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Judicial Proceedings

Motor Vehicles - Lamps and Lights - Use When Windshield Wipers Operating

This bill requires the use of tail lamps (as well as headlamps) while operating a vehicle on
a highway when windshield wipers are continuously operated due to weather conditions
that impair visibility. The bill repeals the authorization for a driver to use fog lights instead
of headlamps, under the conditions described above.

The bill takes effect July 1, 2016.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Enforcement can be handled with existing resources. The bill’s changes are
not expected to have a material impact on State finances.

Local Effect: Enforcement can be handled with existing resources. Revenues are not
affected.

Small Business Effect: None.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Analysis

Current Law: If a driver of a vehicle on a highway operates the vehicle’s windshield
wipers for a continuous period due to weather conditions that impair visibility, the driver
is required to light the vehicle’s headlamps or fog lights. A person who violates this
provision is guilty of a misdemeanor and is subject to a maximum fine of $25. The
prepayment penalty established by the District Court is $50, which includes court costs.



A violation is not considered a moving violation for which points may be assessed. A
conviction may not be considered evidence of negligence or contributory negligence, limit
the liability of a party or insurer, or diminish recovery for damages arising out of the
ownership, maintenance, or operation of a motor vehicle. Reference to violating the
requirement to turn on headlamps or fog lights may not be made by a party, witness, or
counsel in a court action. However, this provision may not be construed to prohibit the
right of a person to initiate a civil action for damages against a dealer, manufacturer,
distributor, factory branch, or other appropriate entity that relates to a defectively installed
or operating headlamp or fog light.

A police officer may only enforce this requirement as a secondary action when the officer
detains a driver of a motor vehicle for a suspected violation of another provision of State
law.

The Maryland Vehicle Law requires every vehicle on a highway, at any time when, due to
insufficient light or unfavorable atmospheric conditions, persons and vehicles 1,000 feet
ahead are not clearly discernible, to display the vehicle’s lighted lamps and/or illuminating
devices, as specified. A violation is a misdemeanor, subject to primary enforcement, with
a maximum fine of $500. The prepayment penalty for this offense is $60.

Generally, a violation of any provision of the Maryland Vehicle Law is considered a
misdemeanor with a maximum fine of $500 unless the violation is declared to be a felony,
a different criminal penalty is established, or the violation is punishable by a civil penalty.

Background: District Court records indicate that, in fiscal 2015, a total of 401 citations
were filed for failing to turn on headlamps or fog lights while operating a vehicle with
windshield wipers due to unfavorable visibility conditions. Of the 401 citations issued,
drivers prepaid 223 citations, 93 went to trial, and 85 remained open.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: HB 294 (Delegate Stein, et al.) - Environment and Transportation.

Information Source(s): Department of State Police, Maryland Department of
Transportation, Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History: First Reader - February 8, 2016
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