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This bill makes the failure to wear a seat belt by a person age 16 or older, in any part of a 

motor vehicle, an offense subject to primary enforcement.  Accordingly, law enforcement 

officers may issue a citation for this offense without having to witness or suspect another 

violation of the Maryland Annotated Code.  The bill repeals the limitation of secondary 

enforcement against persons who are age 16 or older for failure to wear a seat belt in a rear 

passenger seat of a motor vehicle.  It also requires all passengers in the front seat of a motor 

vehicle to be restrained by a seat belt, including a passenger in a seat that is not adjacent to 

the door of the motor vehicle.   
 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund revenues increase minimally from the primary enforcement 

provisions of the bill.  Enforcement can be handled with existing resources. 

  

Local Effect:  Revenues are not affected.  Enforcement can be handled with existing 

resources. 
  
Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  For purposes of the seat belt requirement, “motor vehicle” means a vehicle 

that is registered or capable of being registered in this State as a passenger vehicle, a truck, 

tractor, multipurpose, or passenger bus vehicle and is required to have seat belts under 

federal motor vehicle safety standards.  Historic vehicles are not subject to the mandatory 

seat belt requirement.  An “outboard front seat” means a front seat position that is adjacent 

to a door of a motor vehicle. 
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Seat belts are required for any person operating a motor vehicle and any passengers 

younger than 16.  Persons age 16 or older riding as a passenger in an outboard front seat of 

a motor vehicle or in the rear of a motor vehicle must also be restrained by a seat belt.  

Violation of the rear seat passenger seat belt requirement for persons age 16 and older is a 

secondary offense.   

 

The mandatory seat belt provisions do not apply to a person if a Maryland licensed 

physician determines and certifies in writing that the person’s disability or another medical 

reason prevents appropriate restraint by a seat belt.  The certification must state the nature 

of the physical disability and the reason that restraint by a seat belt is inappropriate.  

The mandatory seat belt provisions also do not apply to U.S. Postal Service and contract 

carriers while delivering mail to local box routes.   

 

A person who violates the mandatory use of seat belts provision must pay court costs in 

addition to a fine of up to $50.  The prepayment penalty assessed by the District Court is 

$83, which also includes court costs.  A violation of the mandatory use of seat belts 

provision is not evidence of negligence or contributory negligence and may not be admitted 

as evidence in any civil trial.  It is also not a moving violation for which points may be 

assessed. 

 

Background:  The District Court reports that, in fiscal 2015, 3,518 citations were issued 

for seat belt violations in the outboard front seat of a motor vehicle.  Of those issued, 

1,862 were prepaid, 387 went to trial, and 1,269 remained open.  Similarly, 1,928 citations 

were issued for rear seat passenger seat belt violations.  Of those issued, 960 were prepaid, 

344 went to trial, and 624 remained open.  

 

According to the Governors Highway Safety Association, 49 states and the District of 

Columbia mandate the use of seat belts.  The District of Columbia and 33 states, including 

Maryland, Delaware, and New Jersey, require primary enforcement of seat belt laws for at 

least front seat occupants.  The remaining 17 states, including Pennsylvania and Virginia, 

require secondary enforcement only.  New Hampshire is the only state that does not 

mandate use of seat belts for adults in motor vehicles.  New Hampshire does, however, 

have a child passenger safety law that covers children younger than age 18 and is subject 

to primary enforcement.  

       

State Revenues:  General fund revenues increase minimally due primarily to 

the authorization for primary enforcement of rear seat passenger seat belt violations.  

The requirement that all passengers in the outboard front seat be restrained is an offense 

already subject to primary enforcement, but the bill may result in additional revenue for 

citations for additional unrestrained persons in the front seat.  A reliable estimate of the 

magnitude of the revenue increase cannot be made.  However, for illustrative purposes only, 
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if under primary enforcement, the number of prepaid citations for rear seat belt offenses 

doubles over the fiscal 2015 level with a prepayment penalty of $83, then general fund 

revenues increase by approximately $60,000 in fiscal 2017 and approximately $80,000 on 

an annual basis.         

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Department of 

State Police, Maryland Department of Transportation, Governors Highway Safety 

Association, Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 17, 2016 

 mel/kdm 

 

Analysis by:   Michelle Davis  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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