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Motor Vehicles - Aggressive Driving 
 

 

This bill alters the offense of aggressive driving by specifying that a person who commits 

two, rather than three, specified offenses at the same time or during a single and continuous 

period of driving is guilty of aggressive driving.  It also increases the penalty from a 

maximum fine of $500 to a maximum fine of $1,000.   

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund revenues increase from additional fines received for this offense.  

The magnitude of the increase cannot be reliably estimated.  Transportation Trust 

Fund (TTF) revenues increase due to additional drivers who must participate in the Driver 

Improvement Program (DIP).  No effect on expenditures as enforcement can be handled 

with existing resources. 

  

Local Effect:  Enforcement can be handled with existing resources.  No effect on revenues. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  After conviction for an offense under the Maryland Vehicle Law, State or 

local traffic regulations, or specified vehicular manslaughter or homicide offenses, State 

law has established a system of points to be assessed against the driver’s license.  For points 

accumulated within a two-year period, the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) must 

impose certain sanctions.  The specific offenses and the points to be assessed are set forth 

in statute.  Drivers who accumulate five to seven points within a two-year period must 
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attend DIP for which MVA charges a fee of $60.  MVA is required to assess five points 

against the license of a person convicted of aggressive driving. 

 

A person is guilty of aggressive driving if three or more of the following offenses are 

committed at the same time or during a single and continuous period of driving in violation 

of (1) traffic lights with steady indication; (2) overtaking and passing vehicles; (3) passing 

on the right; (4) driving on laned roadways; (5) following too closely; (6) failing to yield 

the right of way; or (7) exceeding the maximum speed limit or the posted maximum speed 

limit. 

 

A driver who commits aggressive driving is guilty of a misdemeanor, which has a 

maximum fine of $500.  The prepayment penalty established by the District Court is $370 

and, as noted above, MVA must assess five points against the driver’s license.  In addition, 

the holder of a provisional license who is younger than age 18 is subject to license 

suspension for the commission of an aggressive driving offense.  Such a driver is guilty of 

high-risk driving if a young driver commits an aggressive driving offense and MVA must 

suspend the driver’s license for six months for a first offense.  For a second or subsequent 

offense, MVA must suspend the provisional driver’s license for one year.  A person who 

receives a license suspension under these circumstances may request an administrative 

hearing.   

 

Background:  According to the District Court, during fiscal 2015, a total of 810 citations 

were issued for aggressive driving.  Of these, 73 citations were prepaid, 464 went to trial, 

and 273 remained open.   

 

The Maryland Department of Transportation advises that, in 2013, there were 5,878 

aggressive driving-related crashes.  Of that number, 3,453 resulted in property damage, 

2,382 resulted in injury, and 43 involved a fatality.      

 

State Revenues:  The magnitude of the increase in general fund revenues cannot be 

reliably estimated as it depends on enforcement.  As the threshold for receiving a 

citation for aggressive driving is significantly reduced, more citations could be issued.  

However, it is unclear whether the revenue generated from the aggressive driving offense 

under the bill would exceed the revenue generated from charges from two of the specified 

offenses under current law.  Historical data from the District Court suggests that 

drivers charged with aggressive driving are generally not willing to admit guilt and prepay 

the fine.  Only 9% of citations were disposed of by prepayment in fiscal 2015.  

The proportion of requested trials likely increases with the higher fine proposed under the bill.   
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For illustrative purposes only, if the number of citations for an aggressive driving offense 

under the bill increased from about 800 to 1,200 in fiscal 2017 (and the number of citations 

for single offenses did not decrease correspondingly) and only 9% of those drivers prepaid 

the penalty (which may increase to $750, since the new maximum fine is twice as high as 

the current maximum fine), then general fund revenues could increase by about $40,500 in 

fiscal 2017 and about $54,000 on an annual basis.   

 

TTF revenues increase to the extent additional drivers who violate the bill’s provisions 

receive five points from MVA and are required to participate in DIP and pay the $60 fee.  

Any such increase is expected to be minimal.        

 

License suspensions could increase due to accumulation of points.  Any revenue from the 

issuance of corrected licenses as a result of these suspensions is likely minimal.   

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  HB 1099 of 2015 received a hearing in the House Environment and 

Transportation Committee, but no further action was taken.  HB 566 of 2014 was heard in 

the House Environmental Matters Committee, but no further action was taken. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Department of 

State Police, Maryland Department of Transportation, Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 10, 2016 

 mel/kdm 

 

Analysis by:   Michelle Davis  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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