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This bill requires that, for Charles County, the interest on property tax refunds paid after a 

final determination of an appeal begins to accrue when the county receives notification of 

the final determination. 

 

The bill takes effect July 1, 2016. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  None. 

  

Local Effect:  Charles County expenditures for property tax refunds decrease beginning 

in FY 2017.  The amount of the decrease depends on the number of property tax appeals 

and the amount of interest due.  Revenues are not affected. 

  

Small Business Effect:  Minimal. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  On the final determination of a property tax appeal, any money paid by a 

taxpayer that exceeds the amount properly chargeable under the determination must be 

refunded at the same rate of interest that the taxes would have borne if the taxes were 

determined to have been overdue.  County, municipal, and special taxing district interest 

rates on overdue taxes are two-thirds of 1% per month, unless otherwise provided by law.  

Exhibit 1 outlines the statutory rate setting provision for counties and Baltimore City, as 

provided by the Tax-Property Article.  
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Exhibit 1 

County Interest Rates and Rate Setting Authority 

Interest Rate per Month 

 

County Rate Setting Authority 

Allegany Rate set by local law 

Anne Arundel Rate set by local law 

Baltimore City Rate set by local law 

Baltimore Rate set by local law 

Calvert Rate set by local law 

Caroline Rate not to exceed 1% 

Carroll 2/3 of 1% 

Cecil Rate not to exceed 1% 

Charles 2/3 of 1% 

Dorchester Rate set by local law 

Frederick Rate not to exceed 1% 

Garrett 1% 

Harford Rate set by local law 

Howard Rate set by local law 

Kent Rate set by local law 

Montgomery Rate set by local law 

Prince George’s Rate set by local law 

Queen Anne’s Rate set by local law 

St. Mary’s Rate set by local law  

Somerset 1% 

Talbot Rate set by local law 

Washington 1% 

Wicomico Rate set by local law 

Worcester Rate not to exceed 1.5% 

 
Source:  Department of Legislative Services 

 

 

Background:  The assessment appeal process typically begins with an appeal of the notice 

of assessment.  These notices are mailed in late December, and an appeal may be filed with 

the supervisor of assessments within 45 days of the date of the notice; for properties that 

transfer after January 1 but before the beginning of the taxable year, the new owner has 

60 days from the date of transfer to file an appeal regarding the property value or 

classification.  Following that appeal, the property owner receives a final notice.  If the 
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taxpayer is not satisfied with the outcome, the next appeal must be made to the Property 

Tax Assessment Appeals Board within 30 days from the date of the final notice.  A further 

appeal may be taken to the Maryland Tax Court within 30 days of receiving notice from 

the board.  Any further appeals are made through the judicial system, including the circuit 

court, the Court of Special Appeals, and the Court of Appeals. 

 

Appeals of property values may also be filed with the supervisor outside of the regular 

assessment cycle.  Appeals may also be filed by persons who have purchased property 

between January 1 and June 30.  Such appeals must be made within 60 days of the purchase.   

         

Local Fiscal Effect:  The bill requires that interest on a tax refund resulting from a property 

tax appeal begins to accrue when Charles County receives notification of the outcome of 

an appeal.  Charles County reports that this will reduce the amount of interest paid by the 

county for some property tax refunds beginning in fiscal 2017.  The amount of the decrease 

cannot be reliably estimated and depends on the number of refunds that need to be issued 

for property tax assessment appeals. 

 

The bill limits the time period in which interest must be paid from the time the State 

Department of Assessments and Taxation notifies the county about the outcome of an 

appeal until a refund is processed.  The county advises that this process may take four 

months.  Under current law, the county can be required to pay interest on a refund from the 

beginning of the appeals process until a refund is processed which, in some cases, may take 

over one year. 

 

Charles County reports that it paid $113,653 in property tax refunds in fiscal 2015.  So far, 

the county has paid $1.6 million in refunds over the first half of fiscal 2016.  The fiscal 

2016 refund amount includes one large refund and a prior year assessment that was also 

refunded. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Charles County, Property Tax Assessment Appeals Board, 

Department of Legislative Services 
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Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 16, 2016 

 min/hlb 

 

Analysis by:   Michael Sanelli  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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