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Vehicle Laws - Giving Way to Overtaking Vehicles in the Left Lane

This bill establishes an expanded duty for a driver on a roadway with two or more lanes of
traffic moving in the same direction to give way when being overtaken. If the driver isin
the far left lane and is being overtaken by another vehicle in the far left lane, the driver
must give way to the right in favor of the overtaking vehicle. This duty takes precedence
over the existing duty of a driver to give way to the right if the overtaking vehicle gives an
audible signal, unless overtaking and passing on the right is permitted. The requirement
does not apply to a vehicle in the far left lane preparing for a left turn, or a vehicle in a
single high occupancy lane moving in one direction during the high occupancy restricted
time period. A violator is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to a maximum fine of
(1) $100 for a first offense; (2) $300 for a second offense; and (3) $500 for a third or
subsequent offense.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues to the extent additional
people receive citations under the bill’s provisions. Enforcement can be handled with
existing resources.

Local Effect: Enforcement can be handled with existing resources. No effect on revenues.

Small Business Effect: None.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Analysis

Current Law: The Maryland Vehicle Law requires that, when overtaking another vehicle
that is going in the same direction, the driver must pass to the left of the overtaken vehicle
at a safe distance. A driver who wants to overtake another vehicle going in the same



direction must wait until safely clear of the overtaken vehicle before driving in front of that
vehicle. Except when overtaking and passing on the right is permitted, the driver of an
overtaken vehicle, upon audible signal, must give way to the right in favor of an overtaking
vehicle. Also, except when overtaking and passing on the right is permitted, the driver of
an overtaken vehicle may not increase speed until completely passed by the overtaking
vehicle.

A violation of these provisions is a misdemeanor with a maximum fine of $500.
The prepayment penalty for these violations is $90 and, upon conviction, one point
assessed against the driver’s license. If the violation contributes to an accident, the
prepayment penalty is $130 and three points assessed against the license.

Background: Exhibit 1 shows the frequency of charges for unlawfully overtaking another
vehicle.

Exhibit 1
Citations — Overtaking Vehicles
Fiscal 2015
Overtaking Vehicles Open Prepaid Trial Total
Failure to Overtake at Safe Distance 112 116 194 422
Driving in Front of Overtaken Vehicle — Not Safely Clear 10 14 21 45
Failure to Yield to Overtaking Vehicle on Audible Signal 1 0 2 3
Overtaken Vehicle Increasing Speed 10 5 14 29

Source: District Court of Maryland

State Expenditures: The Administrative Office of the Courts advises that, since the
District Court system is case-based, it will be up to law enforcement agencies to identify
subsequent offenders and designate the appropriate prepayment penalty. However, any
additional citations that the District Court receives as a result of the bill can be handled
with existing resources. The Department of State Police has advised that the bill’s changes
can be implemented with existing resources.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: HB 247 of 2014, a bill with similar provisions, was heard by the
House Environmental Matters Committee, but received no further action.
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Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Department of
State Police, Maryland Department of Transportation, Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 14, 2016
mel/kdm

Analysis by: Michelle Davis Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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