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Frederick County - Alcoholic Beverages - Beauty Salon License

This bill authorizes the Frederick County Board of License Commissioners to issue a
beauty salon beer and wine license to a holder of a beauty salon permit. The annual license
fee is $100. The license authorizes the licensee to provide up to five ounces of beer or
wine by the glass for on-premises consumption by a beauty salon customer during specified
cosmetology services and permitted fundraising events. The license may not be transferred
to another location. Beer and wine may be provided during normal business hours but
no later than 9 p.m. Licensees are subject to specified alcohol awareness training
requirements.

The bill takes effect July 1, 2016.

Fiscal Summary
State Effect: None.
Local Effect: Frederick County revenues increase by a minimal amount from application
fees, license fees, and renewal fees. Frederick County can monitor licenses with existing

resources.

Small Business Effect: Minimal.

Analysis

Current Law: Under the Business Occupations and Professions Article, a “beauty salon”
is any commercial establishment, excluding barbershops, where cosmetology is practiced.



“Cosmetology” includes the sale of a variety of hair, nail, and skin services but does not
include merely shampooing or fitting, styling, and selling wigs or hairpieces.

In Maryland, alcoholic beverage licenses are granted by each jurisdiction’s Board of
License Commissioners to permit the sale and consumption of alcohol at specified places
such as restaurants, taverns, hotels, clubs, or places of public entertainment. Other types
of establishments cannot normally acquire a license but may be granted eligibility to apply.

Generally, for a premises that is licensed to sell alcoholic beverages with an off-sale
privileges or a premises that is licensed with on-sale privileges and sells alcoholic
beverages directly to a customer from a bar or service bar, the license holder or specified
employees must complete training in an approved alcohol awareness program in order to
obtain and retain their alcoholic beverages license. Howard, Kent, Montgomery,
Washington, and Wicomico counties have stricter requirements, and in those counties, any
holder of any class of retail alcoholic beverages license, or an employee designated by the
holder, must complete such a training. The training program must be approved and
certified by the Comptroller and it must provide information on how alcohol affects a
person’s body and behavior, the dangers of drinking and driving, refusing service before a
customer becomes intoxicated, and determining if a customer is old enough to legally
consume alcohol. The training is valid for four years.

Background: In fiscal 2015, there were 310 alcoholic beverages licenses in Frederick
County. Of these, 18 allowed the sale of beer; 60 allowed the sale of beer and wine; and
229 allowed the sale of beer, wine, and liquor. According to the Department of Labor,
Licensing, and Regulation, there are 4,095 full-service beauty salons, and 677
limited-service beauty salons permitted in the State. Of this amount, 189 permits are issued
for locations in Frederick County.

Local Fiscal Effect: To the extent that the bill results in additional applications for and
issuance of alcoholic beverages licenses in Frederick County, county revenues increase due
to application filing fees ($750), annual licensing fees ($100), and annual renewal fees
($100). However, the number of individuals that will seek to obtain a license as a result of
the bill, and any corresponding revenue increase, cannot be reliably estimated at this time.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.

Cross File: HB 843 (Frederick County Delegation) - Economic Matters.
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Information Source(s): Frederick County; Department of Labor, Licensing, and
Regulation; Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History: First Reader - February 16, 2016
min/hlb

Analysis by: Nathan W. McCurdy Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
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