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This bill repeals one of the conditions that a religious educational institution must follow 

to operate in the State without a certificate of approval from the Maryland Higher 

Education Commission (MHEC) or registering with MHEC (for a fully online distance 

education program).  Specifically, the condition that the religious educational institution 

must not “offer instruction in nonsectarian or general education” is repealed.   

 

The bill takes effect July 1, 2016. 

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  MHEC special fund revenues increase minimally beginning in FY 2017 due 

to additional religious institutions applying for an exemption.  MHEC can process the 

minimal number of new applications and renewal applications using existing resources. 

  

Local Effect:  None. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  Most postsecondary educational institutions must obtain a certificate of 

approval from MHEC or register with MHEC (for fully online distance education 

programs) before they are allowed to operate in the State.  However, certain institutions 

are exempt from registering with or obtaining a certificate of approval from MHEC.  These 
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institutions are either under charter from the General Assembly or religious institutions 

meeting certain qualifications. 

 

Specifically, a religious educational institution may operate without a certificate of 

approval and may enroll Maryland students in a fully online distance education program in 

the State without registering if the institution (1) is established for educational purposes; 

(2) provides educational programs only for religious vocations or purposes; (3) offers only 

sectarian instruction designed for and aimed at individuals who hold or seek to learn the 

particular religious faiths or beliefs taught by the institution; (4) does not offer instruction 

in nonsectarian or general education; and (5) states on the certificate or diploma the 

religious nature of the award. 

 

A religious educational institution that is accredited by an accrediting body recognized by 

the U.S. Department of Education may not operate without a certificate of approval from 

MHEC. 

 

Each religious educational institution authorized to operate without a certificate of approval 

or without registering must submit to MHEC a renewal application every two years that 

includes specified information. 

 

According to the Code of Maryland Regulations, an institution seeking an exemption as a 

religious educational institution must submit an application, a financial statement, and the 

documentation required by the Secretary of Higher Education – including the proposed 

catalog of courses and evidence from the State Department of Assessments and Taxation 

that the institution is in good standing.  In addition, the institution must submit an 

application fee of $250.  An exemption is valid for two years.  For a renewal application, 

an institution must submit the same materials and a renewal application fee of $250.  A 

renewal exemption is valid for two years.  Since fiscal 2014, revenues from application 

and renewal fees are deposited into a special fund within MHEC. 

 

Other institutions of higher education are not required to accept, for transfer, credit from a 

general education course or any other course offered by an exempt religious institution.  In 

addition, there are other limitations on courses offered by exempt religious institution.  

Prior to enrolling, a student must be given written notice of these limitations.   

 

A person is prohibited from making a verbal or written statement that an institution of 

postsecondary education operating without a certificate of approval issued by MHEC is 

approved by, or has a certificate of approval from, MHEC.  In addition, a person may not 

enroll a student in the institution unless the person gives written notice that the student 

acknowledges certain limitations of the instructional program, including that an institution 

of higher education is not required to accept, for transfer, credits earned at the institution.  

A violator is subject to a fine of up to $5,000 for each violation.  
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Background:  As of 2007, 28 states exempted religious schools or bible colleges from 

their higher education licensing, certification, or accreditation process.  States vary in the 

limitations they place on the courses or programs offered by exempt institutions.  In some 

states, the exemptions are limited to those that prepare students for a vocation in the church 

or religious organization, but the specific requirements vary by state. 

 

MHEC advises that, on average, it receives seven applications each calendar year.  Of 

those, two or three must be denied because their curriculum includes some general 

education courses.    

 

State Fiscal Effect:  MHEC anticipates that the bill results in an increase in the number of 

institutions applying for a religious exemption; thus, MHEC special fund revenues increase 

minimally beginning in fiscal 2017.  Due to the minimal number of new applications and 

renewal applications anticipated, MHEC can process the applications using existing 

resources.  The current number of applications consumes approximately 5% of the time of 

the full-time analyst assigned to the task.    

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Maryland Higher Education Commission, Connecticut Office of 

Legislative Research, Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - January 26, 2016 

 min/rhh 

 

Analysis by:   Caroline L. Boice  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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