person and up to $60,000 for any two or more persons;

° for property of others damaged or destroyed in an accident of up to $15,000;
o unless waived, for personal injury protection of $2,500 per person; and

° for uninsured motorist coverage (unless waived, the amount equals the amount of
liability coverage provided under the policy; if waived, the amount equals the
minimum required insurance for liability coverage).

Automobile liability insurance coverage is mandatory in 49 states and the District of
Columbia. Only New Hampshire does not have compulsory automobile insurance liability
laws; however, its law requires financial responsibility (i.e., sufficient assets to pay claims
against the motorist if the motorist causes an accident and does not have automobile
insurance) to operate a vehicle. According to the Insurance Information Institute, of all
50 states and the District of Columbia, the most common required minimum liability
coverage is $25,000 (for an individual injured in an accident)/$50,000 (for all injuries in
an accident).

Examples of organizations that provide the type of service described by the bill include
“Partners in Care” in Anne Arundel County and “Neighbor Ride” in Howard County.
Volunteers for both organizations provide transportation for seniors who may not have
their own transportation.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Maryland Insurance Administration, Maryland Automobile
Insurance Fund, Insurance Information Institute, Department of Legislative Services
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