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This bill authorizes a hospital or health care provider that uses or maintains medical records 

in an electronic format to charge a separate fee for an electronic copy of a medical record 

and alters the fees a health care provider may charge for a paper copy of a medical record.  

For paper or electronic format medical records, a hospital or health care provider may 

charge a preparation fee of up to $22.88 for records retrieval and preparation, as well as 

the actual cost for postage and handling.  A health care provider may charge a fee of 

76 cents per page for paper medical records, while a hospital or health care provider may 

charge a per page fee of 75% of the per page fee for paper medical records for an electronic 

format medical record (subject to a cap of $80).  The bill prohibits the fees charged for 

retrieval and preparation of a medical record in any format from being annually adjusted 

for inflation. 

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Any change in State activities does not materially affect State finances. 

  

Local Effect:  Any change in local health department activities does not materially affect 

local government finances. 

  

Small Business Effect:  Potential minimal. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  The federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) 

of 1996’s Privacy Rule requires a health care provider to provide an individual with access 

to the individual’s protected health information (PHI) in the form and format requested by 
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the individual, if it is readily producible in such form and format or, if not, in a readable 

hard copy form or such other form and format as agreed to by the health care provider and 

the individual.  The health care provider may impose a reasonable, cost-based fee, as long 

as the fee includes only the cost of (1) labor for copying the PHI requested by the 

individual, whether in paper or electronic form; (2) supplies for creating the paper copy or 

electronic media if the individual requests that the electronic copy be provided on portable 

media; and (3) postage, when the individual has requested that the copy, or the summary 

or explanation, be mailed. 

 

Under § 4-304 of the Health-General Article, a health care provider must comply within a 

reasonable time after a “person in interest” requests, in writing, to receive a copy of a 

“medical record.”  A medical record is defined as any oral, written, or other transmission, 

in any form or medium of information that is entered in the record of a patient or recipient 

and relates to the health care of the patient or recipient.  A person in interest includes an 

attorney appointed in writing by a patient.  A health care provider may charge a fee for a 

copy of a medical record.  The fee for copying and mailing may not exceed 50 cents per 

page.  A health care provider may also charge a preparation fee of up to $15, plus the actual 

cost for postage and handling.  These fees represent the maximum base fees for 1994 and 

may be adjusted annually, beginning July 1, 1995, for inflation in accordance with the 

Consumer Price Index; thus, providers may charge higher fees due to inflation.   
 

Background:  The Maryland Board of Physicians and the Maryland Board of Podiatric 

Medical Examiners post the current fees on their respective websites, advising that, as of 

January 1, 2014, a health care provider may charge a preparation fee of $22.88, plus a fee 

of no more than 76 cents per page copied, plus the actual cost of shipping and handling.  

The boards advise that federal HIPAA regulations prohibit a preparation fee for medical 

records provided directly to a patient. 

 

Some states, including Illinois, Louisiana, Maine, Missouri, New Mexico, North Dakota, 

Texas, and Virginia, establish a separate fee structure for medical records provided in 

electronic form. 

 

According to the Maryland Health Care Commission (MHCC) and the Maryland Hospital 

Association (MHA), although the HIPAA Privacy Rule requires health care providers to 

make medical records available to patients in the format requested by the patient, the 

technology for doing so is not yet readily available.  MHCC staff advises that the necessary 

technology is still some years away.  MHA staff advises that hospitals are at different stages 

of electronic health record implementation.  Some hospitals may not be capable of sending 

health records in a form that complies with the HIPAA security standard. 
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Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  HB 724 (Delegate Oaks, et al.) - Health and Government Operations. 

 

Information Source(s):  Maryland Association of County Health Officers, Department of 

Health and Mental Hygiene, Maryland Hospital Association, Department of Legislative 

Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 23, 2016 

Revised - Senate Third Reader - March 25, 2016 

 

min/ljm 

 

Analysis by:   Jennifer B. Chasse  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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