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This bill authorizes county and municipal governments to provide up to a 50% property 

tax credit for personal property that is owned or leased by a business entity that has been 

in operation for two years or less or has 15 employees or less.  The credit does not apply 

to operating property of a railroad or public utility.  County and municipal governments 

may provide, by law, for (1) the amount and duration of the property tax credit; 

(2) additional eligibility criteria for the property tax credit; (3) regulations and procedures 

for the application and uniform processing of requests for the property tax credit; and 

(4) any other provision necessary to carry out the property tax credit.   

 

The bill takes effect July 1, 2016, and applies to taxable years beginning after 

December 31, 2016. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  None. 

  

Local Effect:  Local government revenues may decrease beginning in FY 2018 to the 

extent the property tax credit is granted.  The amount of the decrease depends on the 

amount of businesses that are eligible for the personal property tax credit and the value of 

the personal property.  Local government expenditures are not affected. 

  

Small Business Effect:  Potential meaningful.  Small businesses that qualify for the 

property tax credit will benefit from reduced property tax payments. 
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:  In Maryland, there is a tax on business-owned personal property that is 

imposed and collected by local governments.  Personal property generally includes 

business property including furniture, fixtures, office and industrial equipment, machinery, 

tools, supplies, inventory, and any other property not classified as real property.  To provide 

for uniform assessments, the State Department of Assessments and Taxation (SDAT) is 

responsible for assessing all personal property.  Each county or municipal government is 

responsible for issuing the tax bills and collecting the tax.  The tax year begins on July 1 

and ends on June 30.  The personal property tax has been a local tax exclusively since 1984 

when the State tax rate on personal property was set at zero.   

 

At the beginning of each calendar year SDAT mails a personal property tax return to most 

businesses on record.  Businesses must file the return by April 15, reporting personal 

property located in Maryland on January 1, the “date of finality.”  The date of finality is 

the date used to determine ownership, location, value, and liability for tax purposes.  

An annual report fee is required to be paid to SDAT with the personal property tax return.  

The annual report fee is for the privilege of maintaining the legal entity’s existence in the 

State.   

 

Personal property, except inventory, is assessed based on the original cost less an annual 

depreciation allowance.  The depreciation rate is determined based on the category of 

property.  Seven rate categories (A through G) each pertain to different types of personal 

property.  Except for data processing equipment and canned software, property may not be 

depreciated below 25%.  For example, an item that was purchased for $400 would be 

reduced by the depreciation factor each year until it reaches a minimum of $100.  Inventory 

is valued at its fair average value using the cost or market value, whichever is lower.   

 

Certain personal property is exempt by statute or local law.  Exemptions generally fall into 

two categories:  those mandated by State law and those that are optional to local 

governments.  There are certain organizations or groups whose personal property is exempt 

throughout the State.  These organizations include religious groups, governmental entities, 

nonprofit hospitals, cemetery and mausoleum companies, and certain other groups that 

meet specified strict use criteria.  In addition, State law requires that certain types of 

personal property be fully exempt throughout the State.  These include aircraft, farming 

implements, residential (nonbusiness) property, most registered vehicles, boats not more 

than 100 feet in length, hand tools of mechanics or artisans, and intangible personal 

property (e.g., stocks, bonds, patents, goodwill, trademarks, etc.). 

 

State law authorizes local governments to exempt certain types of personal property.  

The county or municipality where the property is located may authorize a full or partial 

exemption.  The most significant categories that may be exempt from the personal property 
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tax are commercial inventory, manufacturing and research and development inventory, and 

manufacturing and research and development machinery.  Twenty-one counties offer 

exemptions for 100% of all three categories.  Five of these counties (Frederick, Garrett, 

Kent, Queen Anne’s, and Talbot) have elected to exempt all business personal property 

from county taxation.  The three remaining subdivisions do not offer a 100% exemption in 

all categories but offer exemptions ranging from 0% to 65% for various commercial 

inventory, manufacturing inventory, and machinery.   
 

Background:  As shown in Exhibit 1, the statewide assessable base for business personal 

property totals $12.3 billion in fiscal 2016.  Among counties that impose the business 

personal property tax, the assessable base ranges from a high of $2.3 billion in 

Montgomery County to a low of $34.1 million in Somerset County.  Tax rates on business 

personal property range from $2.09 in Worcester County to $5.62 in Baltimore City.  
 

 

Exhibit 1 

County Business Personal Property Base 

Fiscal 2016 
  Business 

County Tax Rate Personal Property 

Allegany $2.4450 $184,616,721 

Anne Arundel 2.3070 1,567,105,677 

Baltimore City 5.6200 1,060,171,330 

Baltimore 2.7500 1,760,793,226 

Calvert 2.2300 115,513,235 

Caroline 2.4500 57,326,479 

Carroll 2.5150 283,917,151 

Cecil 2.4768 239,755,057 

Charles 3.0125 521,201,660 

Dorchester 2.4400 0 

Frederick 0.0000 0 

Garrett 0.0000 121,469,520 

Harford 2.6049 575,150,767 

Howard 2.9750 1,062,520,181 

Kent 0.0000 0 

Montgomery 2.4975 2,263,632,060 

Prince George’s 3.4350 1,466,649,980 

Queen Anne’s 0.0000 0 

St. Mary’s 2.1308 164,162,831 

Somerset 2.5000 34,092,186 

Talbot 0.0000 0 

Washington 2.3700 395,701,992 

Wicomico 2.1715 222,741,705 

Worcester 2.0875 207,188,047 

Total  $12,303,709,805 

   

Source:  State Department of Assessments and Taxation 
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Local Fiscal Effect:  Local government revenues may decrease beginning in fiscal 2018 

to the extent the property tax credit is granted.  The amount of the decrease depends on the 

amount of businesses that are eligible for the personal property tax credit and the value of 

the personal property owned by those businesses, neither of which can be reliably 

estimated.  As a point of reference, if it is assumed that businesses eligible for the tax credit 

under the bill comprise 5% of the business personal property assessable base, local property 

tax revenues may decrease by approximately $8.9 million annually beginning in 

fiscal 2018.   

 

This estimate is based on the fact that the vast majority of the assessable base for business 

personal property in Maryland is owned by relatively large entities.  As shown in Exhibit 2, 

while less than 20% of personal property accounts had an assessed value of greater than 

$50,000, these accounts represented over 90% of the total assessable base for business 

personal property.  In contrast, 71.7% of personal property accounts in Maryland had an 

assessed value of $25,000 or less.  However, these accounts represent approximately 5% 

of the total assessable base for business personal property.  Therefore, providing a property 

tax credit for new or small businesses will not result in a sizeable reduction in the overall 

business personal property base. 

 

 

Exhibit 2 

Business Personal Property 

Accounts and Assessable Base 

Fiscal 2015 

     

 Number Percent of Assessable  Percent of  

Assessable Base of Accounts Total Accounts Base Total Base 

Base under $10,000 72,443 55.7% $231,585,630 2.1% 

Base $10,001-$25,000 20,838 16.0% 334,948,480 3.0% 

Base $25,001-$50,000 12,485 9.6% 443,843,850 3.9% 

Base $50,001-$100,000 9,277 7.1% 658,290,770 5.8% 

Base Over $100,000 14,980 11.5% 9,625,661,740 85.2% 

Total 130,023 100.0% $11,294,330,470 100.0% 

 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 
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Information Source(s):  Anne Arundel, Charles, and Montgomery counties; State 

Department of Assessments and Taxation; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 9, 2016 

Revised - House Third Reader - March 29, 2016 

 

md/hlb 

 

Analysis by:   Michael Sanelli  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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