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Environment and Transportation

Fishing Under a Boat License - Repeal of Registration Requirement (Fishing
Freedom Act of 2016)

This bill repeals the requirement for an individual to register with the Department of
Natural Resources (DNR) before fishing on a boat to which an annual special Chesapeake
Bay and coastal sport fishing license applies.

The bill takes effect June 1, 2106.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: The bill is not expected to materially affect State finances. However,
according to DNR, it results in the loss of Maryland’s exemption status with the
U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) saltwater angler registry,
as discussed below.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: Minimal.

Analysis

Current Law/Background: There is an annual special Chesapeake Bay and coastal sport
fishing license (decal) that, when permanently affixed to a boat registered in any state,
authorizes any person on the boat to fish for finfish in the Chesapeake Bay or in its
tributaries up to tidal boundaries or in State waters of the Atlantic Ocean and the Atlantic
coastal bays and their tributaries. The annual license fee is $50. The license may not be
used on a commercial fishing boat. An individual on a licensed boat does not need a



license; however, the individual must register with DNR. This registration is called the
Maryland saltwater angler registration. There is no registration fee.

DNR advises that the saltwater angler registry is a federal requirement. The federal
Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act includes a saltwater angler
registry in an effort to gather better recreational fishing data. According to DNR, the
registry creates a phone directory that NOAA uses to improve the efficiency of catch and
effort surveys. Currently, Maryland is listed as an exempt state. This means that anglers
fishing in Maryland saltwaters (or tidal waters) do not need to register with NOAA. The
State provides the contact information for anglers to NOAA for surveys. The current
license structure allows the State to capture angler contact information with the Maryland
saltwater recreational fishing license or, for those circumstances where an individual
fishing license is not required, the saltwater angler registry.

DNR advises that since the bill repeals the requirement for individuals to register when
fishing on a boat that has a Chesapeake Bay and coastal sport fishing decal, Maryland will
lose its exemption status with NOAA. If this happens, DNR advises that any angler fishing
in Maryland saltwaters, even if they are licensed by the State, will need to comply with the
federal requirement through NOAA. Thus, all saltwater anglers would need to register
with NOAA online at a cost of $29 per registration.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Department of Natural Resources, Department of Legislative
Services
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